Bloghomie Spells The End of Blogs

(or Bring back the biff) writes Tony of South Yarra…

Part of the appeal of visiting blogs, particularly political ones that lean in a certain ideological direction, is the opportunity to crush another’s precious values and ideals under the weight of your own powerful arguments, proving your righteousness in the process.

Political discourse is by nature combative, and political blogs are the outlet to which many e-savvy citizens turn in order to robustly argue the issues of the day, leaving weaker opponents languishing in the trail of their debating brilliance.

As tense and adversarial as blog-debating may be, it can at the same time be a surprisingly pleasant experience – even dangerously so, if you’re not careful.

Occasionally, you will come across that most lethal of all blog residents: the nice-guy or -gal. This is someone who, if you drop your guard for just a moment, will unfailingly seek to impress you.

A deceptively respectful opponent, who sneakily refuses to resort to personal attacks, and frustratingly insists on articulating arguments in a logical and coherent manner, this is an opponent to be feared.

They are everything you wish your online identity pretended to be, but isn’t: smart, sensible, logical, funny, and disarmingly friendly.

It will take all of your wit and guile to resist being drawn in by them. In fact, in another place, at another time, you might even have been convinced they were your friend.

Regular online contact with this individual is perilous, because it continually reinforces the false feeling of friendship, until the friendship seems almost real. It is at this point when you are likely to exhibit behavioural changes.

You see, it is not natural to want to hurt your friends – even those of the imaginary online variety – and, contrary to your previous pattern, you won’t.

There have been countless documented instances already where once-fierce no-holds-barred online competitors have refrained from challenging – on even the most trivial point of contention – merely to avoid conflict with some new-found cyber-buddy.

A newly discovered phenomenon, thought to be a rare strain of Stockholm Syndrome known as Bloghomie, and described as ‘an unnatural geniality between blog antagonists, often at the expense of intellectual honesty and flame wars,’ could be responsible.

Already diagnosed at a multitude of sites across the internet, Bloghomie is being blamed for the silencing of dissent on many blogs.

Many lively websites – some once fondly referred to as bloodhouses – are sadly little more than chat-rooms now – places to exchange knitting patterns and film reviews. Nice to stop by and visit, to be sure, but completely devoid of the nastiness that was once their reason to exist.

It’s time to take a stand, citizens of cyber-space. Al Gore didn’t invent the internet so all this friendliness and pleasant behaviour could bring it crashing down around him. This has got to stop.

Bring back the biff, people, or prepare to watch as our once-mighty conflict-fuelled weblogs are fatally starved of oppositional oxygen and life-giving food-fights, all in the name of net-neutralising niceness.

Save our blogs. Let’s get ugly again.

ToSY

170 Responses

  1. Al Gore invented the Internet?

    What a load of bollocks. You’re talking thru a hole in your @rse Tony.

    Get real mate! What are ya!!??

  2. F*#k you mate. If Al said he invented it, then I believe him. Like that other thing he keeps banging on about. So up yours.

  3. Piss off Tony you wanker! (wink)

  4. Up your nose with a rubber hose John.

  5. Eat my shorts Tony

  6. Hmmm. I see your point Tony.

    Does this mean I’m supposed to rubbish your (febrile) conservative arguments? even when they make some good sense?
    I’d put “just joking” about here but it wouldn’t be in the spirit of this thread.

    I dunno, nastiness is great entertainment & it doesn’t upset me personally but I’m fairly sure that others have differing thresholds for such things.

    I don’t think you’re calling for a lack of respect. Perhaps just for people to be true to themselves & say what they REALLY think. Fine by me.
    Presumably we’re all adults here.

  7. Yeh, what Reb said

    You’re talking thru a hole in your @rse Tony.

  8. Oh OK. Judging by preceding comments I have been waaay too polite.

    How about you all go & f@#k yourselves you horde of Eastern State pillocks.

    That means you too Tasmanian.

  9. If Al couldn’t become President, what makes you think he invent the fricken interwoventubes!

    Only a complete gormless moron would believe such a load of sheer unadultareated shite!!

  10. Are you a pom Reb?

  11. “I dunno, nastiness is great entertainment & it doesn’t upset me personally but I’m fairly sure that others have differing thresholds for such things.”

    Oh get f**ked.

  12. A a a a narchy!

    Bewdy. Bout’ time we brought back the ‘biff’.

