Midweek Mayhem!

Hello Good Afternoon!

And welcome to a rather late Midweek Mayhem. I’ve been as busy as a trout this week at work hence neglecting my blogging duties, so aplologies for that.

Of course, the BIG news this week, is that it’s one of our pal’s birthdays. To mark the occasion, I’ve come up with a little song:

He sings
He dances
He minces
He prances
He hasn’t been to Greenland
But his name’s TB Queensland!

(Applause)

Thank you. Happy Birthday TB!

In other important news, last night I successfully made a chocolate sponge cake in a mug! It took all of three minutes, and drenched with some thickened cream it was the perfect post-dinner snack!

In the words of Ross Sharp “I share wif youse…”

To make a cake in a coffee mug you will need four tablespoons of all-purpose flour, four tablespoons of granulated white sugar, two tablespoons of unsweetened baking cocoa, one large egg, three tablespoons of milk, three tablespoons of vegetable oil, and one-eighth of a teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Begin by mixing the dry ingredients in the microwave-safe mug. Next, thoroughly blend in the egg with the other ingredients in the mug until it they are well-mixed. Lastly, pour in the remaining liquid ingredients into the mug and combine the mixture thoroughly. Set the microwave on three minutes, and watch your chocolate cake rise well above the top of the rim as it is heated. After three minutes, pierce the chocolate sponge cake with a toothpick to check for doneness. If the toothpick comes up clean, the microwave chocolate cake is ready to eat. Otherwise, put it back in the microwave at thirty-second increments until this quick and tasty treat is done.

Smother it with cream, ice-cream, custard, or anything that you’ve got in the fridge that’s runny and sweet.

Don’t forget to visit Food Trail for more tantatilising tasty treats!

86 Responses

  1. Thank you, sreb (but its next week!) You must read my posts instead of just glancing at them …

    … still your hearts in the right place – ta …

    …still give you time to wrap and send “you know what” 🙄

    Cake sounds “yummy” but no WT or rum or sumfin’?

  2. I can tell..this is going to be the never ending birf’day..

    For TB..

  3. Always thought Adam Hills was onto something since I saw him do that at the Melbourne Comedy Festival. Now I have a YouTube link though 🙂

  4. Midweek thread…yep!

    I wonder if Lowes sells gift vouchers?

    This Redback poison is really kicking in now…yeeha!

  5. Re TB mincing..I think that his only mincing might be The Minister’s shepherd’s pie. However..if you catch him in the mirror when he’s not looking…

  6. I read this one too this morning Adrian (could have been via The Age..but I could be wrong). I’m not very hopeful that it will get through..not this time, but it will get the debate going again.

    I mentioned this before..we have same sex couples now recognised as defactos via state legislation and so discrimination will not be able to continue for very much longer. That is, how can one recognised defacto couple be refused the right to marry whereas another defacto couple can marry…

  7. Is Flutegate over yet?

  8. Min, it’s easy. You see – the government couldn’t stop paying extra money to gay couples (through welfare payments dependent on marital status). They needed to give them the capability of being in a legally recognised “de facto” relationship in order to pursue them on taxes, welfare, and the like.

    However, in my understanding, there is no difference in terms of welfare payments and taxation law between “de facto” & “married”. In other words, there is nothing more the government can get from allowing marriage between same-sex couples so they are not going to give them that.

  9. Life after politics……Peter COSTELLO CALLS TO BUY A COMPUTER FROM Tony ABBOTT

    ABBOTT: Super Duper computer store. Can I help you?

    COSTELLO: Thanks I’m setting up an office in my den and I’m thinking about buying a computer.

    ABBOTT: Mac?

    COSTELLO: No, the name’s Peter.

    ABBOTT: Your computer?

    COSTELLO: I don’t own a computer. I want to buy one.

    ABBOTT: Mac?

    COSTELLO: I told you, my name’s Peter.

    ABBOTT: What about Windows?

    COSTELLO: Why? Will it get stuffy in here?

    ABBOTT: Do you want a computer with Windows?

    COSTELLO: I don’t know. What will I see when I look at the windows?

    ABBOTT: Wallpaper.

    COSTELLO: Never mind the windows. I need a computer and software.

    ABBOTT: Software for Windows?

    COSTELLO: No. On the computer! I need something I can use to write proposals, track expenses and run my business. What do you have?

    ABBOTT: Office.

    COSTELLO: Yeah, for my office. Can you recommend anything?

    ABBOTT: I just did.

    COSTELLO: You just did what?

    ABBOTT: Recommend something.

    COSTELLO: You recommended something?

    ABBOTT: Yes.

    COSTELLO: For my office?

