Midweek Mayhem!!

Hello,

Good afternoon and welcome to Midweek Mayhem, our middle-of-the-week chit chat thread.

Of course, the big news this week was that Madonna has been allowed to adopt another Somalian baby. I mean really what is it with these celebrities and adopting kids from impoverished nations, only to drag them back to Hollywood to dangle them off their shoulder like a human Gucci handbag substitute?

Wouldn’t they be better off spending a small portion of their incredible wealth to help them build schools and hospitals?

And then we have Peter (who cares) Costello announcing that he’s leaving politics *big yawn*

Turning to Rudd & Co, it seems that those of us who were delighted that Rudd hammered Howard at the last election are beginning to feel a degree of discomfort with the PM’s recent antics. His attempts at “being blokey” with the “fair shake” comment really only serve to indicate that he was the kid in school that you’d find in the library while everyone else was playing rugby.

(Not that there’s anything wrong with that).

Is he a bit of a dickhead? Yes. But I’d still much rather have him as PM than Howard, or Turnbull or Costello.

And really now that Costello’s gone, the Libs will be placing all their bets on Malcolm Turnbull for the next election. If he loses, which I suspect he will, he’ll no doubt be oblidged to step down for say Hockey, and then they’ll be well and truly rooted.

However let’s not dwell on politics..

Poor old Miglo’s under the weather, so let’s try and cheer him up.

Also, if you feel so inclined check out my posts on Charity and Corporate Gifts at The Gutter.

Oh, and recent reports suggest we’re all gonna die of a swine flu mutation. Have a great week!

132 Responses

  1. I have heard that a deli in Ascot Vale has a new coffee on its menu – it’s called a Des Moran Espresso. It has three shots, costs only a tuppence and will blow your head off.

  2. Reb..the child is from Malawi. Our crew have been sponsors for a little girl for the past 7 years from Malawi, this keeps her with her family and supports the whole community.

    Our little girl Estere has an older brother, a grandmother, plays netball, goes to school and is fully immunised. I can’t help but think what those $$s re the adoption could have provided for the child’s village..just the cost of the airfares and Madonna’s staff. A life of unimaginable luxury for one child, or the benefit of many children…

  3. Actually, Reb, it’s called “Strine Flu” and it’s caused by sucking too many savs….

  4. PS That’s not original, by the way, I heard it on the radio. I’m not one to claim others’ humour as my own.

  5. LOL James!

    I’m not one to claim others’ humour as my own.

    Fair enough James. You’ve got your terry towelling hat for that..

  6. Interesting item from Slate on Obama’s attitude to Iran … http://www.slate.com/id/2220603/

  7. Sorry James – I meant to say that it came through to me on an SMS…

  8. Shit, Joni, I hope you didn’t take that as a dig, because I can assure you it wasn’t. Yours was clearly a topical gag which warranted no attribution whatsoever. Mine was a play on words, something which I tend to do on this blog and upon which I take a certain self indulgent pride. In this case, it was someone else’s play on words therefore in that context I felt it appropriate to make the plagiarism acknowledged.

  9. Whilst on the subject of gags, this was just emailed to me…..

    A teacher noticed that a little boy at the back of the class was squirming around, scratching his crotch, and not paying attention.

    She went back to find out what was going on.
    He was quite embarrassed and whispered that he had just recently been circumcised and he was quite itchy.
    The teacher told him to go down to the principal’s office.
    He was told to telephone his mother and ask her what he should do about it.

    He did and returned to his class.
    Suddenly, there was a commotion at the back of the room.
    She went back to investigate only to find him sitting at his desk with his ‘private part’ hanging out.
    ‘I thought I told you to call your mum!’ she said.
    ‘I did,’ he said, ‘And she told me that if I could stick it out until lunchtime, she’d come and pick me up from school.

  10. No James – no offence taken….

  11. Reb at 12.48pm. Excellent comments as always from Tanner. Tanner of course has it, that with Turnbull no longer having Costello looking over his shoulder, that he and Hockey will now have the media focusing on their statements with greater scrutiny..well, at least we hope so.

  12. I posted this Cheney Heart where it will be probably go unnoticed so I hope you don’t mind a repost. Always good to know this stuff for future discussions:

    New Report: Rise in support for gay marriage in Australia

    http://www.theage.com.au/national/rise-in-support-for-gay-marriage-20090616-ce8k.html

  13. Daphon, on June 17th, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    No “ג וַיֹּאמֶר אֱלֹהִים, יְהִי אוֹר; וַיְהִי-אוֹר. ד וַיַּרְא אֱלֹהִים אֶת-הָאוֹר, כִּי-טוֹב; וַיַּבְדֵּל אֱלֹהִים, בֵּין הָאוֹר וּבֵין הַחֹשֶׁךְ.”? Hmm.

