Former NRL Player slams The Footy Show’s “Absolute F**kin Morons!”

Oh dear,

Matty Johns is in strife yet again after being involved in a skit aired on the Footy Show which has been labelled as a clear case of anti-gay vilification.

According to news.com.au, the skit aired on May 7 saw Matthew Johns, currently on suspension from the show after a group sex scandal, play his and brother Andrew’s fictional sibling “Elton Johns”.

In the skit, “Elton” is taken to hospital for being gay, with Andrew saying “I’m so ashamed of him”.

Gay activist Gary Burns has lodged a complaint with the NSW Anti-Discrimination Board.

Ian Roberts, the NRL’s highest-profile gay former player, came out swinging in support of the action.

He told SX he was “over the moon” about the complaint before declaring The Footy Show personalities “absolute f**king morons”.

“It’s about time someone did this,” Roberts said.

“Those blokes at The Footy Show – and you can quote me on this – are absolute f**king morons, and more power to Gary Burns for taking them to court.

“I will back him to the hilt on this 100 per cent. People like the Johns brothers need to be held accountable for their actions and their effect on others.”

A Nine spokeswoman had no comment.

You can view the clip here.

50 Responses

  1. Maybe it’s just me, but when viewing the skit, I think it mocks the homophobic rather than the homos. I don’t often stay up to watch that show, but I think that the clip was perhaps a little too sophisticated for many of its viewers.

  2. James

    That is the problem – where it maybe making a fool of the homophobes, people will take it as an attack on homosexuals.

  3. Lets face it……………..Society as a whole is just sooooooooo f****d up at the moment and in this case it’s the Nine Network that needs its arse kicked.

    While we are at it I just love the double standards at the ABC. 3 weeks ago the ABC was trying to whip us all up into outrage over the group sex allegations. Last night the Chaser was making a joke about the same subject by making an unauthorized ground announcement at a Sharks NRL game.

    OK ABC sympathizers………………..how do you justify that rather strange juxtaposition ?

  4. how do you justify that rather strange juxtaposition ?

    One was a documentary

    The other was a satirical comedy

  5. I suppose, Joni, and perhaps the subject was best left alone.

    It was obvious to me from the start that they were taking the mickey out of meatheads but surely when the channel is switched from the Carnegie Hall concert to Matthew Johns squirrell gripping, that should have cleared it up for all.

    I believe that social behavioural change is better effected by peer group pressure (of which this is an example ie. don’t be a meathead when it comes to attitudes towards those different from yourself) than affirmative action, which often has the opposite effect.

  6. Reb……………….that is definitely no excuse.

    If you are going to put shit on the morons on the Footy Show then you must also put shit on the Chaser.

    I’m not defending the Footy Show……..for indeed they are morons. But you cannot excuse one on the basis of Documentary v Comedy.

  7. I think that the difficulty with this skit is that it was saying that gay children are:

    The runts of the litter – that they ‘mince about’ – that they never fit in – that they are uncoordinated. With the final statement the biggest insult to my mind, “I want to return ‘it’ (the child)..it’s faulty”.

  8. James

    Pretty hard to accept your premise when you and your friends get abuse and beat up.

  9. IATW – some of the stuff on Chasers “disturbed” me a bit – until I realised – its supposed to…its not a comedy show its satirical. What a great Scottish accent…

    As for the topic!

    Where are all those twits from Blogocracy/Blogocrats who defended Andrew Johns when he confessed to his “habit” – the same people who defended Wendell Sailor for just slipping out of one code (Union) to avoid a two year ban and was accepted by another code (League)…

    When shows like The Simpsons and Two & Half Men run in the time slots that kids watch – wait for it to get worse – I turned off some gangster mid-day movie yesterday because of the continual gratuitous violence – kids at their most impressionable age (0-5) get to see some of this and listen to the language.

    Our kids are pounded with drugs, sex, violence and bad language (and behaviour) daily…and the main source of all this garbage that is slowly but surely changing us into a satellite country is the USA.

    We are losing our identity – I’ve been watching it happen (and whinging about it) for years…just analyse the language/jargon shift…

    Oops! Off topic.

    I hope Channel 9 get their arses kicked good and proper – is thingumebob still involved in operational issue? Stays at home and gets paid $500,000 a year…

  10. If you are going to put shit on the morons on the Footy Show then you must also put shit on the Chaser

    Why..?

