Monday by the Magazine Rack

magazine20rack

Hello

Good afternoon and welcome to “the rack”. Feel free to select a magazine of your choice.

Firstly, congratulations to all who entered yesterday’s Philosophy Quiz.

While all the entries were, well, interesting, as with all competitions, there can only be one winner, so I think on this occasion the prize goes to Handyrab!!

Congratulations Handyrab (applause), please email your postal address to bologocrats@yahoo.com.au and you will receive the rare and highly sought after distinguished and delectable “The Stars Of Country” prize CD!! (Still unused and sealed in its cellophane wrapper!!).

So anyway, this is our beginning of the working week thread, where we get to talk about anything, so giddyup!

And a reminder that if anyone wants to post a topic for discussion all you have to do is email us ….

Faster pussycat…!!

66 Responses

  1. I cannot believe how as a Nation we have completely lost our sense of humour.

    Hands Up who of you loved the clip of Clare the “Chk…Chk….Boooom” Girl.

    Now she’s being vilified as a rascist and an opportunist. Good on her for being so “politically incorrect”.

    At least we could laugh at this Clare.

    Unlike the Clare appearing on 4 Corners 2 weeks ago.

  2. Can’t say I’ve seen it Walrus..

    Although anyone with a name like Clare is bound to attract some flack.

    And deservedly so…

  3. I didn’t think she was particularly funny, just another nobody getting 15 minutes of notoriety. I wasn’t “upset” by her statements though.
    If that type of superficial commentary offends people they’d do well to block their ears whenever they’re in public as it’s standard fair everywhere you go.

    I hated the youtube clip more for the numbskull dance remix muzak than anything, her presence in the clip was incidental.

  4. I cannot believe how as a Nation we have completely lost our sense of humour.

    But, but, but there’s still “Wil Anderson”

    He’s funny, isn’t he…?

    ISN’T HE..????!!!!

  5. reb … let it go …

  6. Reb…………………………..are you kidding me. Where have you been hiding………?

    http://www.news.com.au/technology/story/0,28348,25519874-5014239,00.html

  7. Has anyone else watched the video of the UFO sighting in RIO ?

  8. Shane,

    have you got a link?

    I saw the headline, but when I went back, couldn’t find the link …

  9. shaneinqld, on May 25th, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Another one! Wow!

    I believe, I believe! (Actually its hard not to…)

  10. ’twas just a light show, advertised a day or so previous.

  11. TB

    How can you not believe in aliens, just look at our politicians.

  12. Thanks James

  13. ’twas just a light show, advertised a day or so previous

    That’s what the CIA is saying now, dey knew doz aliens wuzza comin’

  14. Sorry Walrus, couldn’t say the clip was that funny. Couldn’t help but see it either – was linked to by every damn Aussie blog I read! It wasn’t really offensive in any way (at least, not to me); just not funny either.

    Though, I’d be interested to see how Mr Andrew Bolt spins this one. He was praising her to the heavens last I looked… She’s not so praise-worthy now, regardless of how funny you think she is.

  15. It seems that Kevin Rennie was spot on re his recommednation of the film ‘Samson and Delilah’.

    http://www.theage.com.au/news/entertainment/film/2009/05/25/1243103459083.html

    Aboriginal director Warwick Thornton’s powerful Samson and Delilah, tale of troubled young love in Alice Springs, was today awarded the prize for best first feature at the Cannes Film Festival.

  16. B Tolputt, he was among the first to report is as a fake.

    http://blogs.news.com.au/heraldsun/andrewbolt/index.php/heraldsun/comments/werbeloff_didnt_chk_out/

  17. I watched a video last night – a talk by one of the directors of the SETI Institute (Search for Extra-terrestrial Intelligence).

    In regards to our Milky Way galaxy, if you were to count every star in our galaxy at one a second, it would take you about 12,280 years (give or take a few seconds) to complete the count.

    And our galaxy is just one of approx 100 billion galaxies in the universe.

    As the director quipped – it’s a bloody waste of space if there’s nobody else out there.

  18. it’s a bloody waste of space if there’s nobody else out there.