  14. (“And God said: ‘Let there be light.’ And there was light. And God saw the light, that it was good; and God divided the light from the darkness.”)

  15. Reb, please send Miglo a corporate gift.

    Perhaps one of the extended bum wiping devices, with a card – “bull$h!t at one end, duck $h!t at the other, please use with our regards…”

  16. For unfortunate reasons I’m kind of glad I’m not living in California any more.

    California would be in the G-8 if it were a separate country, but Republican political ideology (“no to any tax increases, dammit!”), stupid budget legislation requirements (2/3 majority required, IIRC, meaning 1/3 can hold the State hostage), and the financial crisis have combined to really screw up the state and the Federal government doesn’t plan to help.

    Which is very sad, because there’s a lot to like about the place. Maybe they’ll reconsider their stupid rules about tax increases and budget legislation…

  17. …and God divided the light from the darkness.

    And then God created the light switch to allow man to love man in light or darkness at whim. And he saw that it was good. And so ended the first day.

    This could be fun…

  18. On the Tanner “blog” (more a column than a blog per se, but a rose by any other name, other than stink-blossom, would smell as sweet) – I think that the media focusing more on Turnbull and Hockey is a wish at best.

    The media will focus on the people that give them the story. With Costello out of the picture, this opens up some “column space” for Malcom and Joe, but doesn’t guarantee it’ll be used for them. If they keep their quotes well thought out and on target; they might get some good space. As for bad quotes… I think Rudd is going to give them a run for their money given his recent antics.

  19. Ah bugger – my fancy formatting is stuffed again…

  20. And then God created the light switch to allow man to love man in light or darkness at whim. And he saw that it was good. And so ended the first day.

    On the second day God created electricity companies to distribute power to those future beings who didn’t cause light bulbs to glow by their mere proximity to said bulbs. And he saw that they were pretty good, and although there were some minor issues which would probably get worse later, they would have to do for now as he had other things on his mind. Like maybe doing something with all that empty firmament and land arisen from the waters.

  21. “This could be fun…”

    You also made the same comment to me recently, then yesterday you said something entirely inconsistent with this.

    What exactly are you on about? Are you here just to poke fun at a sincere and legitimate belief that Legion holds?

    Are you now simply seeking to cause disruption and endless exchange on this thread?

  22. On the second day God created electricity companies to distribute power to those future beings who didn’t cause light bulbs to glow by their mere proximity to said bulbs. And he saw that they were pretty good, and although there were some minor issues which would probably get worse later, they would have to do for now as he had other things on his mind. Like maybe doing something with all that empty firmament and land arisen from the waters.

    And on the third day, God gathered together the water into one place & caused dry land to appear. This not only gave him a place to put the electric companies, but also allowed him to create plants and trees for his newest creation – the logging company. And God saw that this was still pretty good, with only a few things to tweak when he had some time. However, he was having problems with the electric companies and some mob trying to sell them off already…

  23. Tom, this is going to be the last time I engage you on this subject in this thread, and only to tell you I will no longer engage you on this subject in this thread.

    As you can see, others are engaging in the “Midweek Mayhem” (and my post) in much the same spirit – that being light-hearted fun.

  24. Ben..am likewise feeling a bit midweekish..and so re: Ah bugger – my fancy formatting is stuffed again…

    Ben, If you mention your finely chiseled features one more time…

  25. Ben, If you mention your finely chiseled features one more time…

    Oh snap! You mean I’ll have to be… *gasp* modest!?! 😛

  26. B.Tolputt, oh dear, you seem to wish to deprive me of my “fun”.

    Nonetheless, I’m not particularly vindictive; I’ll just note your comment to me recently –

    “you turn tail & flee”

  27. Tom of Melbourne, on June 17th, 2009 at 4:07 pm Said: Are you now simply seeking to cause disruption and endless exchange on this thread?

    … and your here to create order from our chaos, ToM?

    … a Beelzebub plan if ever I saw one …

    😆

  28. However, he was having problems with the electric companies and some mob trying to sell them off already…

    On the fourth day the electricity company CEOs, buoyed by being on more solid ground, and relieved by not having to maintain expensive flotation for their power plants, persuaded their compensation boards to give them large stock option packages. And God thought to himself, “b*gger, that situation is starting to look a bit iffy”, but he put the thought aside as he had a bit of tricky fine tuning to do on the dinosaur-butterfly interaction effects which seemed to be related to some weird effects in his climate model.

  29. And on the fourth day, God thought, “Oh, bugger all this for a joke, it’s too much like hard work”.

    So he created beer and took himself off for a night on the turps and a kebab.