  11. Fair enough, Joni, and in the violence towards gays department, I am firmly in favour of affirmative (in the physical sense) action. Perhaps the skit was too subtle for many RL supporters but my interpretation was that is mocked outdated attitudes rather than gay people themselves.

  12. TB,

    I thought Billy Connolly’s Tour of Iraq was priceless..!

    And that accent was spot on…

    🙂

  13. I don’t normally get all PC about jokes and similar stuff aimed at gay people, but I came away after watching that video feeling disturbed and depressed.

    After some thought I realised that it reflected my experiences growing up as a bookish, non-sports loving, tad effeminate gay boy in the 50s, 60s and 70s.

    I thought I had put this stuff behind me, but I now see it’s just buried and still emitting it’s unseen influence on my whole life.

    It was humourless and offensive and, worse, I think it could have done a lot of damage to the self-esteem of young gay people.

    I’ve never watch the Footy Show, but if that’s typical of it, its panelists and audience, then perhaps RL is for morons.

  14. James re: my interpretation was that is mocked outdated attitudes rather than gay people themselves.

    You’re one of the good’uns for feeling this way James, saying that the attitudes are ‘outdated’. However, sadly not so as joni has expressed.

    To me what it did was to reinforce stereotypes plus to include a gay child in the skit was absolutely appalling.

  15. how do you justify that rather strange juxtaposition ?

    One was a documentary

    The other was a satirical comedy

    reb, on May 28th, 2009 at 11:27 am Said:

    Reb…………..you asked “Why?”

    Well was not the Johns sketch comedy as well ?…………….or did you take it seriously then did you ?

    You just cannot have it both ways which it seems to me is exactly what you are trying to do just because one involves brain dead ex footballers mocking homosexuality.

    You cannot in all reason condemn one comedy sketch (on the Footy Show) without condemning the other (On the Chaser)

  16. Ok, I guess I’ll step down on this. My opinion on Rugby League is that it is a game invented by and for meatheads, played by meatheads, supported by meatheads (apologies to RL supporters on here with brains who are caught up in my gross generalisation) which has little capacity to learn from its meathead mistakes. Only last night I wondered to my wife (I do love calling her that) why they will never learn that poledriving a player head first into the ground can cause massive spinal damage and WILL get them suspended. Her answer “because they’re all stupid meatheads!!!” A game under massive scrutiny for its conduct towards women that continues to believe it needs scantily clad ladies to complete the entertainment package is clearly governed by meatheads.

    I just don’t believe that this is an example of such meatheadedness.

  17. I’m sorry Walrus, I still have no idea what your point is.

    The Four Corners episode was a documentary on the ABC.

    The Chaser is a satirical comedy on the ABC

    The Footy Show is some sort of entertainment show on Channel Nine.

    Am I missing something…??

  18. Daphon, on May 28th, 2009 at 12:10 pm Said:
    I’ve never watch the Footy Show, but if that’s typical of it, its panelists and audience, then perhaps RL is for morons.

    Daphon, I never watch The Footy Show (its bloody awful) but I am a big fan of RL…I know you carefully chose “…if its typical” and “then perhaps” … but it shows how easy it is to broadbrush …

    … most posters here know I’ve been happily married for over 40 years, five grandkids and I constantly refer to my “blog” friends, sreb & joni …

    …personally I think tolerance for gay people has improved in leaps and bounds in my lifetime – remember the furore over the first Mardi Gras – let alone the second (“…they’re doing it again..?”)

  19. James of North Melbourne, on May 28th, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    You follow ARL don’t you, James

    Pot & Kettle, pal…

    Meathead?

  20. Reb…………………….Dont worry about it………….!

  21. Actually, Walrus, I don’t see a juxtaposition in attitude toward the “group sex scandal” by the ABC or the supporters of those that criticise it. The Four Corners program (which you vilify) brought to light the group sex attitudes and NZ incident. The obvious implication being that group sex by “Aussie Idols” (the footy kind, not the popularity-contest singing kind) is not a good thing.

    The Chasers, a satirical program, mocked the players that participated in the group sex & had decided to keep their involvement under wraps.

    Given one program is exposing the behaviour & the other mocking those that decided to remain anonymous (probably to save their own careers) – I don’t see where one program is clashing against the other nor where those that supported Four Corners airing the report should be up in arms.

    If the Chasers had mocked “Clare” or even Matty Johns personally – I would see that as going to far &/or taking the issue in a different direction. But simply mocking the Sharks (who technically get off with or around one another) is the satirical equivalent of exposing them *shrug*

  22. James

    No need for you to step down on this. You are completely correct in your assessment of the TV show. You do have an understanding and compassion towards gays and women that is lacking in some others.

