Monday by The Magazine Rack…

magazine20rack

Hello,

Good afternoon and welcome to Monday by the Magazine Rack.

Our beginning of the working week/weekend retrospective thread where we can have a chit chat about anything that takes your fancy..

Vitamin supplements. I take a few every day. In fact I’ve just had one now. Two capsules of fish oil. They really should carry a warning – swallow immediately, because, as I’ve just discovered, if you allow the gelatinous coating to dissolve in your mouth, the taste of fish oil is quite disgusting. Like gagging back the leftover oil from a sardine can but about a hundred times more intense.

Anyway…

As part of my erstwhile responsibility as a ‘patron of the arts’ I am pleased to report that last night I had the privelage to attend the latest adaptation of Kafka’s Metamorphosis.

This was a visually stunning production from Iceland which features the main character (the salesman who morphs into an insect) performing his part while suspended from the ceiling of the stage. The music was by Nick Cave. You can read a review of it here.

Now where did I put that ginko forte…..

78 Responses

  1. Reb, I know of a very good alternative to fish oil. It’s called fish.

    Anyone who eats more than two pieces of fish a week has no need for fish oil.

    Have you tried other suitable alternatives, such as wine?

  2. Miglo,

    Thank you for the alternative suggestions.

    Yes, I’ve “dabbled” with wine. Particularly the red variety. It’s a powerhouse of antioxidants.

    It really ought to be sold as a health tonic.

  3. For any of the Leonard Cohen fans out there, I highly recommend the new concert DVD. It is the same show that was here a couple of months ago. Just fantastic.

    Oooo – maybe there is another top five thread in there… Top Five Concert DVD’s.

  4. Yes, I’ve “dabbled” with wine.

    Reb, take my advice: don’t treat wine as a fad. To be rewarded with its medicinal values you will need to consume it at least twice a week. Forever.

    Sorry to break this news to you.

  5. Joni, here’s an idea: how about the Top Five Politicians. That’ll attract some interesting debate.

  6. Not cheap reb, but this tea might be worth looking at.
    http://www.drred.com.au/?p=spearoletea

    They’ve been trialling it at UQ for a few years – feeding rats a diet high in sugar & fats, then putting them on this tea. Apparently, without changing their diet, the rats’ weight and blood pressure returned to normal within a couple of months. Trials on humans begin shortly.
    http://news.ninemsn.com.au/health/757772/aussie-tea-may-promote-weight-loss

    Might be an alternative to chamomile….

  7. That’s an interestng concept Bacchus.

    Instant red wine. Just add water…

  8. Ducky

    How about a bottom five politicians too!

  9. What about, 5 reasons why Turnbull is bottoming out.

  10. Thanks for the link Bacchus.

    Leonard Cohen concert was sensational. Cohen’s Lyrics are cutting, brutally honest, humourous, often flippant.
    Joni. Have we had a ‘top 5 live concerts seen’ yet? If not, could be worked in ‘concert’ with best music DVD’s.

    Top 5 politicians? On the basis of what?
    OK. Sartorial elegance!
    Paul Keating
    Julie Bishop

    Arrogance:
    Paul Keating, Tony Abbott, Doug Anthony

    Idiocy:
    Please list 1 to 100

  11. Ducky

    How about a bottom five politicians too!

    How about the top five bottoms.

  12. Time for another Miglo pearl of wisdom from my vast reservoir of knowledge.

    R M Williams boots are being talked about on another thread. Did you know that his boot style came from the Adnyamathanha people of Nepabunna in the Flinders Ranges?

    He always credited the good folk from Nepabunna for the design. In Nepabunna he is remembered as a great man.

    Those boots were made for walking.

  13. How about top 5 sportsperson?

  14. Instant red wine. Just add water…

    Not quite reb – tastes like spearmint – give me a bottle of red any day, but this stuff is useful for working hours – for some reason the boss doesn’t take kindly to me drinking red wine at work – I’ve told him it’s for health reasons, but for some reason he won’t buy it 😦

  15. Speaking of the good folk at Nepabunna, breaking news:

    http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,25263049-5006301,00.html#comments

  16. Excellent news Migs and from your link..

    Recognised native title rights recognised include access to hunt, camp, use natural resources, protect heritage sites, conduct ceremonies and protect heritage sites.

    Sadly the usual lot..and about time that real Australian history was taught in schools.

    fail to understand how nomadic people can claim ownership, when they moved from place to place

    (duh..my comment) This one was from a person calling him/herself ‘I am left asking questions..’.