  30. Ben – finally got around to fixing your formatting.

  31. I don’t know if I should be embarrassed or flattered…I went to a takeaway at West End to grab a bite and one of the girls who was wiping the tables said “nice legs, girls have a look at this.”

    I tried to play it down then next thing there was three girls who came from behind the counter standing around me checking me out!

    Then they tried to chat me up, wanted me to come out the back but I declined, got a free feed at least but I don’t think I’ll go there tomorrow.

  32. Min – and we have seen a photo of scapers legs! And so I’d have to agree…. hehe

    So scaper – be flattered.

  33. Not being religious myself, about a month ago I made a facetious remark about one of Legions posts.

    Legion politely and intelligently pulled me up, and I felt guilty about the remark I’d made.

    I think when a regular contributor makes a comment sincere post in this way, other contributors ought to show a little restraint.

    A spiritual belief system deserves a little more respect than the bitter exchanges that can accompany political discussion.

    For what it is worth.

  34. So when did he create, The Robber Barons?

    Ah! On the seventh day and that’s why the buggers still congregate together for a good laugh and a sing song on the same day – ’cause they know that God usually has a nanny nap then and they can plan the next “harvest” … clever sods, hey?

    (Sorry about the Ruddism … y’know ask a question and then answer it … )

  35. Just like a true blue Conservative scaper
    you”re in dreamland.

  36. Tom of Melbourne, on June 17th, 2009 at 4:41 pm Said: For what it is worth.

    Score: O

  37. Conservative???

    Raspberry or strawberry?

  38. “I went to a takeaway at West End”

    Crapperville has a West End? Has the Fried Flies outlet opened already?

    “Then they tried to chat me up, wanted me to come out the back”

    More delusional rantings, or he holds the franchise to the Fried Flies outlet, and he’s trying drum up some business by pretending it is Crapperville’s version of “Hooters”.

  39. Thanks TB, that’s the highest score you’ve ever given me. I’m usually in the negative territory.

  40. scaper? Legs? Girls? 😯

  41. Oops! – 10 forgot the 1

  42. A spiritual belief system deserves a little more respect…

    I don’t hold that view.

    A belief system – whether political or spiritual – certainly deserves tolerance – if only out of respect for the individual’s right to believe what they damn well please – but respect for belief systems goes too far. If it seems blindly stupid to me for fairly good reasons, then I feel no obligation to pretend that it’s not, out of some notion of “respect” for a belief system.

    One could even argue that respect for the individual suggests that one might with to disabuse said individual of the blindly stupid notions they hold, should there be a good chance that said notions lead to actual harm in the real world – but that’s getting into a very grey area. Sometimes those beliefs may be better for an individual to hold than not to hold (i.e. a close relative who used fairly fundamentalist religion in their efforts to get off the grog), and it’s hard for me to be sure what’s better for them. Besides, people are suprisingly committed to their blindly stupid notions, so it rarely changes anything in the real world anyway 😉

  43. Tom,

    That would be “the Paris end” of Crapperville…

    If there is such a thing…

    The takeaway girls were probably thinking it was Mickey Rourke…

  44. Tom, are you interested in buying a franchise?

    I’ll give you the Melbourne area and after your first year you would be able to afford the Mercedes that you always have dreamt about.

    I learnt to drive in one of those jalopies.

  45. Where’s this West End Cafe?

  46. Show us your legs, James, and we’ll tell you

  47. James, West End is over the other side of the Brisbane River from the city.

    Was very Bohemian but is now being gentrified, I got stung by a dirty syringe twelve years ago when transplanting large palms there.

    It took nine months to find out if I was clear of disease!

  48. Lotharsson, on June 17th, 2009 at 4:55 pm Said

    Well, thanks for that L, seems I’m destined to be on the grog for the rest of my days (sigh/giggle) …

    … fundamental religion you say? BTW did it work?

    … and “clink” – all …

  49. scaper, scaper, scaper, come in spinner (just for KR) – are you ToM’s “straight man” (leave it alone,sreb!)…

  50. TB, yes it worked, but the person in question is still considered an alcoholic (& addict), just (AFAIK) not drinking/using. They’re easing off a bit on the fundamentalism too, but that’s taken quite a few years to develop. It was almost like the fundamentalism was a replacement addiction.

  51. “It took nine months to find out if I was clear of disease!”

    The result of the disease was on going delusions and a lust for flies, dust and misfits.

    And he’s needed botox treatment to kill off the side effects!

    Re – Mercedes, no worries. They’re worth nothing now. So naturally I have one.

  52. TB, I could not be Tom’s straight man…I broke into laughter when I read his comment, the best laugh I’ve had all day!