    A bit like the Liberal party really…

  19. Reb, Joe Hockey is about the size of a small moon.

  20. shaneinqld, on May 25th, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Haaaaa! 😉

    +++++++++++++++
    Brisbane dams (combined) expected to rise to just under 75% in the next couple of days – poor old Toowoomba only 10.8%…

  21. TB, dam levels were much lower under a Howard government.

  22. Miglo,

    Joe Hockey is about the size of a small room.

  23. Migs, that was funny, did Tom write that for you 😉

    Here’s some interesting info I just received:

    2007 – Chinese year of the Chicken – Bird Flu Pandemic devastates parts of Asia

    2008 – Chinese year of the Horse – Equine Influenza decimates Australian racing

    2009 – Chinese year of the Pig – Swine Flu Pandemic kills hundreds of pigs around the globe.

    It gets worse……..

    next year……

    2010 – Chinese year of the Cock 😯

  24. No TB, Tom rarely attempts humour. He’s more at home with drama.

    Reb, Joe Hockey is about the size of a small asteroid, or a large haemorrhoid.

  25. I Am The Walrus, on May 25th, 2009 at 1:39 pm Said:

    I cannot believe how as a Nation we have completely lost our sense of humour.

    Hands Up who of you loved the clip of Clare the “Chk…Chk….Boooom” Girl.

    Wicked! I think we share a similar sense of humour Walrus. I’m still laughing my arse off.

  26. Well, firstly I’d like to thank my parents, my sister and all the other people who have helped me reach these heights.
    The last time I won anything was a whole snapper in a pub raffle in Murrurundi. I love that fish and it has been with me for over 37 years!
    But really, I cannot accept this prize, although humbled, I really believe it should go to one who loves his music and whose musings on the thread deserve some form of accolade.
    Anyway there’s no room for a cd as well as the fish.
    I trust TB will accept the award with all the graciousness of which we know him capable.
    Congratulations TD (cheers).
    And thanks to the academy for the nomination.

  27. Brilliant

  28. And TB, have you seen the latest cure for pig flu?

    Oinkment.

  29. joni, I rang up the swine flu hotline concerned about a friend but all I got at the end of the line was crackling!

  30. Albanese ‘the fat wog’ is completely out of line with this shot. Clare has more credibility than Turnbull.

    CHK-CHK boom sensation Clare Werbeloff’s turn-of-phrase has made its way into federal parliament as a catchword for shameless attention grabbing.

    The 19-year-old’s false account of a Kings Cross shooting in Sydney last week has sparked tens of thousands of YouTube hits and she now has her own publicist.

    The teenager’s bid for media attention inspired Infrastructure Minister Anthony Albanese in question time today in an attack on Opposition Leader Malcolm Turnbull.

    “Last week, Clare Werbeloff shot to international fame after she went to extraordinary lengths to get herself in front of the camera, in front of the camera, to give a grab, to get that few minutes of fame,” he said.

    “But unfortunately when you look for the substance it wasn’t there … just like the leader of the opposition.”

  31. handyrab, on May 25th, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    hr, I’m really flattered with your kind words of praise and your own humility… 😳

    Especially after my limited postings recently…

    BUT I DON”T WANT THE $%^%&^ THING!

    BTW what/who is TD, hr

  32. handyrab – good one ! hehe

  33. The Church of Scientology is set to go on trial in France, accused of organised fraud.

    The case centres on a complaint by a woman who says she was pressured into paying large sums of money after being offered a free personality test.

    Scientology? Fraud? never.

  34. et tu, joni?

    What a bunch of @#$#*!@s, you lot have been trying to fob that friggin’ CD off onto me with false praise for months now – what about a Neil Diamond CD, joni – em, let me think about that…

  35. joni, on May 25th, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I could give her a personality test for free, just by reading the story…

  36. Me give away Neil Diamond CD’s ? NEVER!

  37. Are the pig flu comments viral jokes?

  38. Obushma-Biney in the Home of the Frightened in the Financial Times (London).

    Blistering.

    And IIRC there is no Article VIII nor XXVIIIth Amendment to the US Constitution.