    An excellent choice for ‘I am left asking..’ might be to get off one’s derrier and go and find some answers.

  17. By gee Oftenb Doug Anthony, there’s a name you don’t often hear mentioned. His son Larry beats him hands down..whinged BIG TIME when he lost the traditional family throne to Justine Elliot and then took up a directorship of ABC Learning Center. He was the fifth former minister from the Howard Government to have moved into an area related to his old portfolio. I hope that the others were more successful.

  18. Yes Min, some of the bloggers on that site amaze me with their ignorance and stupidity. But afterall, they are South Australians (with no offence to Jane).

  19. Nothing to do with being South Aussies Migs. I am the proud auntie of 4 South Aussies. It’s a matter of understanding how a nomadic people can be considered residents of the land. But then this gets us back to Terra Nullis and from there to Mabo.

  20. Got some extra exercise this afternoon after the Sydney power blackout making me walk down 11 flights of stairs – not good for my bad back.

    But at least I have power at home.

  21. “Like gagging back the leftover oil from a sardine can” ,
    We usually just eat the sardines, still in these tough times I guess oil from old sardine cans left discarded is better than rendering old discarded R.M boots.
    I’m thinking of adding slow release multi vitamin capsules in my home brew, do they come in malt, hops and dextrose?, even better ,one could take a capsule, a touch of yeast (Safale, of course) and a large amount of water, swallow and wait!. This has potential (Pat.Pend.)

  22. Vast is hardly the word for 12 PCs per country infected by a Trojan; maybe they’re running light on consumer electronics and h4x0rs in the world’s most connected nation. 😉

  23. Min (and others), the blog comments regarding the Native Title win to the Adnyamthanha people drive home, in my opinion, why there should be more respect paid to the traditional owners of our land. School would be a good starting place and we eventually may be able to “breed out” the ignorant in our society who come out with comments such as:

    I fail to understand how nomadic people can claim ownership, when they moved from place to place

    Sorry, but the Adnyamathanha have always lived in the Flinders Ranges. Most of them left because they were removed in the 1920s.

    But the traditional owners – Mungo man – are all extinct thanks to genocide that occurred well before white people arrived.

    Wow, this guy’s a genius. How can someone so intellectually advanced overlook the fact that Lake Mungo is nowhere near the Flinders Ranges? And what is this genocide that occurred before white people arrived? Lake Mungo dried up 15,000 years ago and the locals moved on. Well, that’s what the archaeological evidence tells us. But maybe they were just all murdered by invading Zulus.

    This has just ‘opened the can’ for hundreds of other native title claims. This is not about the Aboriginals, its about celebrating as a nation what is ours, not dividing land amongst the natives and the ‘others’.

    The land that the modern day Adnyamathanha people live on in Nepabunna and Iga Warta had belonged to the Aboriginal Lands Trust (ie the State Government), and before that, the Adnyamathanha people. Now they have their land back. It was never divided up – it was taken away.

  24. Miglo, on March 30th, 2009 at 6:51 pm Said:

    School would be a good starting place and we eventually may be able to “breed out” the ignorant in our society

    ‘Breed out’ a most unfortunate choice of words when it comes within a country mile of aboriginal policy. You may have heard of Robert Manne who points out:

    the Protectors in the Northern Territory and Western Australia, Dr Cecil Cook and A. O. Neville, were enthusiastic converts to this cause, (eugenics) and that both devoted a part of their energies to the creation of a blueprint for the implementation of a policy for the breeding out of mixed descent population under their control.

    Anyway the full essay is here.

    http://tim-richardson.net/joomla15/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=29&Itemid=50

  25. Ns, ‘breed out’ was my attempt at black humour.

  26. Miglo, on March 30th, 2009 at 9:25 pm Said:

    Ns, ‘breed out’ was my attempt at black humour.

    ‘Irony’ is always a problem with blogs is it not?

  27. “Kafka’s Metamorphosis.”

    fck me that’s freaky. I was watching the movie ‘Science of Sleep’ by Michel Gondry today…& during it I thought “I need to change from a bear back to a Griffin and get some flight…I’m feeling too grounded”. And that got me thinking about shapeshifting, chimeras and all sorts of sh*t…including how animals go thru Metamorphosis…which then led me to thinking about Kafka.

    small world eh?

    At the end of it all I decided to remain a bear for a wee bit longer.

    ‘Science of Sleep’ is quite absurd and lots of fun. Got me thinkin’ about my crazy days in Europe…chattin’ w/ medical & theology & language students about Kafka & Hesse…& other such things.

    reb, S’ & I take flaxseed oil…& swallow them ever so quickly
    🙂

    Gonna return to this stand tomorrow. Catch up on all the chit chat.