  53. Without Botox I become the Elephant Man.

  54. are you ToM’s “straight man”

    Damn… I better stay away from this one!

    So tempting…!

  55. Good decision Tolputt.

    Straight – if that means honest, truthful etc, then no, you aren’t qualified as a “straight” man in any circumstances.

  56. “Without Botox I become the Elephant Man.”

    With nice legs though.

  57. Yep…the whole four of them!

  58. See what I mean… *sigh*

  59. And prefacing a humourous remark with “WARNING THE FOLLOWING CONTAINS OPINION….” is not allowed according to you.

  60. “take your whining to another thread”

  61. But I’m on topic 😛

  62. Can you two get a room?

  63. Preferable separate ones James.

  64. #Can you two get a room?

    Stop encouraging domestic violence.

    Reb im having trouble commenting on gutter Trash.
    After i comment the screen goes blank instead of returning to the room. just letting you know as im sure it will eventually fix itself or is it my computer.

  65. Im having trouble here Aqu – trying mobile

  66. How do you lovely people keep up?

    I go and prepare, then eat dinner, come back and there’s 50m more posts here!!

  67. I am having problems here too – maybe a gitch in wordpress.

  68. Aspects of planning and the presentational style of this Government have annoyed me since day one. I\’ve been publicly critical of the Govt, and President Rudd in particular, on a number of occasions.

    But if you strip away the ill-conceived PR gimmicks and reactionary spin, in policy terms the ALP seems to be doing a reasonably good job of governing for working families and is mostly delivering on its election commitments.

    For me, the absence of constant fear-mongering – the Howard Government\’s stock-in-trace and too easily forgotten after 18 months respite – is an especially welcome change.

    Compared to the other OECD countries, Australia\’s economy has handled the worst global economic down-turn since 1929 relatively well.

    This Government\’s problem\’s are mostly stylistic. Issues of public perception. Perhaps this is not surprising when the communications model adopted by Government is based on failed approaches and the PM is too visible, highlighting his brittleness in a PR setting.

    The Carr and Blair style of governing centrally via constant spin and news cycle melodrama failed. The British Labour Party\’s post-Blair postmortem blamed the Party organisation and Cabinet for failing to effectively manage Blair, a narcissistic man who believed his status as an election winner gave him a mandate to ignore elected colleagues and do as he wished (Hello Baghdad!).

    It\’s the same story here. People voted for a Labor Government in 2007. The onus is on the ALP in general – and the Cabinet in particular – to rein the over-exposed Kev in. Can they be strategic? Better utliise Kev\’s strengths and lower his media profile? Share more of the genuine communication work with the likes of Tanner, Gillard, Faulkner and co? Stay ahead of the news cycle rather than constantly play catch-up?

    My advice would be get on with managing the big picture, leave the media stunts and human interest stories for sports and entertainment people wherever possible, and public might actually start focusing on a number of worthwhile policy outcomes the ALP is delivering.

  69. Of course James and Min. Never let it be said that I’m unreasonable.

    This type of silly exchange can end immediately!!

    I’m more than happy to offer B.Tolputt what he terms a “win-win”.

    All he has to do is post a form of words that I require of him, and I’ll stop any further negative exchanges with him (conditions apply).

    The form of words I require are –

    “I, B.Tolputt, am a tosser and I unreservedly apologise for my recent outrageous and childish behaviour. I herewith authorise Joni and/or reb to permanently remove my access to this site if, for any reason he deems appropriate, Tom of Melbourne makes a statement, or an observation, or offers an opinion (factual or otherwise) that I have relapsed into the behaviour noted above. Thank you for your kindness and forbearance.”

    It can be over immediately Ben, all you have to do is accept my offer of a “win-win”!!

  70. Note – above posted in an attempt at “humour”.

    I’ll leave Ben alone now.

  71. reb, on June 17th, 2009 at 12:48 pm Said:

    Hey Reb I read your comment on Lindsay Tanner\’s blog. Did you give him an apple also???

  72. Speaking of swine flu, I spotted my first mask-on-the-street yesterday.

    It\’s a bit like spotting the first swallow at San Juan Capistrano: A Chinese chick in Liverpool Street Sydney was sauntering-along along, surgical mask in situ, while yammering to someone on her mobile.

    Outstanding. Made my day, it did.

    Cleanliness or paranoia, whadda ya reckon?

    Personally, I won\’t be worrying too much until the the cart-pulling dude in black robes wanders past ringing a bell and shouting: \”Bring-out your dead.\”

  73. You know, whenever I feel like leaving a comment I then feel like I can\’t because this whole site is a family thing, that much of the commentary going backward and forward has little to do with the topic but rather that this is perhaps a chat room.For the members of this site.