    I’m also told that

    video meliora proboque, deteriora sequor

    translates roughly to “I see the right option, but I take a worse one”.

  39. TD is TB when you don’t don’t look at the screen, or have had too much to drink.
    I’m disappointed a lover of fine music would reject such and offer.

    Joni, they’ve found a new way of identifying swine flu sufferers – they ‘hog’ seats on the plane! MysSTYfying really. (ouch!)

  40. B.Tolputt, on May 26th, 2009 at 8:08 am

    My thoughts, exactly, BT

  41. Oh great – does that mean I’m gonna get pig flu on Singapork Airlines tonight?

  42. Is it my eyes, or is TB now out of alignment with the rest of us??

  43. “Anyone who served in Iraq knows that the foreign fighters did not come to Iraq en masse until after the revelations of torture and abuse at Abu Ghraib and Guantanamo Bay. I heard this from captured foreign fighters day in and day out when I was supervising interrogations in Iraq…

    Torture and abuse became Al Qaida’s number one recruiting tool and cost us American lives.”

    — Matthew Alexander, senior interrogator in Iraq

    I suppose he would know, given his experiences.

  44. Lotharsson 12:26 am,

    Nice find. In his latest Washington Post column, Krauthammer also weighs-in on these issues:

    If hypocrisy is the homage that vice pays to virtue, then the flip-flops on previously denounced anti-terror measures are the homage that Barack Obama pays to George Bush. Within 125 days, Obama has adopted with only minor modifications huge swaths of the entire, allegedly lawless Bush program.

    The latest flip-flop is the restoration of military tribunals. During the 2008 campaign, Obama denounced them repeatedly, calling them an “enormous failure.” Obama suspended them upon his swearing-in. Now they’re back.

  45. I find this article interesting. I’ve noted in the past that an anti-American sentiment is common among the politically correct.

    Often if another nationality or ethnic group was substituted for ‘American” in a generalised critique, it would cause outrage and would certainly be regarded as racist.

    It seems that Sol has a similar view,

    http://business.smh.com.au/business/racist-backward-sols-parting-shot-20090526-bl3p.html

    Though I’d have to agree with the politically correct – Americans are stupid and fat.

  46. Nature, and likewise the treatment of Aussie personnel by the Japanese WW2 was used in a similar fashion. That is, if torture by the Japanese was a successful recruitment tool at that time, then there is no reason to suspect that it would be less successful now. Hence of course on of the reasons for President Obama’s plea that the US needs to regain the moral highground.

  47. Min,

    Hence of course on of the reasons for President Obama’s plea that the US needs to regain the moral highground.

    It might pay to read that article Lotharsson posted above.

    “Look at what Obama does, not what he says.”

  48. While I have no time for Silly Sol and the way he carried on, I did hear the interview on ABC this morning, and I think he told the ‘truth’.

    The newspaper report is not fair and balanced.

    Just saying.

  49. Yes Tony – we will look at what Obama actually does. IMHO you seem to be jumping the gun on things like Gitmo and the military tribunals. Let’s actually wait to see what really happens.

  50. Min

    Here’s a timely reminder of the social impact the crisis is having. It all gets back to what we’ve been discussing: affordability in such basic things as housing.

    http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,25538119-5001021,00.html
    THOUSANDS of NSW families are being housed in hotels, motels, pubs and refuges across the state at a cost of $305,000 a week – what welfare agencies describe as a human crisis not seen since the Great Depression.

    To add to the burden, Sydney’s housing stock has reached tipping point, with the Housing Department forced to send families to $100- a-night hotels.

    The Daily Telegraph has learned that 30,406 people – or 3000 a month – have been put into temporary housing such as motels and hotels since last July, with anecdotal evidence suggesting many were victims of the financial crisis.

    The Australian Housing Crisis 2009
    https://blogocrats.wordpress.com/2009/03/16/the-australian-housing-crisis-2009/

  51. I hope those on here who thought Sol Trujillo was good for Telstra have been reading the headlines over the last few weeks and the mess he has left Telstra in.