    Feel good with yourself mate!

  23. I agree Daphon, the show seemed straight out of the ’60’s and ’70’s but minus the good manners.

  24. reb, on May 28th, 2009 at 11:51 am

    I thought Billy Connolly’s Tour of Iraq was priceless..!

    I dare you to say it was ‘brilliant’!

  25. A game under massive scrutiny for its conduct towards women that continues to believe it needs scantily clad ladies to complete the entertainment package is clearly governed by meatheads.

    Actually, I have no problem with the scantily clad women in the package. Were it not for them, I’d have nothing to watch when I went to a game with friends who actually give a damn about football.

    For me, they are the entire entertainment package 😛 It’s not like the men are dressed conservatively and they spend the wet games wrestling each other into the mud. I know a few women that liked to watch those games (and they didn’t care a whit who won the game)

  26. Knew I’d get a bite from someone, TB, but I don’t follow any form of “RL”, be it “A” or “N”. I do own an “RL” though, it’s a type of trailable yacht. I love it but I think the wife would like an upgrade to something bigger. 🙂

  27. B.Tolputt, on May 28th, 2009 at 12:55 pm Said:

    OK……………………Let me give you an example of the ABC’s standards (which you continually defend) these days.

    Last night I was watching Skynews and they played a 5 minute grab of the Commonwealth Chief Health Officer. He clearly stated to a news conference that his worse case scenario of the percentage of the population that would contract swine flu by Winters end was 20%.

    Half an hour later I flicked over to the ABC and it was reported (in yet another ABC voiceover showing the same news conference) that he stated that at least 20% of the population would contract swine flu and quite possibly 20% would have it at any one time.

    The difference in the 2 reports was that we did not hear him say it. We only got his audio on Skynews.

    The reporter was simply lying…………..no ifs……….no buts.

    So that’s your ABC these days.

    And by the way I did not vilify the topic of the 4 Corners program………….only the manner of the shabby reporting itself . I just dont rate the reporter who handled it.

    And I’m not going to discuss with you your perceived infallibility of the ABC

  28. Where are all those twits from Blogocracy/Blogocrats who defended Andrew Johns when he confessed to his “habit” – the same people who defended Wendell Sailor for just slipping out of one code (Union) to avoid a two year ban and was accepted by another code (League)…

    Not central to what you’re saying TB, but I have to pick you up on the Wendell Sailor ban – He served his 2 year ban from all forms of professional sport before coming back to RL – A totally different kettle of fish to Johns who got off scot free…

  29. Bacchus is on the money re Sailor and doing two years.

  30. As a completely impartial observer I can say categorically that Wendell Sailor is a fine and upstanding citizen and a wonderful human being which is I must say just a reflection upon of the rest of his equally wonderful team mates and that referees should always give him and his team the benefit of the doubt in all circumstances.

  31. Who is Wendell Sailor?

  32. Legion…………………..that’s the first time I’ve actually understood what you’ve said !

    Although you should be ashamed at having to ask !

  33. Probably the only thing you need to know about Wendell Sailor Legion, is that he once played Rugby League for the Broncos, had a stint playing Rugby for a while, and now plays RL for some obscure Sydney club. 😉

  34. bacchus, on May 28th, 2009 at 4:16 pm Said:

    Go back to your alcoholic stupour bacchus !

  35. hehe IATW – alcohol – bit early for that yet, although I’ll have to see what I can find to go with my salmon marinated in sake, ginger, garlic and brown sugar. Unfortunately the sake’s more useful for the marinade than for consumption.

    Yes, Wendell is a fine upstanding fellow these days IATW, and to be fair, you team is doing very well this year. Wouldn’t it be good to see a grand final like those of 1992 & 1993 (with the same results) again this year?

    But speaking of alcohol again – time to go marinate some fish…

  36. it be good to see a grand final like those of 1992 & 1993 (with the same results) again this year?
    bacchus, on May 28th, 2009 at 4:42 pm Said:

    Ahhhhh ! But bacchus……………….from memory Bennett has only ever lost once in a GF.

    So bring it on…………………!

  37. Bennett has never lost a Grand Final to the best of my knowledge.

  38. rant ending in And I’m not going to discuss with you your perceived infallibility of the ABC

    I wasn’t defending the quality of ABC reporting – simply pointing out there was no juxtaposition between the actions of Four Corners (bringing to light the group sex incident) and the Chasers (mocking the players that won’t, for damn good reasons imo, let the world know they were in on the group sex that time). You’re the one that brought that up – not me.