    YCAGAGS

    ‘Why are people so unkind’

  13. A pom? A POM!!!!

    How dare ye call a scotsman a pom, ya b@stard ye!

  14. Hit im wid ya sporran Reb!

  15. ‘A a a a narchy’ – J. Rotten

    Bout time we brought back the ‘biff’.

    Moderator: ‘Why are people so unkind’?

  16. “gormless, shite and bollocks ” takes me back to the old country. Where a shite was a shite and nobody gave you bollocks over the looking gormless.

  17. lol, frivolous entertainment.

  18. “How dare ye call a scotsman a pom, ya b@stard ye!”

    A token Irishman do you mean?

  19. That’s awe we need …

    f**kin Khamal turnin’ up tae moderate ra situation ‘n that…

  20. Sounds like Group Hug time 😉

  21. Khamal does a fine rendition of Teh Lord’s Prayer.

  22. F**k the Lord’s Prayer..

    How about a wee chant:

    Oh ye cannae shove yer grannie aff the bus,
    Oh ye cannae shove yer grannie aff the bus,
    Ye cannae shove yer grannie
    For she’s yer mammie’s mammie,
    Ye canna shove yer grannie aff the bus.

    Ye can shove yer ither Granny aff a bus.
    Ye can shove yer ither Granny aff a bus.
    Ye can shove yer ither Granny
    ‘Cos she’s yer Faither’s Mammy
    Ye can shove yer ither Granny aff a bus.

    Ye can shove yer Uncle Wullie aff a bus.
    Ye can shove yer Uncle Wullie affa bus.
    Uncle Wullie’s like yer Faither
    A harum-scarum blether,
    Ye can shove yer Uncle Wullie aff a bus.

    Ye can shove yer Auntie Maggie aff a bus.
    Ye can shove Auntie Maggie aff a bus.
    Auntie Meg’s yer Faither’s sister,
    She’s naethin’ but a twister,
    Ye can shove yer Auntie Maggie aff a bus.

    But ye canna shove yer Granny aff a bus.
    O ye canna shove yer Granny aff a bus.
    O ye canna shove yer Granny,
    ‘Cos she’s yer Mammy’s Mammy,
    O ye canna shove yer Granny aff a bus.

  23. whats wrong with my knitting patterns, Tony you suck.

    That was fun, why has it taken this long, this activity has been neglected. Must go google a list of swear words to use at my discretion.

    Good humour Tony, cheers.

  24. “Uncle Wullie’s like yer Faither”

    In those parts of Scotland, north of Glasgow, Uncle Wullie is probably also yer Faither.

  25. That’s a bit above the belt for you Tony, isn’t it?

  26. YOUSE ARE ALL A BUNCHA SUCKY WINDBAGS AND YOURE ALL WRONG ABOUT EVERYTHING CAUSE YA DONT KNOW NOTHING ABOUT NOTHING AND I’M RIGHT ABOUT EVERYTHING ALL THE TIME ALWAYS SO THERE!! EAT MY TWINKIE CRUMBS, SUCKERS!!

  27. It’s all KRUDDS! fault

  28. Actually, Tony has a point – ever since the ill fated Israel Palestine debate finished in a sea of resignations and name calling, debate here has been a bit tame – possibly for fear of treading on peoples toes. I’m not suggesting brinking back the Israel palestine threads (deity forbid) or allowing personal insults (never necessary) but we are grown-up enough (I think) to disagree with people and the debating is as much of what led me to Blogocracy and now here in the first place (and is one of the reasons I post a bit more over at LP now). The only antagonism we get these days is Tom of Melbourne self abusing himself for having silly ideas.

    BTW Tony – I’d never considered that people would resort to not arguing on an online thread because they feared offending someone whom they had built a friendship with. It’s a good observation – not sure if I have succumbed to that but I do know that I’m more careful when framing strong disagreements to those regulars here who I feel make the community what it is.

  29. Does this mean that we no longer have to self-censor in case little scapette is allowed to view the blog? (something I always disagreed with but went along with because it seemed to be expected of us).

    But, mindless ranting isn’t what we aspire to is it? If we wanted that we could just talk to our families 🙂

  30. Why can’t we all just get along?

  31. “Does this mean that we no longer have to self-censor in case little scapette is allowed to view the blog?”

    Funny you should mention that. I would suggest that the answer is that we no longer have to self-censor given that Scape Senior’s recent outbursts have been completely over the top, and some in fact have had to moderated by Khamal.