    It\’s so sad that with the best of intentions this site has become the sole preserve and chat room of a select few(who no doubt worked hard to get it up and running), but refuse to sit back and allow commentary, but would rather rabbit on about anything other than the topic, send cheers to friends and generally behave as if this is their private domain.

    I do miss Tim, but this is a very poor substitiute when you folk can\’t even allow a topic to take a course without endless references to each other.

    \”DUCKS HEAD\”

  74. Ray Hunt, on June 17th, 2009 at 7:27 pm Said:

    But if you strip away the ill-conceived PR gimmicks and reactionary spin, in policy terms the ALP seems to be doing a reasonably good job of governing for working families and is mostly delivering on its election commitments.

    I think that’s a fair enough assessment, particularly in the current circumstances which, at a macro level at least, are completely beyond their control. No doubt, Rudd wants to be ‘honest’ when it comes to fulfilling election commitments even if they (rationally) should have been jettisoned. Keating’s L-A-W tax cuts and their abandonment are everpresent nightmares.

    As for:

    , the absence of constant fear-mongering – the Howard Government\’s stock-in-trade

    Indeed! While Howard promised that people would be relaxed and comfortable, he proceeded to scare the crap out of them. And it was, for a long time, a successful tactic. Like Hanson, Howard realised that ‘xenophobia’ worked a charm. Howard was remarkably good at creating a potent mix of fear and loathing in the electorate, bundling it up as ‘terrorism’ while presenting himself as the saviour.

    You then say:

    It\’s the same story here. People voted for a Labor Government in 2007.

    More contentious. Was the prevailing sentiment ‘positive’ in the sense of we want Rudd (and Labor) or negative in the sense we don’t want Howard? Probably impossible to disentangle. And possibly doesn’t matter in the whole scheme of things

    Stay ahead of the news cycle rather than constantly play catch-up?

    Good advice! But probably wasting that sweetness on the desert air. Rudd is a control freak who believes that he is master of his own destiny and it’s his way or the highway. A lot like Silly Sol but a lot smarter.

    But a great analysis.

  75. robbo, on June 17th, 2009 at 8:38 pm Said:

    It\’s so sad that with the best of intentions this site has become the sole preserve and chat room of a select few(who no doubt worked hard to get it up and running), but refuse to sit back and allow commentary, but would rather rabbit on about anything other than the topic, send cheers to friends and generally behave as if this is their private domain

    Indeed! Indeed! Indeed!

    when you folk can\’t even allow a topic to take a course without endless references to each other.

    Agree in spades! But I suspect it’s why ‘soaps’ are so popular with the masses.

    In the ideal world, i would prefer a much greater focus on ‘issues’ but then again i can always leave.

    Thankfully I don’t spend too much time on this site when the ‘personal’ bits reign supreme.

    Also ducks head and runs away.

  76. Ray Hunt and Nature5,

    Nice work.

    (And robbo makes a good point.)

  77. Tony, you mean we can agree on something? Even if it’s at the a ‘higher order’ level. Lol.

    And yes Ray’s analysis should be a ‘thread’ because I think there are a whole range of embedded issues which should be aired.

  78. “For unfortunate reasons I’m kind of glad I’m not living in California any more. ”

    Yes, well that is what happens when feel good policy replaces common sense….LOL Whatever feels good, not what actually works……….There are more Californians in AZ now than California……

  79. Sometimes makes me wonder why I bother….

  80. joni, on June 17th, 2009 at 9:43 pm Said:

    Sometimes makes me wonder why I bother….

    Well, for what it’s worth, your ‘bother’ aids and abets an excellent analysis by Ray which in my view is pretty close to the mark. Where else would you get such a contribution? Certainly not the MSM.

    From my POV, you and reb have created an excellent site even if it’s not my utopia.

    Not negative about thou but, like robbo, tis a plea for more contributors to expand minds by discussing the issues rather than mindless chit chat which might be better communicated through personal emails.

  81. Point taken.

  82. joni, With all due respects, I can never work out where you want to take this site. In ‘Strategic Planning’ terms, you (plural) want it to evolve, which is commendable, but that has its difficulties.

    Just sayin..

  83. As someone that gets transfixed by the personal from time to time, I’d comment that it is the nature of an unmoderated blog to be a bit of a chat room.

    On the predecessor of this site, the immediacy of any reaction was restrained by the fact that the comment wouldn’t appear for perhaps hours. Emotional involvement was not available, or was less available.

    I think the contributions here are well informed and articulate as a matter of course. Well researched too. It attracts a reasonably diverse range of well articulated opinion, and the enjoyment of this site is a reason that willing contributors are retained.

    Sometimes the contributions are hilarious, bitingly so, and I’d be completely uninterested in the site if this wasn’t the case. (Cue Ben to suggest that the site immediately introduce an anti humour policy).