    As for “not discussing” the matter you ranted at length about, that’s pretty lame. You’re the one that stated I perceive the ABC as infallible (I don’t) and you’re the one that asked, in your first post:

    OK ABC sympathizers… how do you justify that rather strange juxtaposition ?

    I thought it was only Rudd that asked questions he didn’t really want an answer to.

  39. Nature 5, on May 28th, 2009 at 5:04 pm Said:

    Without looking it up……..was he not the Canberra Coach in 1987 ?

    They lost against Manly

  40. B.Tolputt, on May 28th, 2009 at 5:05 pm Said:

    Are you kidding………?

    Where’s the humour in mocking unidentified person(s) ?

    You have a mighty strange sense of humour !

    And besides I thought you and Kittylitter had already decided it was not really group sex…………..but actually due to “power shifts” it had become rape.

    And you are continually defending the ABC by refusing to acknowledge that the reporting of that story and their later statement contained lies and at best untruths.

  41. Nature 5, on May 28th, 2009 at 5:04 pm Said:

    Ah………!

    He was “Co coach” in 1987 !

  42. IATW, yes he was to co-coach, but most of the records cite Furner as the boss, and those that don’t usually (always?)mention Furner before Bennett. But given his track record since, I’ll have two-bob on the Dragons IF they can make the finals.

  43. “IF they can make the finals.”

    Yeh…………………..I dont think they are quite up for it just yet !

    More likely a better unit next year

  44. I don’t see why they can’t make it this year. First he gets the defensive pattern right, then he develops the attack which is starting to show promise. As long as he doesn’t get any of the Johns boys in to provide ‘advice’. LOL.

  45. Are you kidding………?

    Where’s the humour in mocking unidentified person(s) ?

    You have a mighty strange sense of humour !

    Once again, you are applying your outrage to the wrong person. I didn’t make the program. I didn’t even watch on the television. I heard what they did from an online news article that included the audio of their taunts.

    Please point out where I said it was funny. My point had nothing to do with the quality of humour – only that there is no juxtaposition between the two ABC programs. Something you claimed, and something you have avoided addressing in your reply. Interesting that….

    And besides I thought you and Kittylitter had already decided it was not really group sex…but actually due to “power shifts” it had become rape.

    There you go again attributing opinions to me which have no basis beyond your imagining of me. I have, time & again, stated I have no opinion on the rape. I have repeatedly claimed there is not enough evidence to prove it either way.

    I think you spend half your time arguing with an imaginary “B.Tolputt” who only faintly resembles the real one.

    And you are continually defending the ABC by refusing to acknowledge that the reporting of that story and their later statement contained lies and at best untruths.

    I have yet to see you provide proof against the program or the later statement. You claim they did not update the Newcastle Knights – but I fail to see an “official statement” from someone in the know. You claim they are liars in the report and the later statement, so it’s your onus to provide proof that they are. The best you’ve come up with so far is how they’ve been sporadically incorrect in other areas before; but fail to show this problem being consistent or (more importantly) where they were incorrect in the report / statement in question.

    For me to take them at their word is standard social behaviour – show me where they are wrong (don’t just claim it – provide links to the official statements showing falsehood). I’m not the one trying to rubbish or uphold their reputation. That’s in your court.

  46. The ABC is a sheltered workshop for failed Comms students who insist on group think. They would not want to be shown up would they?

  47. You poofs need to get over it. Gary Burns is a waste of time serial pest. It’s OK for Mardis Gras to have a dig at anyone they like but make a poof joke and look out you’re in court ! Gee nice one – Burns is really doing gays a favour with his behaviour.

    PS. Homophobe is the most over-used, incorrectly-used word in the English language so don’t bother. Now get back to perving on the footy show hunks !

  48. Last say..this is not a matter of ‘footy’, this is a matter of a television channel using child actors to vilify others.

  49. davo, are you really a moron, or is it just an act?

  50. I grew up with a family like the skit, and all I can say is thank goodness the complaint is being filed. If you label someone faulty for being gay on national broadcast, you should and can expect to be submitted to each and every anti-discrimination law in current action.
    Gary Burns, you are the best representation of where Australia is and should be. Everyone else, move with the times. Your time is coming, or has just passed you.

Comments are closed.