  32. To my knowledge scaper never expected censorship of the blog due to his daughter. And I speak as one of the ‘victims’.

  33. I think he did, or at least others expected it on behalf of scapette.

  34. And I speak as one of the ‘victims’.

    Victim of what?

  35. Id suggest that scaper and scapette have more or less left the building…

    so who gives a rat’s…

  36. Well I, for one am glad about this outbreak of gratuitous insults and hostility.

    For a miniute there Tom of Melbournc was coming perilous close to turning me into a Liberal.

  37. reb – “Id suggest that scaper and scapette have more or less left the building…
    so who gives a rat’s…”

    Well I for one do.

    There is no one else here that give a rats about botox, or indeed other surgical enhancements, extensions and enlargements that any self respecting man (or his self respecting wife) yearn for.

    There is no longer interest in building a modern, eco friendly metropolis/transport hub in the middle of the intolerably hot, dusty, fly blown centre of our vast brown land, ie in the middle of nowhere.

    I think this site is big enough for any fool, we’re obviously not choosey about the fools we exchange opinions with.

  38. Ross

    Come on, sing-a-long

  39. LOL TOM!!

    Scaper did make a big fuss about his wife’s new tits and his own botox…

    I am glad that we don’t attract the shallow pretentious types around here…

  40. Ross

    What about this classic

  41. Tom of Melbournc”

    I know that I have sworn off pedantry, but both the subject matter of the thread and the nonsense usually spruiked by this culprit seem to render my commitment “non core” for the time being.

    WHAT A TOOL!!

  42. All feeling better now are we?

  43. TB – “All feeling better now are we?”

    Not until I’ve had my say about the McWilliams Inheritance range AND single vented, double breasted, polyester suits form Lowes, (which are probably matched with polyester tie and pocket kerchief).

  44. Tom,

    The good thing about those suits, which you fail to appreciate, is that you can actually get dressed BEFORE you take your shower, that way saving on expensive laundry bills while also taking care of one’s daily hygiene requirements..

    Then simply drip dry while you walk to work..

    Why hadn’t someone thought of this before….?

  45. “which are probably matched with polyester tie and pocket kerchief”.

    AAAAAAARGH !! – the Alan Jones look….!!

  46. TB Queensland, on March 16th, 2009 at 4:23 pm Said:
    All feeling better now are we?

    No I’m not! I am Min-rampant. Son has gone missing at sea, hasn’t written to his Missus and the baby is teething. Eldest hasn’t written nor phoned and youngest is off somewhere doing Morris dancing. Either that or she is stuck in the lab at UQ. But who knows because nobody talks to me anyway!!

  47. We talk to you min.

    I know my emails have been slack lately – but after a day dealing with ID 10 T’s I sometimes need a break from email.

  48. John, that music sucks gnarly teenage cooties. Stop it.

  49. Oh no joni..I didn’t mean you. I just meant my crew. But you and C’ being big bros’ any effort to whip them into shape would be appreciated.

    Huge storm about to happen here on the far north coast NSW. It’s as dark as midnight.

  50. It’s as dark as midnight.

    Same in Melbourne, Min.

    Or, as Rex Hunt would say, “It’s as black as a dog’s guts.”

  51. Hi Tony..without being too bloghomie-ish, pleased that you’ve had some rain recently. My mum is in Hawthorn and rellies scattered around the countryside.

  52. Hey Reb, you smartarse, here’s where Al Gore said he invented (OK, created) the internet:

    But it will emerge from my dialogue with the American people. I’ve traveled to every part of this country during the last six years. During my service in the United States Congress, I took the initiative in creating the Internet.

    I believe him. After all, he used to be the next president of the United States (so he keeps saying, ad bloody nauseum).

  53. Reb – “Why hadn’t someone thought of this before….?”

    Reb, the fact is that people that wear double breasted, single vent polyester suits with polyester tie and matching kerchief aren’t smart enough to think of this.

    This material is water repellant, and therefore provides the same ventilation as one of those old fashioned home saunas (the ones with the head poking out in the ads), is not considered by them.

    No, polyester is cheap, it always looks good, and it is shiny. No dry cleaning required, just hose it off.