    There are some particularly intelligent and well informed contributors here, the complaints seem pretty trivial in the context of the overall quality of the site.

  84. Tom of Melbourne

    the complaints seem pretty trivial in the context of the overall quality of the site.

    Probably. But aren’t we all in search of excellence?

    But overall, I think you are on the money. Then again I haven’t heard anything about your wife’s enhancements or lack of same .. your children’s educational attainments or lack thereof or indeed whether you have any children .. whether .. whatever,

    Tom, I only know your net identity and I want to keep it at that level. The real ‘you’ is probably ‘likable’ which would explode the myth.

    But, like you, I don’t paste my real identity all over the net. And with good reason. FGS, there are nutters here, there and everywhere as is evidenced by some contributors to this and other blogs.

    Better to inhabit a parallel universe. Tis much safer. And more likely that the focus is on the ‘issues’.

    Just sayin ..

  85. Anybody scratching their heads over the EU elections? I am under the impression that “multiculturalism” has finally reached it’s high water mark……

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/thereporters/markmardell/

  86. N5 – “The real ‘you’ is probably ‘likable’ which would explode the myth.”

    Well , you’re probably right and just how likeable I am, I’d like to disclose a completely personal matter. reb is planning to float this “business”, I’m advising him on some matters related to due diligence and corporate structure. I get 30%.

    Nothing at all shady mind you. No. That’s not the way we do things here. Never! It’s all above board and legit. Even legal.

    It is the ideal investment for a shrewd semi retired type and may I suggest that you get in before the smart money latches on? Low (almost nil) risk and very, very high (almost guaranteed) returns!

    If Rupert is going to charge for the use of the internet, I see no reason for us socialists to allow him to make all the money.

    I’ve got a new mistress (younger & blonder) to go with my new status.

    I hope you like the report on the status of my likeable personal life!!

  87. Sparta of Phoenix, AZ USA, on June 17th, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Anybody scratching their heads over the EU elections? I am under the impression that “multiculturalism” has finally reached it’s high water mark……

    Why, yes. How perceptive of you to notice that, historically-speaking, the various sub-cultures and factions hailing from what might be considered the ‘far right’ tend to blunt themselves into ineffective oblivion before unceremoniously splintering and self-destructing in their attempts to maintain anything approaching a necessary group-like cohesion within the European Parliamentary context. Personally, I think the ‘far left’ have an easier job of maintaining ‘solidarity’, mostly because it’s written into the script; not that ‘ultra-nationalism’ isn’t also a fun addition, if a somewhat harder row to hoe, when the kinds who would champion it most vociferously on behalf of the diversity of their individually sovereign and inviolable nation-territories are obviously already looking well ahead to reaping what they intend to sow, dialectically-speaking.

  88. I’ll leave Ben alone now.

    Let’s see if you indeed keep commitments like you say you do.

    Cue Ben to suggest that the site immediately introduce an anti humour policy

    Wow, that lasted a long time…

    NOTE: This is humour intended in the much same vein as Tom’s 🙂

  89. Ray Hunt, on June 17th, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Very astute and the way I see it as well.

    One thing to be said about Rudd’s media style and spin is that it seems to have everyone concentrating on the banal and trivialities whilst overlooking the problems with some of the government’s major policies. It’s not as though these policy problems aren’t mentioned, it’s just they are usually drowned out by the opposition, their right wing media mouth pieces and right wing bloggers and posters swamping legitimate debate on policy shortfalls with what Rudd said or did on any given day and escalating that ad nauseam until it becomes a mountain blocking out anything else from the discussion cycle.

    Whether this is a deliberate ploy by government PR I don’t know and doubt it, but it is working. Apart from one News Poll that went against three previous polls within the previous fortnight, this government is enjoying numbers for an extended period that are unprecedented, especially considering the economic circumstances and some of their major policy back flips and changes to promises.

    I think I would be fairly accurate in saying that if the Coalition had been returned to power and were now facing the same economic crisis they would not be faring anywhere near as well in the polls to this point.

  90. Aqua et al,

    I think wordpress had some problems last night.

    I couldn’t publish my precious words of wisdom either..

    Seems to be back to normal now..

  91. B.Tolputt, on June 17th, 2009 at 4:13 pm Said:

    “And on the third day, God gathered together the water into one place & caused…….” …wholesale waterboarding to be used to extract information on the instructions of Sparta and despite the protestations of Lotharsson.

    Then God rested…….Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz !

  92. “Then they tried to chat me up, wanted me to come out the back but I declined, ……………….”

    scaper…, on June 17th, 2009 at 4:37 pm Said:

    Just as well…………………….One of their boyfriend’s was probably about to steal your car……..!