    ABBOTT: Yes.

    COSTELLO: OK, what did you recommend for my office?

    ABBOTT: Office.

    COSTELLO: Yes, for my office!

    ABBOTT: I recommend Office with Windows.

    COSTELLO: I already have an office with windows! OK, let’s just say I’m sitting at my computer and I want to type a proposal. What do I need?

    ABBOTT: Word.

    COSTELLO: What word?

    ABBOTT: Word in Office.

    COSTELLO: The only word in office is office.

    ABBOTT: The Word in Office for Windows.

    COSTELLO: Which word in office for windows?

    ABBOTT: The Word you get when you click the blue ‘W’.

    COSTELLO: I’m going to click your blue ‘w’ if you don’t start with some straight answers. What about financial bookkeeping? You have anything I can track my money with?

    ABBOTT: Money.

    COSTELLO: That’s right. What do you have?

    ABBOTT: Money.

    COSTELLO: I need money to track my money?

    ABBOTT: It comes bundled with your computer.

    COSTELLO: What’s bundled with my computer?

    ABBOTT: Money.

    COSTELLO: Money comes with my computer?

    ABBOTT: Yes. No extra charge.

    COSTELLO: I get a bundle of money with my computer? How much?

    ABBOTT: One copy.

    COSTELLO: Isn’t it illegal to copy money?

    ABBOTT: Microsoft gave us a license to copy Money.

    COSTELLO: They can give you a license to copy money?

    ABBOTT: Why not? THEY OWN IT!

    (A few days later)

    ABBOTT: Super Duper computer store. Can I help you?

    COSTELLO: How do I turn my computer off?

    ABBOTT: Click on ‘START’………….

  10. Ross, Gillard’s doing WHAT with a flute in Israel???

  11. Well I’m flying to Cairns tomorrow to spend some time with an old friend and celebrate his birthday.
    I won’t be around for the ‘other’ one, so …..
    Happy birthday TB, whenever it may be.
    I sure will miss blogocrats, but sometime we all have to make sacrifices!
    See you all in a weeks time.

  12. James 3:11 pm,

    Very clever James. All your own work (tell the truth please)?

  13. James, being in Israel with a flute is nothing extraordinary. Now “band camp” & flutes on the other hand…

  14. But Ben..de facto is a legal status under State legislation. Giving due regard that de facto is state, marriage is federal but registrations re bd&ms are state.

    Indeed, being a gay de facto couple has it’s downer such as centrelink payments.

    But when push comes to shove, having gays in recognised de facto relationship, it just go that much harder to say that they are refused marriage.

  15. Sorry Min – I was being facetious. There is no reason for them not to give the right of marriage to single-sex couples (aside from their own prejudice). What I was hinting at was that the only reason they gave single-sex couples de facto status was so they could take something from them.

  16. Speaking of family..phone call from son..just had lunch with the Lord Mayor in Melbourne and by the way…(discussion followed). Conclusion: pick up his missus 27th from the airport, flight from Cairns, 28th pick up his new rotweiller puppy from the airport, flying the puppy up from Melbourne.

    You mean..you want us to pick M* and grandie 27th and you also want us to look after your puppy?

    Ans: Yes Mum.

  17. Not my own work at all, Tony, link sent to me from a footy mate, I inserted the “Peters” in place of “Lou” for relevance sake, and I won’t for the sake of manners provide the link. Sorry, I would have thought the quality of the exchange would have discounted me as the author straight away:)

  18. Never mind James. Thanks for the laugh all the same.

  19. Ta handyrab, have good one in Cairns (us Cancerians know how to party!)

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    James – luvved the post! Very clever (there was one on utegate by someone last week – not trawling thru to find who) – hope you’ve seen the original?

  20. Well..I knew this..yet another Cancerian..hard and crusty on the outside and soft and squishy on the inside.

  21. It occurred to me that “ToJoTo gate” on blogocrats and “‘ute gate” this week was/is life imitating art.. T.O.M. is a check on ochlocracy.

  22. I hope T.O.M. reconsiders down the track as he adds a kind of balance to debate.

  23. Lang Mack, on June 25th, 2009 at 5:37 pm Said:

    Thank goodness Blogocrats isn’t a government, LM, just a bunch of posters on a free market – capitalist – democratic – laissez faire blog … 😆

    … not even a “club” …

    … no President, no Treasurer, no Secretary …

    … just playing in joni & sreb’s sandpit …

    … ToM’s a big boy – he’s part of the gang – he knows most of us like him … and like all of us he can come and go as he pleases …

    … Blogocrats is more a whirlpool of group dynamics than a civil ochlocracy – (lovely word BTW – bit like proxemics another of my favourites – sadly a narrowly limited concept on a blog) …

  24. BTW, Min, “no comment”

  25. What I was hinting at was that the only reason they gave single-sex couples de facto status was so they could take something from them.