  54. Tom, Tom, don’t be ignorant. The suit is put into the washing machine on “Gentle” and then vigorously dried in the dryer…hung our in the Queensland UV gives a natural metallic sheen found in no other state…

    …I’ve never undrestood why the high UV, humidity and ozone suddenly stops at the Queensland border, according to most manufacturers of vulnerable goods…fascinating…

    …oh! Sorry ToSY…

    Don’t be a dickwit, Tom, and quit trying to be a f***ng smartarse at my expense, again! Always play the f***ng man never the game, you twisted lump of dog s#!t

    Just getting into the theme of the thread, how’d I do, do! Hehe…

  55. The lurker was not kidding when he emailed me saying that you guys were having a bitch session about me and my DAUGHTER!!!

    If the intent was to hurt me you have succeeded…I’ll get over it in time.

    This blogging thing is addictive but I’m weaning myself off it through burning bridges…this one is charcoal.

    I know that some (most) of you think that what I’m trying to achieve is all shit…time will prove you right or wrong but at least I’m having a go at effecting change and it is the only show in town that I know of so keep wishing for failure!

    For your information a lot of progress has been made thus far but there is many years of tears ahead before I see failure or success.

    To certain people here that know who they are…you were offered the option a few weekends ago…if you can’t stand up for what you believe in then take it!

    I will not comment again here as you’ve made your feelings quite clear…I wish you all the best for the future.

    Lamaste’

  56. Re: scaper

    scaper, you are over the top…

    The rest of you, I suggest you read some of JMc’s “bully” threads…

    As for self-censorship – that’s probably come from me -I encourage my older grandchildren to read this blog for differing points of view and while they are not adults they are also not stupid…far from it…

    …if you have children then you will understand the importance of role modelling…and my concern…

    …if you don’t (have either), then I ask for your understanding and that you demonstrate respect for a forum (ie the internet in general) that is already under fire from politicians…

    …and if you want to turn Blogocrats into a no holds barred blog then go for it – as some of you know I’m quite capable of mixing it…personally I like the present format…with its self censorship…

    …but I am a strong advocate of democracy, free speeech and will defend to the end anyone’s right to an opinion…even if it deviates from my own…

  57. For those who are interested in the share market and prepared to take a calculated risk with excellent returns, I suggest that you buy LOWES.

    If the Nats get up, and that’s now a distinct possibility, then LOWES will probably be appointed “Outfitters of Cabinet”. Not exactly a Royal Warrant of Appointment but will have similar effects.

    Wearing a LOWES’ designed polyester Safari Suit with ‘bell-bottoms’ will again be de rigeur. for all concerned including males and females whether they are resident in the rural or metropolitan areas.

    Think also about GUNS – no not the Pulp Mill. Companies that make ammo, rifles and the like.

    But on a more serious note. I don’t think scaper was well treated at this site. Certainly he was ‘indulged’ but his treatment could have been better handled.

    The introduction of his wife and her alleged drinking problems was to me a gross invasion of her privacy. I know the owners did offer to remove the references if requested but as I understand it no request came.

    Now that he has ‘lamasted’ out of here, you might consider looking again at certain posts which do him no credit, affect his wife’s privacy, add little to the historical record and might have a negative effect on his daughter.

    I’m not really into censorship but some people really need to be protected from themselves. Just sayin …

  58. TB & Nature,
    Thank you for those two posts, TB you have now earnt the policeman of the blog title in my eyes for recognizing and saying it how it is. I wasnt strong enough to say it for a fear of backlash and not taken seriously.

    Nature5 that was very good of you to say also, Scaper made his bed in this room and it was his choice. I hope you understand when i say that comment made me see a different side to your arguements on that issue. i have thought bad of you for that and i want to say sorry if i misunderstood where you were coming from previously.

    This room worked out much better then intended, Tony you were onto something here regardless of the topic.

  59. It was me who brought up the topic of self censorship as a reply to the title and content of this thread.

    I think blogocrats is mainly a civil blog, as it should be and isn’t that censorship enough?. I don’t go about swearing too much (although I have from time to time) and I like to think I argue the point and not the person (which is where scaper is wrong in thinking it was a go at his daughter and himself). The issue is self censorship for children, not scaper’s daughter or TB’s grandkids or any other kids.

    I have always had a problem with the lot of of us being asked to self censor for children and to always keep in mind that children are reading, when I feel that it is not me who should be censoring but the parents themselves.

    Children don’t have to do everything that adults do.

    I should be able to have a normal adult conversation, with other adults, on an adult blog, without feeling the need to worry about kids. Personally, I think there’s more danger of harming a kid’s psyche on the nasty bolt, blair and akerman sites where people congregate to hate.