  93. N5

    joni, With all due respects, I can never work out where you want to take this site. In ‘Strategic Planning’ terms, you (plural) want it to evolve, which is commendable, but that has its difficulties.

    strategy, plan, evolve??

    We are not that sophisticated – reb and I are flying each day by the seat of our pants.

    And one difference between Blogocracy and the blogocrats…. reb and I have jobs that need attention first.

  94. This place isn’t Blogocracy & I don’t think that anyone ever stated that it is supposed to be.

    Like most of lifes’ divergences you can never please everybody all of the time, or any of the time perhaps.

    I think that if robbo wants to comment he’d likely be welcomed & included. Projecting exclusion isn’t a deliberate aim of the site (correct me if I’m wrong) & may be more of a perception than a reality.

    Maybe the banter is best confined to open threads like this but I don’t see anything deficient in the banter itself.
    I think Tomeofmelb summed it up pretty well.

    As for nutcases, well they’re everywhere but I think that assuming they might extend their “malevolence” from the net to your doorstep is a bit of a stretch.

    Horses for courses.

  95. I do miss Tim, but this is a very poor substitiute when you folk can\’t even allow a topic to take a course without endless references to each other.

    Well said. This place is a dump.

  96. Well if it does turn out that the guy was zapped 28 times I hope the family sues the arse off the Qld police force.

    http://www.smh.com.au/national/stun-gun-death-taser-fired-28-times-20090618-ciio.html

    I don’t like Tasers because they are dangerous (300+ deaths in the US and already 2 in Australia) and they make for lazy policing.

    I’m sure there are situations where people will die from being Tasered whereas they would not have been shot.

    http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-national/tasers-can-cause-brain-seizures-report-20090317-905j.html

  97. Me, I’d TASER someone WHILE they’re being water-boarded just for yucks, Daphon. There’s nothing better than combining electricity and water up the the thin nose-brain barrier for inducing twitching, jerking and coercive compliance. But that’s just me; I’m sure nobody else would entertain my evil misapplications of technology unless I revealed them. And to think, regular Janes and Joes can mail-order themselves a TASER for under $15 in some other jurisdictions.

  98. That settles it then.

    I’m buying me a taser pronto. I’ll teach that dog to think twice before yapping to be let outside.

    Thanx for the sterling idea Legion

  99. Wow, $15!

    I can have my very own potentially lethal deterrent for less than the price of a sixpack of alcopops.

    Hooray for technology.

  100. Toiletboss, on June 18th, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I have a working theory based on very limited information, HD, that the effectiveness of TASERs on canines may be an inverse to their size; I’d need more experimental data, perhaps, in terms of size, breed, and the number of TASER applications (28 zaps may have been more effective, just as I can’t be certain that 3 bullets really is more effective than 28 bullets).

  101. By direct past observation I can definitively state that cattle prods do not work on chooks.

    Something about the feathers?

    Off to work now. Catchya.

  102. By gee Legion, those chihuahua’s are vicious brutes…must have wrassled the police office to the ground in order to have bitten him 17 times.

  103. However, I can guarantee that a dingo+ works well on a rooster..just the feet left. And a fond fareware to Agro the rooster.

  104. http://www.theage.com.au/national/australian-bosses-are-racist-when-its-time-to-hire-20090617-chvu.html

    Typically a Chinese-named applicant would need to put in 68 per cent more applications than an Anglo-named applicant to get the same number of calls back. A Middle Eastern-named applicant needed 64 per cent more, an indigenous-named applicant 35 per cent more and an Italian-named applicant 12 per cent more.

  105. Min, on June 18th, 2009 at 3:32 pm Said:

    It’s not about being racist it’s about being sick of wasting one’s time calling people who have extreme difficulty in communicating in English. I know I’m fed up with it even though our adverts always say “excellent communication skills necessary”. People don’t take any notice of that one phrase.

    The last time I advertised for an accountant I got no less than 140 responses of which 60% were Asian. From memory I called about 8 of them and all had extremely poor English skills over the telephone. So I just stopped calling them.

    I have even had instances where I would make an interview time with someone who can express themselves extremely well over the telephone but the person who shows up for the interview is clearly not the same person who I had spoken to. They’ll do anything to get their foot in the door so to speak. Even enlist friends who can speak English to impersonate them to get an interview.

    Also I do admit to a bias against Asian men as in the past I have found them to be extremely difficult to deal with due to a DNA imbedded arrogance towards colleagues, especially female and even more especially Asian females. So I tend to discard CVs where its impossible to work out if the Asian name is male or female which as its not always “Anglicised” is often the case.

    e.g If the CV does not specify then is “Xie Wan” a male or a female ?