    N’

  28. Tony, on March 30th, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I was wondering how we got from ‘http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/mar/29/china-computing‘ to ‘vast‘; Chinese whispers, apparently. Me, being me, I always like to compare versions of narratives for what is added or omitted in the re-tellings (presumably to save space for advertising 😉 ).

  29. Tony, on March 30th, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I was wondering how we got from ‘massive‘ to ‘vast‘; Chinese whispers, apparently. Me, being me, I always like to compare versions of narratives for what is added or omitted in the re-tellings (presumably to save space for advertising 😉 ).

  30. “take my advice: don’t treat wine as a fad. To be rewarded with its medicinal values you will need to consume it at least twice a week. Forever.”

    Miglo, I rarely drink wine now primarily due to the terrible headaches I’d get. Even tho I love it.

    Just read this:

    The exact reason for this is not clear but a group of fermentation products known as biogenic amines, which includes histamine, is suggested to be the culprit. Symptoms associated with histamine allergies include flush, sneezing, headache, diarrhea, skin itch and shortness of breath. Dr. Rupasinghe’s study attempted to find an alternative solution for this problem by studying non-traditional wines with high antioxidants but no histamine.

    According to Dr. Rupasinghe, no detailed investigations had previously been conducted to evaluate health-related major components and histamine of fruit wines produced using pome fruits, berries and stone fruits, although there is data available on the concentrations of antioxidants and biogenic amines in grape wines.

    more here:
    http://dailyfruitwine.wordpress.com/2007/09/22/the-virtues-of-fruit-wines/

    Migs, if you feel healthy on regular grape wine I envy you. Not to say I don’t add it to meals now & then. And have the odd glass during celebration times.
    N’

  31. N5, some of the policies of previous governments were put in effect with the sole aim of ‘breeding out’ Aboriginality.

    My black humour was as a suggestion to breed out bigotry, although I didn’t state it in those words. I still maintain that schools would be a good place to start.

    I hope that clears it up for you.

  32. N’, I guess then I should turn to fish oil.

  33. “I guess then I should turn to fish oil.”

    EEK! You know better than that!

    ‘desthpicable’.”

    You’re one dodgy duck!

    😉

    Polyphenolic antioxidants (resveratrol, flavonoids) Tea, coffee, soy, fruit, olive oil, chocolate, cinnamon, oregano and red wine.
    (Wikipedia)

    N’

  34. Nasking,

    I did the flaxseed oil thing for a while too.

    It’s nice poured over a fresh salad..

  35. I see, there is no doubt that swallowing flaxseed oil, fish oil, an assortment of capsules is so much better on the back palate that a decent red.

  36. Reb, in my opinion flaxseed oil is a wonder drug.

  37. Tom,

    It’s drinking too much red that usually is the precursor for having to subsequently turn to fish oil and flaxseed oil.

    Migs,

    You’ll be pleased to know that I had some fresh, thinly sliced raw tuna last night with soy and wasabi.

    I had a light cab sav as an accompaniment.

  38. and then a rather large bailey’s on ice…

  39. reb… me too. Sushi and sashimi for dinner last night with a glass of shiraz.

  40. I’m afraid I can’t drink red with sushi and sashimi. I enjoy too much wasabi, and shiraz does not go with wasabi.

  41. Well it’s nice to know that we’re all getting our essential Omega 3 oils…

    🙂

  42. God damn it reb, you always make me thirsty when you talk about a Bailey’s and ice.

  43. Hi Migs et al. Migs you know how I feel..yes most definitely start in schools as after all this is part of our country’s history. A bit of the problem is that history as previously taught in schools concentrated almost entirely on our (‘our’ being some of us) British ancestry. We rote learnt the Kings and Queens of England, how King Alfred burnt the cakes. And if Australian history was taught at all, we learnt all about the explorers, a bit about the pioneers eg Macarthur and his sheep (actually Mrs Macarthur, but that’s another story). And that was about it. In fact we didn’t even learn about Darwin being bombed until recently.

    As far as our indigenous people were concerned..a mention about how Manly was named and a mention about Bennelong. Most references related to ‘savages’. And that was ‘history’.

    I would be happy; happy under the heading that anything is an improvement if Australian children could name as many Aboriginal tribes as they can name native American tribes. If for example they knew as many Aboriginal words as they know Mexican..tacos and nachos anyone.

  44. Just remembered the mag I used to read years and years ago reb…Omni:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Omni_(magazine)

    Now I rip thru cyber-space.