    Guess it’s the same argument that you hear when single or older people and even people who pay to have their own kids babysat, go out to dinner or the movies and don’t like to be annoyed by the uncontrolled offspring of other patrons.

    This is just my opinion and I’m sure others will differ.

  60. Anyway, isn’t it time the rugrats were in bed? 🙂

  61. N5 – “I don’t think scaper was well treated at this site. Certainly he was ‘indulged’ but his treatment could have been better handled.”

    I don’t think it is up to a site to treat people well or badly. People make stupid or sensible comments, and have to put up with the response.

    I don’t mind having a go at those making stupid comments, and I suppose I have to put up with the quid pro quo. Though the weight of numbers here can be a little daunting on occasions.

    I must say that I couldn’t quite follow the actual offense scaper committed – he’d made plenty of stupid comments in the past without the opprobrium of those here.

    There have been other instances where I’ve similarly had trouble following the nature of any offense some contributors caused, but they’ve allowed themselves to be hounded out anyway.

    I think scaper may have been hounded out for the wrong reasons, but no one said participating in this blog was fair.

    Scaper left and that was his decision, he could stick round and annoy everyone if he wished, that’s what I do.

  62. Tom of Melbourne, on March 16th, 2009 at 8:45 pm Said:

    People make stupid or sensible comments, and have to put up with the response.

    True! But usually there is a mix – some sensible – others not. What happens when there is a complete lack of balance? When there is no obvious rationality? Tom, have you no pity? No milk of human kindness?

    As for:

    where I’ve similarly had trouble following the nature of any offense some contributors caused, but they’ve allowed themselves to be hounded out anyway.

    Indeed! Where is the Walrus? It’s a lot like those who deserted the ALP because, because … whatever. As you say, ‘It’s better to stay and fight’! Pity the DLP didn’t do that. LOL.

  63. N5 – “Pity the DLP didn’t do that.”

    I’ll say, then each branch would be like NSW, all with their own Graham Richardson of Steve Hutchins to control the numbers and determine policy.

    Maybe some good came out of the split after all… can you imagine, Vince Gair premier for 25 years? A shocking thought!

  64. Tom of Melbourne, on March 16th, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Quick on your feet! No it’s nothing to do with feet is it? LOL.

    But it raises the question of when to cut and run or stay and fight. Not that there is ever a golden rule because each situation is different. History never repeats itself regardless of the adage.

    As for Vincent Clare Gair, his lack of a union background made him vulnerable at a time when union connections were crucial. Not at all like the present.

    It’s amazing how things change. Or haven’t you noticed? I can reveal that Rudd has. But don’t tell anyone. LOL.

  65. No, of course there are no contemporary parallels with Vince Gair. Nothing to be learned here.

    Didn’t he make a commitment to deliver some benefits to the unions? Then didn’t deliver to unions expectations due to the economic conditions. He only gave them more long service leave, when they wanted more of that and more annual leave.

    Then the unions hounded him out after causing him to loose government from what had been an almost impregnable position.

    He may have had a father that was activist in the ALP, but as you point out, he had no union support, so he was stuffed.

    How times have changed. Not.

  66. Tom for any further extentions or enlargments consider airoplain jelly for that modern wobble. We are ahead of the times in Queensland. forget cooking oil, it sags in the heat.

  67. Tom of Melbourne, on March 16th, 2009 at 10:23 pm Said:

    How times have changed. Not.

    Tom you may recall that Gair’s nemesis was a certain Joe Bukowski who led the AWU at the time. Without going into the gory details of a longstanding animosity between the two, the point is that the AWU was powerful enough to defeat Gair when the crunch came.

    These days the leader of the AWU faction is one Bill Ludwig who fought Rudd’s rise at every turn. He ‘crunched’ but Rudd not only survived but prospered. Simply his power base is not and has never been the unions. He is not beholden.

    Times have changed! The world has moved on. Not much point in tilting at historical windmills. Lol.

    Even at the local level, both Bligh and Beattie, while paying lipservice to Ludwig, are not from the AWU faction.

  68. Aqua, without your avatar you look like Tom of Melbourne.

    How does it feel?

  69. The lengths some people will go to. I have a critic of my film reviews who likes to savage me on another site. It’s motivated by ideology but he even questions my grammar. Hope he never finds this blog. The worst feedback is silence of course. Which makes my post on The Combination a real bummer. You’re all philistines.