    That’s exactly right Ben.

    Why would anyone in their right mind fess up to Centrelink about being in a same-sex relationship when it means that they’ll be eligible for LESS entitlements than two co-habitating adults, when the Govt refuses to give same-sex couples the same benefits as hetero couples when it comes to things like recognition of their relationships in terms of other aspects like superannuation, etc.

    Fuck them. That’s what I say.

  26. Your right Scapes, without the T.O.M.’s and other ‘dissidents’ all these blogs would slowly grind to a halt.
    Was it Henry Lawson, ‘The Mad Hatter’ come’s to mind, correct me if I’m wrong. When you start to censor based on anger, disagreement, cunning, approval, self interest, position of being able to,think it’s needed without forethought, or peer pressure then you lose the very people you need to attract attention to your reason.(And yes I know very well that there are times when such actions are well commended, however let’s not have a D.H Lawrence).
    You can advise someone with the right words ,especially here, that it would be kind to the Blog if ‘you could put that in a more civil way’ so as to not frighten the horses and seconds in dueling are in short supply because of cheap shots.

  27. TB: Excellent ,I agree. With some words, can we give them credence because of their youth? and perhaps the reason behind their introduction, we have ‘Yo’, short and sweet,’Eh’, gets around ‘excuse me, I did not get the gist of your attempt to say something that made sense’, then we have jargon (spare me) that creeps into remarks.
    I think it is critical that words and expressions are included in tomes ,and such as here, so the folk can wander off in private to look up “what was that all about” as I had to with “proxemics” had a vague idea, then caused me to do some reading, later, so thank you.
    It does not have to be tortuous or even torturous, or inflict.

  28. LM, yep (oops) you picked up on the gist of my post …

    … will talk later – The Minister is cooking me “fresh” fish & chips (dribbling on the keyboard!)

  29. Out of curiosity, does anyone seriously think Tom of Melbourne would listen to a “Please back off & be polite”?

    I know you guys like the guy and want him back. I personally don’t, but can see why the rest of you would. But let’s not make him out to be some kind of saint. One of the things people tend to mention is the fact that they liked the fact he wouldn’t back down…

  30. We want ToM…We want ToM…….!
    Wadda we want,….ToM! . When do we want him…. NOW!

  31. I’m going to miss Friday Footy with Tom.

  32. “One of the things people tend to mention is the fact that they liked the fact he wouldn’t back down”…( I have a dog like that, without her I may well have not been here to type this, she won’t back down and if the cows got sniffy about that, she’d go in harder) She’s about a tenth their size, let em bluff, you’ve lost, let em stand back and bellow, yawn.
    Mate , your letting emotion get in the way of reason. Don’t you get the drift.

  33. Gee, no one here has copped a hard time from Tom like I have over the years and I took it to heart but not lately.

    It takes all types to make an on line society just like out there in the real world and we all have our tiffs but we just get over it and move on…life is too short to harbour grudges.

  34. Scaper,

    Yes, I’d almost forgotten your running battles as “The Mayor of Crapperville” with Tom et al. Good to see you’ve got no hard feelings. (Really?)

  35. TB:
    “LM, yep (oops) you picked up on the gist of my post::Yup.
    I’ll be getting into it well before daylight in the morning, I’ll have to wake the bloody dogs up:) their OK, they are the serjeant to my lower rank, in dog world.. The only power I admit to is as a food supply. They have the answer , all I do is supply the plot.
    I’ll gladly mingle with what you have to say..LM.

  36. I cannot believe the Republicans in the US.

    Their supporter base is dwindling and they are almost exclusively made up of white religious right males.

    One of the main reasons being given for the decline is the Iraq war, and here was a Republican on the ABC’s 7:30 Report piece saying that they are in deep shit because …wait for it… Colin Powell’s war because he falsely claimed Saddam had WMD. The Republicans were all for tax cuts and small government but Powell ruined all that.

    Have I missed something here, a certain idiot president but more importantly his puppet master VP?

    Conservatives here love rewriting history (even stuff just a day old) and it appears the US conservatives are no different.

  37. Tony, if Tom comes back I expect a hard time as I’ve had many personality clashes in my life and on reflection I have learnt from them.

    Here’s a teaser because I know he’s lurking out there…I want to go into politics, not as a runner but more as an organiser due to my frustrations concerning the party machines that prevent the people we require from ascending to positions of influence.

    I am presently working on a charter but what do I name this party???