    “I enjoy too much wasabi”

    Now there’s something we have in common Tom M.

    I much prefer Sake w/ my Japanese food:

    http://www.esake.com/Knowledge/FAQ/faq.html

    N’

  45. “For any of the Leonard Cohen fans out there, I highly recommend the new concert DVD.”joni

    Do you have a name for the DVD joni please?

    If I secretly order that for my dad I reckon my inheritance stocks will skyrocket.
    Crazy loon is still wearing his Cohen T-shirt, the poor man.

  46. Nasking,

    I used to read Omni as a lad too..

    🙂

  47. Oh dear – this is becoming too frequent – I used to read Omni too. And Scientific American.

  48. Ta joni, you’re an absolute champ.

    I’ll remember you in my will…when I write one; something I probably really should do.

    Seriously though, much appreciated, my folks will LOVE it when I surprise them with that.

  49. Check this cover out…includes the fish that got away:

    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3068/2691237608_362afca4dc.jpg?v=0

    And Scientific American.

    Same here joni…and after awhile I realised the library came in real handy.
    N’

  50. “I would be happy; happy under the heading that anything is an improvement if Australian children could name as many Aboriginal tribes as they can name native American tribes. If for example they knew as many Aboriginal words as they know Mexican..tacos and nachos anyone.”

    Mins spot on there. Huron, Iroquois, Mohawk, Apache, Mohican, Inuit…just off the top of my head…but only Pitjantjatjara comes immediately to mind when I think of Aboriginal tribes & descriptions of such.

    I own up to having to check the spelling of Iroquois & Pitjantjatjara on Wikipedia
    🙂

    Shameful really. I’ll have to try & memorise a few tribes from that map I told Miglo about.

    Tho I can’t say my memory of Nth. American Indian tribes is based on all positive representations in films…plenty of movies w/ “bad injuns”…& Tonto-like characters. Sigh.

    N’

  51. Just a fun piece from Maureen Dowd at The Age:

    http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/eyes-have-it-brown-is-the-new-blue-in-the-corridors-of-power-20090330-9h3v.html

    Throughout history, whether it’s images of Jesus that don’t look Middle Eastern or Barbies who don’t look ethnic, blue eyes and white skin have often been painted as the ideal.

    The cerulean-eyed Paul Newman once wryly predicted his epitaph: “Here lies Paul Newman, who died a failure because his eyes turned brown.”

    My crew are all brown-eyed (Italian g/grandfather), mine are dark green.

  52. Nas..then there is Cherokee, Black Foot, Cheyanne and Pawnee and that’s without having to think too much about it.

    For Aboriginal tribes I have Pitjantjatjara and Bundjalung (the locals). And that’s it.

    And agreed native American peoples have been very badly represented. And their current representation in movies is just about zilch..most recent is probably Dances With Wolves (will stand corrected if there is anything more recent).

    However, even when Aboriginals have been portrayed in a reasonable manner eg Jedda, then the tribal male was portrayed as a potential rapist…poor Jedda being lured away from being a house servant in a white household. We certainly do have some positive images of Aboriginals, but our knowledge of their history and culture and language is abysmal.

  53. Min – “If for example they knew as many Aboriginal words as they know Mexican..tacos and nachos anyone.”

    Most Mexicans speak Spanish of course. I think tacos and nachos are relatively recent developments in Mexican cuisine.

    It’s a bit like suggesting that “pie floater” are Australian words.

  54. Tom..I think that you know what I mean. That we Australians know more Tex/Mex/Spanish words than we know Aboriginal words. That is, we know more about other cultures than we know about our own.

  55. “nachos are relatively recent developments in Mexican cuisine. ”

    Here’s an interesting discussion on Nachos:

    http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/517296

    And some so called FAST FACTS from Mahalo. com:

    Nachos:
    Created in 1943
    Inventor: Ignacio “Nacho” Anaya
    October 21: International Day of the Nacho
    Origin: Piedras Negras, Coahuila, Mexico
    Ingredients: tortilla chips and melted cheese
    Popular toppings include onions, salsa and Jalapeño peppers

    YUMMY! I drench them in hot sauce too. Drink w/ Corona in chilled glass or highly effective Sangria from my Dad’s recipe.
    N’

  56. I am doing some good things in my little suburban block..one of these is Lilly Pilly. I have 15 now planted and should have enough berries next year to make Lilly Pilly jam. Very excellent bush tucker.

  57. “Very excellent bush tucker”

    Yes, I luvs the berries from my Lilly Pilly.