  70. Seriously N5, because it’s late and not too many are reading I’ll admit that I think Rudd is doing a good job as PM.

    I’m no fan of Julia Gillard though, she comes for that awful Victorian left, probably part of the tomato left. No other branch has anything quite like it, they’re a particularly difficult lot.

    In the past I’ve found the different cultures operating in the different state branches of the ALP interesting. NSW is a machine, dominated by powerful figures of the right. They didn’t split, and it shows.

    Just back to the topic of the thread for a moment, I also couldn’t figure out the attack on the Walrus. He was a stalwart of the site.

    The Mayor though… he wasn’t hounded out because he was a fool… I just couldn’t figure it out. I just enjoy posting the same invective in his absence as I did during his presence.

    It’s entirely transparent.

  71. I dont feel anything yet, it might hit me tomorrow in a big way, what happen to my camel head?

  72. Renniek – “The worst feedback is silence of course. Which makes my post on The Combination a real bummer. “

    I think you mean –

    The worst feedback is silence of course, which makes my post on The Combination a real bummer.

    Careful of the comma & full stop use, there are some pedants here.

  73. Aqua, you probably have to go back into WordPress and log in again. That should see the return of the camel head, I think.

  74. You’re all philistines.

    Maybe so Kevin, but judging by the number of comments about film(s) on this blog, I don’t think so.

    The lack of comments on your The Combination thread actually shows a good correlation to the number of people watching the film – you and just two others at your screening, I think you said.

    As for your other reviews, who can say?

  75. “Personally, I think there’s more danger of harming a kid’s psyche on the nasty bolt, blair and akerman sites where people congregate to hate.”

    Spot on kittylitter. Let it flow. I find this a fairly civil site too…the odd tangle is OK, when principles are involved. I’m not concerned about the swearing on an adult site. It’s not as tho we’re chatting at Disney now is it?

    “As for your other reviews, who can say?”

    Tony, I find renniek’s reviews informative.
    I thought the ‘Combination’ was promoted badly via the scenes I saw on various news & review shows. Looked like just another gang violence film. For some reason I kept thinking of ‘The Warriors’ & ‘Colors’.

    It’s amazing how younguns & immature characters will select the worst scenes & vilest characters to remember & act out, no matter how hard the writers/directors try to promote it as a peace-loving, morally progressive or redemption film. Think ‘Wall Street’…Gordon Gecko.
    N’

  76. Mr Speaker, Mr Speaker, I seek leave to suspend standing orders and introduce the Ban on Political Blogging (Socialists Only) Act of 2009.

    Consider yerselves warned, cyber bludgers. Now get back to work, immediately, all of yers.

    By order of His Ugliness in Council.

  77. Just back to the topic of the thread for a moment, I also couldn’t figure out the attack on the Walrus. He was a stalwart of the site.

    I always thought there was misguided loyalty at play there and to be honest I thought that IATW was treated badly as well and was owed an apology.

    The worst feedback is silence of course. Which makes my post on The Combination a real bummer. You’re all philistines…

    hehe, well i was making a point of posting on your film reviews, then you changed the whole thing/format and all my thoughtful critiques got lost in cyberspace – it was then I said to myself, bloody krennie can ping off! 😉

    I haven’t seen the combination kevin so haven’t commented, but I do like your reviews. Am liking the ads for Duplicity at the minute, Julia Roberts and Clive Owen surely have to be a good combination too.

  78. kittylitter, I was only thinkin’ of Julia Roberts the other day…when I put the Silkwood trailer up.

    Erin Brockovich trailer

    Australia needs a film about our Erin Brokovich’s on the trail of the toxin creators.

    Didn’t Julia Gillard work for the law firm Slater & Gordon in the area of industrial law?

    N’

  79. Julia Gillard, N’?

    Not on her performances of late, I thought she was going great at first, but have been disappointed in the ‘middle road’ she’s been taking lately.

    I’m sure there’s plenty of environmental espionage and vandalism stories to make films about though, stuff that’s been quietly hushed up through the courts and hasn’t even seen the light of day.

    -Gunn’s vs anyone and everyone.

    -The CAAT Pine Gap protesters – four christians with the courage of their convictions.

    -Scott Parkin – targeted by the govt and deported for assisting protesters.