    Dont know or cant tell ?……………..then in the bin

    Middle Eastern/Europeans/Indians just have better English skills.

  106. Oh dear

    Who would’ve guessed it? Another casualty of the global financial crisis. Or is it just case that no one’s interested anymore?

    http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,25654941-29277,00.html

    I guess they’re not “tough enough” after all…

  107. sreb, how much are the tickets?

  108. Bill Hicks said that if you play NKOTB records backwards they sound better.

  109. joni, but I bet there isn’t a secret message a la The Beatles?

    Maybe there is? Crap sounds better backwards?

    Talent has a message either way … (leave it alone, sreb!)

  110. Who would’ve guessed it? Another casualty of the global financial crisis

    reb, on June 18th, 2009 at 5:09 pm Said:

    What a pack of arseholes…………………..!

    It’s people like that who try to give the GFC a Bad Name.

  111. Scaper..

    “ejected from the chamber” sounds a bit violent with almost Python-esque imagery

  112. I like this place. If I didn’t then the bleedin’ obvious would apply: I wouldn’t be here.

    I’m sure there are many people who have poked their noses into Blogocrtas – didn’t like what they saw – so dared not venture here again.

    It’s a pity we don’t have more appeal because IMHO we have much to offer. Where else can you get free advice, a laugh, and the latest news at a moment’s notice?

    Where else will you find so many bloggers as friends? Where else are wealth crazed pricks given so much respect?

    Ducks head.

  113. This government is too smart by half!

    By linking the Renewable Energy Target legislation to the ETS it now won’t be passed.

    I believe the Renewable Energy legislation is a good move…nice body, shame about the head!

    http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/06/18/2601930.htm

  114. As I said earlier this week, I’m amazed at the number of comments Blogocrats gets: way, way more than many of the established well-known blogs (and it’s nowhere near as boring as some of them are these days).

  115. Aw that’s lovely Daphon…

    Thanks *blush*

  116. Miglo – “Where else will you find so many bloggers as friends? ”

    Name one!!

  117. Hi Mobius, yep, the spin certainly helps reduce the attention on poorly designed policies like the ETS but on occasions it also over shadows achievements and the ability of the Government to engage with the electorate on complicated matters of profound importance.

    Spin certainly does have its place in the tool kit of modern politics but it is addictive and has dangerous side-effects when abused. The boy who cried wolf, et al. If you are on the TV every night, people eventually see you as part of the furniture and stop listening to your messages. Why Howard energetically squirmed so ineffectively in his last term!

    The meeja is like electricity: it can be a great servant but it can also fry you in a millisecond. The worst thing about Team Rudd’s conceptual approach to communications is mistaking clever tactics for strategy. This is one of the main reason’s why Kev regularly annoys voting punters: he appears to over-promise and under-deliver (appears being the key phrase here).

    For example, lots of good things are happening in terms of renewable energy and energy efficiency but because of the mongrel dog that is the ETS the Government is now being seriously marked-down on one policy area they had a clear mandate from the electorate to be bold with. I’m not suggesting it is an easy task but Rudd’s communication people are paid to manage complexity and uncertainty and transfer it into a plain English message the public can understand. Clearly, the Rudd spinners and their boss are deploying limited thinking. Such an approach nearly always ends in tears.

  118. Min.

  119. Tom, have I got friends! I have to put up with this at the Canberra airport everytime I fly in.

  120. Miglo, is that a pic of the opening of duck season?

  121. LOL James.

  122. There’s nothing else to do in Canberra. People just hang around the airport hoping someone interesting will turn up.

    It’s like a cargo cult.

  123. Is Ben back on the editorial committee? as “Your comment is awaiting moderation.”

  124. What I attempted to post was something like – people in Canberra just hang around the airport hoping someone interesting will turn up.

    It’s like a cargo cult.

    Just to cheer up Miglo.

  125. Tom Frum?

  126. FFS! You just knew this bullshit was coming………

    “US looks to apologise for slavery”

    How about just acknowledging the 600,000 American lives lost in ending the practice and we call it even? How about when “pigs fly” or the 3rd world thanks us for bringing them running water and for teaching them how to whipe their ass with paper…….What a fucking ridiculous sentiment, much like the “Apology” in Australia that has done nothing to end the abysmal reality of some of your citizens………. “Feel-Good” politics, please………

    http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,25658685-401,00.html

  127. Surely Wong and co can answer Fielding’s three questions as “the science is in!”

    http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25656849-7583,00.html

  128. The cost of this is absolutely ridiculous

    http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25655225-31477,00.html

  129. So I just stopped calling them.

    I guess that’s a textbook illustration of prejudice/bigotry.

Comments are closed.