  38. Their supporter base is dwindling and they are almost exclusively made up of white religious right males.

    ROFL. Another outlandish mis-statement by the Nowra No-All (not a spelling mistake), who then has the temerity to say:

    Conservatives here love rewriting history (even stuff just a day old) and it appears the US conservatives are no different.

    Classic.

  39. RIP Tom.

    He was becoming quite adept at rubbishing Port Adelaide on a weekly basis& showed a lot of promise as a long term detractor.

  40. “Conservatives here love rewriting history (even stuff just a day old) and it appears the US conservatives are no different”

    It’s all a part of the insidiuos VRWC.

  41. Toilethound,

    😉

  42. “INSIDIOUS”

    Intimation
    Opulent
    Warily
    Insinuate
    Insipid
    Bereft
    Pliable
    Meretricious
    Guise
    Laudable

  43. I made a word picture of Cyborg Abetz.

  44. Toilethound,

    Just had a peek at Reb’s Gutter Trash and Tom left a comment there today (I have a feeling he’s been looking in here). But, have you seen the title of Reb’s latest Joe Hockey post? It definitely wouldn’t pass the censors here.

  45. Better go have a look. I like evil reb.

  46. We have just got back from the Canberra road trip – and we made it to QT!!! Wow – what a great experience. I need to have a rest (7hrs of driving) but will put up a report on it tomorrow.

  47. Sounds great Joni. Looking forward to your post. (Driving? For some reason I assumed you were flying.)

  48. Yeah, Tom hasn’t left yet – he’s just not posting. He’ll be back after he gets his fill of ego stroking 🙂 I mean, it’s getting sickly sweet in here with all the love being shown for the guy.

    I do note that no-one even tried debating the fact that he wouldn’t back down if asked (nicely or otherwise) 😛

  49. Fly? Going on the road trip was a spur of the moment decision. The BF got an email from the embassy saying his new passport was ready so I said – let’s drive and get it, and we can sneak in QT.

    Just a snippet – Scary Eyes is scary even from behind… hehe

  50. Joni, was Julia there? I’ve got a delicate question: How big is her rear-end, really? (The cartoonists make it out to be huge.)

  51. LOL Tony – Julia was not there….. it was Bishop I meant (which I am sure you knew LOL) – and she looked up at us. I trembled with fear.

  52. But I must say (even as a pinko-poof), Bishop has a pretty cute (but small) butt. She was in a lovely (Hillary-like) pants suit.

  53. LOL. Scaper was saying yesterday that his mate fancies JB. I can kind of see where he’s coming from.

  54. But those eyes would scare the sperm out of you.

  55. Fancying JB is a sickness curable only by fire or cold steel.

  56. Stupid me. Julia’s in Israel with Peter Costello and Andrew Bolt. I’d like to be a fly on the wall on that bus.

  57. Julia? G’day Shalom Salaam Israel, Julia, etc.

  58. Shocked (pleasantly) to see the US admin rebuke Israel’s continued building of antagonistic settlements today by cancelling a scheduled meeting with their envoy.

    Not much, but a highly symbolic step which I never thought I’d see taken. Ya see, the US IS Israel’s boss; not the other way around. It will be “difficult” for Israel to ignore such implied pressure indefinitely.

    Of course the Israeli PM has claimed it was he who cancelled the meeting. Whom to believe, cough?

  59. Julia has bigger & more potent agates than Costello & Bolt combined.

    It would be an interesting bus trip though.

    I’m sure Bolt won’t hold back in sharing his pearls of wisdom upon his return; should be predictably amusing.

  60. He has too been to Greenland……….?

  61. Nothing wrong with Bishop. . . . in a Margaret Thatcher . . .Iron Maidenish . . . dominatrix fashion. . . .errr . . . .Where was I again?

    Oh yeah. What is with the Right and discipline?

  62. link to token US rebuke for the pedants. I’m not sure if I could live with myself if blogspecies thought I was making stuff up.

    http://player.sbs.com.au/naca/#/naca/wna/Latest/playlist/New-low-for-US-and-Israeli-relations/

  63. “Oh yeah. What is with the Right and discipline?”brian

    Agreed.

    Also.

    What is it with the Right & trending towards unquestioning obedience of their icons?

  64. Uh oh:

    SEOUL, South Korea – North Korea threatened Wednesday to wipe the United States off the map as Washington and its allies watched for signs the regime will launch a series of missiles in the coming days.

    Off China’s coast, a U.S. destroyer was tailing a North Korean ship suspected of transporting illicit weapons to Myanmar in what could be the first test of U.N. sanctions passed to punish the nation for an underground nuclear test last month.