  80. I’m having a bit of a morbid fascination with this trial (started yesterday).

    Josef Fritzl trial: accused admits imprisoning daughter in cellar for 24 years

  81. kittylitter, on March 16th, 2009 at 8:25 pm Said:
    Anyway, isn’t it time the rugrats were in bed?

    Just a small point KL…but this site is available 24/7…

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    …as for swearing, I spent the first 16 years of my careerin automotive workshops, two years in the army, and about a decade in the mining industry…my family rarely swears at home…and usually in joke…nuff said?

    As my dear old mum used to say, “… bad language demonstrates a limited vocubulary…” and on occasions mine gets very limited compared to some here far more intellectual than I…still who gives flying f***k these days…

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    I never understood what happened with IATW (Walrus) either…if he still reads – I’m sure he’d be welcomed back…unless someone can explain his “offence” – I vaguely remember a “sexist” comment somewhere?

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Penny Wong annoys the crap out of me – waffles with no substance – arrogance beyond belief…

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Good, glad I got all that off my chest, now for a nice cuppa and a read through the other threads…

  82. I could change the rating on the blog to be PG13 and above?

  83. I never understood what happened with IATW (Walrus) either…if he still reads – I’m sure he’d be welcomed back…unless someone can explain his “offence” – I vaguely remember a “sexist” comment somewhere?~TB

    IIRC, it was a >a href=”http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Are_You_Being_Served%3F_characters#Mrs._Betty_Slocombe”>Slocombesque comment about someones ‘pussy’ (you won’t be able to look it up though TB – that thread was disappeared down the memory hole).

  84. TB:

    “Penny Wong annoys the crap out of me – waffles with no substance – arrogance beyond belief…”

    I think she’s just a bit boring TB.

    The K.D. Lang of Australian Politics.

  85. Joni:

    “I could change the rating on the blog to be PG13 and above?”

    Good idea. Perhaps also with a “general admission” warning – “Abandon all hope, ye who enter here”.

  86. And a by-line of “AT LOWES!”

  87. scaper…, on March 16th, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Now, I might be mistaken, but am I detecting a sense of bitterness…?

  88. Tony, I never got to see the series in Canada so have been catching up on PayTV…lotta puns & fun:

    Mrs. Slocombe’s Pussy -Are You Being Served

    N’

  89. nasking, on March 17th, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Bllody hell, N’, what else haven’t you seen…Monty Python, Dad’s Army, Dalzeil and Pascoe, Wire in the Blood, Taggart – the mind boggles…!

    You’ll never catch up! …and I always thought Canadians were switched on…another blow to my view of the world…

  90. lotta puns & fun

    Agree Nas, but it was a double entendre of that kind that saw a sabre toothed friend of ours exiled from here.

    (Maybe some were missing their sense of humour that day, although, as has been said repeatedly, humour, sarcasm and other forms of nuance are much harder to discern from the written word.)

  91. …as for swearing, I spent the first 16 years of my careerin automotive workshops, two years in the army, and about a decade in the mining industry…my family rarely swears at home…and usually in joke…nuff said?

    I understand TB, same for my family (the swearing, not the work history) but the blog doesn’t only cater to you or me. I don’t feel that I should ask others to regulate their thoughts to the level of a child because some parents allow kids to view an adult blog.

    As N’ says, it’s not as if we’re chatting at Disney! We are all adults, not children.

    I don’t know if it’s just me, but I feel that these days some parents believe that their kids should be doing every little thing that the parents do, there are few limits placed on the children and they expect the world to revolve around their kids too.

    I just say that kids don’t need to be doing everything that adults do and when other people’s kids start paying for the internet like I do, maybe they can have more of a say, until then parents should control their viewing not my speech! 🙂

    re the ‘pussy’ stuff, I remember now – sometimes it has been a bit of a ‘boys club’ mentality here, but IATW raised some issues that should have been further examined.
    Of course we can’t go back and do an autopsy because the whole damn thing got censored (deleted).

  92. Just for the record, it was not censored for the original comment – more the subsequent abuse that occured.

  93. Agree Nas, but it was a double entendre of that kind that saw a sabre toothed friend of ours exiled from here.

    self-exiled if I recall.

  94. self-exiled if I recall

    Of course you are correct, KL.

    http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/tag/giant-saber-toothed-arctic-walrus/

  95. Kittylitter – “self-exiled if I recall.”

    Hounded out in a most unreasonable, irrational, personal manner, if I recall.