    And now this
    http://www.news.com.au/business/story/0,27753,25539475-31037,00.html

    What a slimy back stabbing weasel who sucked $31 million from Telstra and left the company far worse off than when he started, especially in the areas of customer relations and service.

  52. Joni, I am inclined to agree with you. Tony could indeed be correct in that Obama is going to be a huge disappointment, but before I decide this in my own mind, I would like to see what happens next.

  53. John McP..this has been a disaster waiting to happen for at least the last decade. I remember about 10yrs ago that just in the Lismore area of northern NSW that there was a 7 year wait for public housing…heavens knows what the waiting list would be now.

    At least we no longer have JWH stating that there is no problem, but if there is then it is the fault of the individual for not trying hard enough.

  54. Min, on May 26th, 2009 at 9:11 am Said:
    Is it my eyes, or is TB now out of alignment with the rest of us??

    I try, Min, I try…

    BTW – I’m with ToSY – Obama is all p!$$ and wind…

    …actions speak louder than really good rhetoric…with a booming voice…Bobby Kenedy would be a good role model…

  55. Oh how I miss these guys and gals………………….

    Alexander Downer (remember him ?) wrote in the Adelaide Advertiser today……….

    “After about 10 minutes as foreign minister I was a little surprised to learn I was ‘responsible’ for miscreant Australians who got into trouble in foreign countries,” he wrote.”

    Who the Hell (What other Department ?) did he think was going to be responsible for Australians overseas ?

    God how I miss Lord Downer of Baghdad !

  56. The latest weekly Essential Research survey has Labor’s two-party lead narrowing from 62-38 to 59-41.

  57. Must be a mate of, Miglo’s, I reckon

    (well they are both from Canberra and both are very serious about fantasy)

    http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,25540594-29277,00.html

  58. Toiletboss,

    It appears no-one felt the urge to engage you on the Hitler-Nazism / Left-Right question at Pure Poison the other day, unfortunately. (I was looking forward to their replies.)

    Do you think that’s indicative of the general depth of thinking available over there? That is, had AB done a post on the topic, don’t you think they would have been crawling out of the woodwork to pile-on?

  59. You may be correct Tony. Your response was the only one I got; along with Legion etc..

    I was genuinely interested too.

    I do however think that there are some remarkably lucid & objective commenters at PP. It does exist to put the boot into Bolt et al, but I see this as a needed service.

    On the Hitler question. It is Bolt’s limpets that roll out that particular line ad nauseam. I think the man himself is way too smart to paint himself into that particular corner without an escape route. He’s never directly stated it to the best of my knowledge…in which there are large gaps; contrary to what some may think I don’t keep up surveillance on Bolt 24/7.

    In fact, my employer has just summarily removed all internet access at work to News.com so I won’t be reading his work there at all & I won’t be wasting much of my leisure time trying to keep up with Bolt’s latest. I’m fairly sure I’ve got the gist of what he has to offer by now.

    That’s not to say that I won’t comment on what I am aware of though.

  60. That’s not to say that I won’t comment on what I am aware of though.

    You could count on one hand my comments there in the last few months. This place is much more fun.

  61. CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT UPHOLDS GAY MARRIAGE BAN…(PROP 8)

    Never fear boys and girls, I am sure the next lawsuit has already been filed…………..

    http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5grllk_nt63q2NPIotyM9xpL4hwkwD98E23O00

  62. In California, I imagine there will be another proposition next time around, and that – or the following time around – will pass. Time and demographics are on the side of gay marriage. Five other states already have it…and the younger generation, even the evangelicals, see it more as a civil right than an abomination.

    And the court’s decision today means that when it does it will not be challenged through the courts.

    And the fact that the court left intact the existing Californian gay marriages intact will produce some interesting cognitive dissonance amongst the anti-gay-marriage crowd.

    In the meantime I think it would be very interesting were an intersex person wish to marry and challenge the amendment’s language

    Only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California

    on the basis that it prohibits them from marrying at all.

    One wonders if the courts and legislature have sufficiently thought through the definition of “man” and “woman” given that (IIRC) about 1 in 10,000 persons has some gender abnormality (XXY chromosomes, androgen insensitivity disorder, and various others…)

Comments are closed.

