Remembering Michael

Today, after another highly successful day at the office, I thought I’d saunter across the road to JB Hifi at lunchtime to see whether the rumour was true that stocks of Michael Jackson CDs were selling like hot cakes and (according to news reports) there might not be any left at all due to unprecedented demand..

I was of course, also thinking, perhaps I should just pick up one of his “Greatest Hits” CDs or a DVD just as a little memento.

Well not only were the rumours completely unfounded – they had a bountiful supply of Jackson CDs and DVDs – but also, no one seemed to be remotely interested in buying them – AND they were all marked down to $9.95 each!

So, standing there by myself, almost feeling guilty like people were wondering what kind of pervert was I, I perused the covers of “The Essential Michael Jackson” which had two CDs with a total of about 36 songs as well as “The Number Ones,” which by it’s very nature, makes you wonder whether he would’ve released “The Number Two’s” as a follow-up (had he lived a bit longer).

The song list was essentially the same, and despite the demands of the title that it was “essential” it didn’t really strike me as anything essential at all.

There was just the usual crap – Billie Jean, Thriller, I’m Bad, Beat It, and so on…

It took about five seconds to reach the conclusion that no amount of sentimental claptrap that’s being paraded around in the media would really be sufficient enough to warrant enduring listening to all the little squeals and yelps and “Ow’s” that are so typically “Michael Jackson”.

“Don’t stop ’til you get enough” I was invited. Why thank you. But I think just reading the track listing has been perfectly sufficient.

“A DVD perhaps?” I thought. Because then at least you get to see him do that standing on tip-toes thing, and of course the infamous moonwalk.

And as much as I really wanted to leave the store with some little piece of memorabilia that I could watch/listen to that might remind of this “great talent” I ended up just leaving the store feeling that really perhaps there isn’t really that much worth remembering at all really..

And as I took a shortcut back to the office via Target noticing the adjacent boyswear department, I couldn’t help but wonder whether a little pair of green Y-fronts for an eight year old might make a more suitable memento.

Who’s bad?

19 Responses

  1. Speaking of eight year olds, I’ve just discovered that the opening line to the song “Bad” begins with:

    “Your butt is mine.”

    I mean really…. 🙄

  2. Rebski..Thriller was really really good and innovative in it’s day and set the popular beat standard. For this I give respect to MJ the musician..my opinions about MJ the man is best left unsaid. Just a thingy of mine about speaking ill of the [recent] dead (soo, I’m superstitious..)

  3. “And as much as I really wanted to leave the store with some little piece of memorabilia that I could watch/listen to that might remind of this “great talent” I ended up just leaving the store feeling that really perhaps there isn’t really that much worth remembering at all really”

    Amen to that.

    ROFLMAO. Great stuff badass reb.

    You are bad, but that means I’m evil & twisted………but without pretense.

  4. It’s OK min, he can’t hurt anyone now.

  5. I also cannot bring myself to grieve for him. And the bloody clubs this weekend will just be filled with MJ music. Some is OK, but come on… not every track has to be by him.

  6. Min, I do not dispute the fact that MJ was indeed a good musician. However, most credit for the ‘Thriller” album must go to Quincy Jones. Listen once more. You will hear jazz chords and Jazz passing chords/runs only a superb jazz musician would use; i.e., Quincy Jones.

  7. Just wanting to let you all know that I am still here. Spent a week in NSW then back on deck for a day and then a week moving house into storage then back on deck on 30 June. Now end of financial year crap and then moving out of storage into new home in 2 weeks. So have been very busy and this is my first opportunity to read blogocrats.

    Hopefully things will settle down over the next few weeks and I can begin to once again rant my opinion.

  8. I’ve forgotten MJ already. Actually, I forgot about him 20 years ago. Only his death reminded me that he’d been alive.

  9. Hi Shane, nice to seeya about.

    Looking forward to the pending rants (although I don’t think I’d call your calm style ranting).

  10. Human Dividend, on July 2nd, 2009 at 7:14 pm Said:
    It’s OK min, he can’t hurt anyone now.

    HD..are you absolutely certain? I’ve already heard rumours that the emaciated body wasn’t really his and that he has been sighted at Disney World…

  11. Shane..luckily I check this thread and there you are 🙂

    How is the pup?

  12. G’day shane! Missed you!

    sreb, nice to see you’ve finally joined the “real” world 😆

  13. sreb, nice to see you’ve finally joined the “real” world

    When did that happen? I missed it.

  14. Re when did this happen re real world: I think that it was somewhere between the zucchini pancake with Bruny Island cheese & sundried tomatoes and taking a machete to office staff (receptionists excluded).

  15. “HD..are you absolutely certain? I’ve already heard rumours that the emaciated body wasn’t really his and that he has been sighted at Disney World…”min

    lol min. He may walk the grounds at night alongside reanimated Walt.

  16. sreb, nice to see you’ve finally joined the “real” world

    When did that happen? I missed it.

    Me too. What are you talking about TB??

  17. HD..I have to confess…I made that one up 🙂

    Hehe, the reanimated Walt..I believe that he wasn’t exactly kosher either.

  18. Reb, nobody knows but we all believe TB 🙂

  19. I thought excluding the receptionists from “termination” was a very kind & human gesture reb.

Comments are closed.