  65. What was that about corruption on the waterfront?

    A number of Patrick Corporation companies have admitted breaching the Trade Practices Act and will pay multi-million dollar fines after settling claims of price-fixing at some of the nation’s biggest ports.

  66. SEOUL, South Korea (AP) – North Korea vowed Thursday to enlarge its atomic arsenal and warned of a “fire shower of nuclear retaliation” in the event of a U.S. attack, as the regime marked the 1950 outbreak of the Korean War.

    The anniversary came as the U.S. Navy followed a North Korean ship suspected of carrying weapons in violation of a U.N. resolution punishing Pyongyang’s May 25 nuclear test, and as anticipation mounted that the North might test-fire short- or mid-range missiles in the coming days. . . .

  67. Is that a high-pitched whistle I hear? US ready for North Korea missile launch towards Hawaii

  68. Tony June 25th, 2009 at 7:13 pm said:

    I’m going to miss Friday Footy with Tom

    Methinks that the Friday Footy thread is cursed. First James, now Tom. Whose brave enough to take it on next?

  69. Welcome to a World which will now be filled with Elvis and Jackson impersonators !

  70. Jackson is not dead. He’s gone into business with Elvis.

  71. Tom is back with Friday Footy!!

  72. I had a good chuckle when I got this!

    Rudd, Gillard and Swan are flying on the Executive Airbus to a gathering
    in Canberra when Rudd turns to Gillard and says, chuckling, “You know I
    could throw a $1,000 bill out the window right now and make someone very
    happy.”

    Gillard shrugs and replies, “Well, I could throw ten $100 bills out the
    window and make ten people happy.”

    Not to be outdone, Swan says, “Well I could throw a hundred $10 bills
    out the window and make a hundred people happy.”

    The pilot rolls his eyes and says to his co-pilot, “Bunch of arrogant
    idiots back there. I could throw all three of them out the window and
    make 21 million people happy.”

  73. A very old joke scaper with the players changed. I heard exactly the same joke a few years ago but with Howard, Costello and I can’t remember the third, and before that with Bush, Cheney etc. but 300 million people being happy.

  74. First time I’ve seen it and I had a good laugh!

  75. Yes, Adrian, and I heard it with Hawke, Keating, and Willis. Get off autopilot, it was probably first told about Fraser or Whitlam or whoever was in power when air travel first came in. It’s just a joke.

  76. This one appealed to me as an example of differences in political cultures, taking GroceryWatch to a whole new dimension: Putin drops into shop, demands discounts….

  77. *laugh* Putin’s actions are interesting to say the least. I suppose his ability to make demands of the Russian robber-barons is balanced by the fact he can & will make people disappear that speak too loudly against him

  78. Now, why can’t Rudd do that with Coles and Woolies? Oh! and the fuel companies …

    Putin still doesn’t understand hoe The Robber Barons operate – they probably need to provide him with more “assistance” with his “learning” …

    … maybe he has enugh roubles and the story actually describes a new unique ideaology – fairness in business … wow!

  79. The difference, TB, is that Kevin can’t tell ASIO to make a CEO or other such oligarch disappear, whereas Putin can have the KGB not only make the oligarch disappear, but their friends & family as well.

    That’s the issue with “human rights”, a decent government can’t just suspend them because we feel like it. Putin, on the other hand, can, has, & will again as he feels it necessary.

  80. Oh! Thanks for explaining that, Ben … 😯

  81. I wasn’t mocking you, TB, just (hopefully) bringing the fact into the discussion rather than leaving it as assumed background.

    One of the interesting facts about Putin is that while he does work tirelessly to keeping the power he has; I believe he also works just as hard to make Russia a better place. I think he believes (and I can see why) that without the iron grip he keeps on the country, the robber-barons (of Russia & abroad) would gut his country like they have others.

  82. Though, I don’t advocate that we become a de facto dictatorship like Russia! Just contrasting the Russian situation with ours…

  83. Perhaps timely…for comparative purposes…and given the foregoing…Government scraps Grocery Choice website:

    …Independent consumer group Choice took over responsibility for the federal government’s much-maligned project, and its remaining $13 million budget, last December. It had been attempting to make over the unpopular website by adding new, more detailed information, which was to be available to shoppers from July 1. But Choice had struggled to convince some major Australian grocery retailers to supply their price lists to the website, and the opposition had called for the site to be shut down as it would be useless if that information could not be obtained….”I will hold discussions with supermarket chains about the possibility of an industry website capable of providing convenient grocery price data that could be audited by a government-appointed auditor,” Dr Emerson said.

    Imagine that industry self-regulation ‘audited’ by Putin. 😉

Comments are closed.