    Min., here’s an interesting site on bush tucker, including native fruits and nuts…and antioxidants and such:

    http://www.thespiceguys.net/bush-tukka.htm

    The BUSHFIRE SPICE looks right up my alley.

    N’

  58. Thnx for getting it up joni…& the same goes for the blockquotes elsewhere. Just like magic. Hey presto!

    Speaking of mags & annuals…here’s one of my faves as a very young lad…not suprising I picked a bear gravatar eh?:

    Rupert The Bear pics

    N’

  59. Nas’. My list (native and others now hardly known) is: Feijoas (likewise excellent jam), crab apples, onion weed..plus an endangered species these days seems to be butter beans. And likewise blackberries (except the imported frozen variety) and gooseberries are now scarce.

  60. Sounds great Min. Lots of nutrients there.

    Ya know, I’d forgotten about Tiger Lily in Rupert the Bear. Your mentioning of Lillypilly sparked a memory…

    wouldn’t it be nice to fly?:

    http://farm1.static.flickr.com/130/389126217_3a96e34849.jpg?v=0

    At least we can pretend to in cyber-space & in dreams. And on those fuel munching metal beasts in the sky.

    Funny how the mind drifts back to childhood sometimes. Certain words, smells, colours etc. set it off…
    N’

  61. Nas..would you believe that my mum still has my teddy. He is a little lighter in color than yourself, has disjointed limbs but is very handsome notheless. A cousin or other rellie? His name is Ted.

  62. “would you believe that my mum still has my teddy”

    Cool Min.

    I bought M’lady a bear & its babe a decade ago and she still has it next to her bed. Littlun sittin’ on biggun’s lap. And we have a bag full of books, stuffed dolls/animals & other assortments for the kiddies that never came. We’ve given some to relies…& elsewhere…but some we just can’t part with.

    “NO!!!!!! This is my home….”

    Sorry to hear that joni. Let us know how it pans out.
    N’

  63. Joni, maybe you can just go for a flutter at the Casino until the gas passes (so to speak).

  64. Joni..was thinking about you and was thinking about it being about your neighborhood.

    My Ted is circa ’52 and so perhaps an older cousin?

    Anyone want a really gross mega calorie original. I make my own because most recipes aren’t quite right…just variations on a theme.

    Anyway..

    Chicken breast fillets – slice through and insert mozarella slices. Toss in flour.

    Pan fry in olive oil until crispy. Top with slices of avocado and place in oven to keep warm.

    Sauce: oil and a little garlic in a pan. Add sliced mushrooms, cook until soft. Add 1/2 cup white wine, a little seeded mustard. Add cream. Simmer.

    Serve with rosemary spuds and steamed baby squash and other veg of choice.

  65. “And agreed native American peoples have been very badly represented. And their current representation in movies is just about zilch..most recent is probably Dances With Wolves (will stand corrected if there is anything more recent).”

    Smoke Signals (1998…director Chris Eyre is of Cheyenne-Arapaho Native American descent)

    Atanarjuat: The Fast Runner (2001)

    The New World (2005…tho some critics say representation of native American life was too utopic)

    Black Robe (1991)

    Powwow Highway (1989…granted, a year before Dances w/ Wolves)

    But positive representations do seem to be a rarity Min.

    N’

  66. If I light a match at home would that make me a Flaming Queen?

    BTW reb – did you like the Little Johnny joke?

  67. Could well indeed do joni. However, if reb and migs have been eating wasabi (aka horseradish) then they could be out the back door a lot quicker than you.

  68. Whoops, it may not have been migs who has been eating horseradish (aka wasabi).

  69. “If I light a match at home would that make me a Flaming Queen?”

    Thunderballs
    N’

  70. joni lit a match in pyrmont and then he went “POOF!”

  71. Yes joni, the Little Johnny joke was priceless!

  72. “My Ted is circa ‘52”

    My Min., what a young teddy bear.

    Min., here’s the one I picked up my wife. It’s not as appealing during feeding times:


    8)
    N’

  73. Nas..re feeding times. Reminds me of my youngest.

    My bloke is as per below (close representation), a little blonder than yourself, but still I think that there is a family resemblance…common ancestor me thinks.

  74. “common ancestor me thinks.”

    Indeed…the skull shape is similar to that of my earliest ancestors, Ursus arctos toughus fabricus..a skull uncovered recently in an unspecified Essex dump:

    N’

  75. Nas..that skull doesn’t look very toughus in fact it looks very squishy and fluffius. However Ursus would never have survived without being toughus and cuteus.

Comments are closed.