  96. Looks to be a good show there tony, I’ve bookmarked it to have a look at.

  97. Hounded out in a most unreasonable, irrational, personal manner, if I recall.

    I guess everyone will have their own viewpoint, I’ve got one that I can’t even put down here without the place being in an uproar, so will censor myself. It’s all moot really, as we can’t go back and look at it again.

    Nice blockquoting tony.

  98. Tom of Melbourne, on March 17th, 2009 at 11:39 am

    I know how he felt, some of your (and sreb’s et al) comments about my personal attire are quite cruel and hurtful…but I soldier on (‘scuse the pun)… 😥

  99. Oh come now, TB, you know that we’re only joking eh?

    It wouldn’t be any fun if this place became so PC that we couldn’t take the piss out of each other every now and then.

  100. What would you know you Scottish, git!

  101. Bugger! Forgot, two headed, Scottish git!

  102. Right then ya Yorkshire so and so…

    Wid a be rite n’ callin’ ye a Geordie…?

  103. TB – “I know how he felt, some of your (and sreb’s et al) comments about my personal attire are quite cruel and hurtful…but I soldier on (’scuse the pun)…”

    Reb – “Oh come now, TB, you know that we’re only joking eh?”

    Speak for yourself reb. Our great, sunburnt, wide brown land was born of the sheep back. It is unpatriotic to wear a suit made of any material other than our own wool.

    And those polyester suits that TB wears are such a fire hazard that they should only be available in fluro orange and white diagonal stripes.

    TB – are the shoes you wear with your suit lace up or zip up? Grey or black?

  104. Fifty bucks says they’re grey vinyl with two zips up the sides.

  105. I’m not taking that bet. It’s odds on that they’re zip up, and grey.

    They probably don’t sell shoes with laces at Lowes.

  106. By the way,

    Has anyone else noticed that Miglo has launched his own airline called “Nok”:

    http://image.wetpaint.com/image/1/hg1GNtSJL0r_2lfRPhi_qQ43732/GW193H81

  107. Don’t encourage them TB!

    We do have to give it to you for being a good sport, they are a merciless pair of snot nose snobs (sniff).

  108. Scaper:

    “This blogging thing is addictive but I’m weaning myself off it through burning bridges…this one is charcoal.”

    Altogether now…

  109. OK, I’ll bite. What did crawl up scaper’s nose and die?

  110. Jane,

    I’m not entirely sure, perhaps if we follow the trail of botox……

  111. Jane
    Scaper made an acusation on the worse day and time possible. During the fires and after deaths which occured in them. He was wrong to attack a fellow blogger at there low point .

    Then made some enemies on his way out and since by commenting about this blog on other websites.

    He has made a mess no doubt about it.
    He accused TBoss of stalking him
    Took major offence to Tom Of melbournes comments which i find more clever humour then offence.

  112. Has anyone else noticed that Miglo has launched his own airline called “Nok”

    It’s fares are real cheep too, only costing a few bills.

  113. Its

  114. Jane

    Scaper wants to build a modern eco friendly metropolis near the most inhospitable place on earth. It’s a big picture thing, involving lots of vision for our beloved wide brown land of sweeping plains and rugged mountain ranges.

    He approach is novel and has plenty of very, very important sounding words. Incomprehensible sentences are also thrown in.

    Being a little cynical, I believe the reason he is advocating this vision is because he has already cornered the market on fly breeding and maggot futures. He plans to start a deep fried fly burger franchise and market maggots as “protein enriched Australian insect caviar”.

    Others might have a different view, something about being obnoxious or something.

    But being unobnoxious is hardly a qualification for this blog.

  115. “It’s fares are real cheep too, only costing a few bills.”

    hee-hee-hee…!

    🙂

  116. Probably against my better judgement, I’m going to jump in for Scaper here. A claim was made on this blog of such a horror that it could never have escaped the broader media. Scaper questioned the claim, in fact called it false. For that, he copped it, at the time, I thought deservedly so. Yet I have still not seen the claim substantiated in any records that I have viewed, and I wonder at its veracity. And I further wonder why such a claim would possibly have been made in fabrication. It seems very odd. As to his idea, I support it entirely in its concept. I have no idea of the engineering but it makes sense to me.

  117. This is probably as good a time as any to clear this up, James, as I’ve never seen it explained either, apart from some references to private emails.

    Min, can you help those of us who are still puzzled by that particular incident? (The claim, as I recall, was that relatives of yours had been burnt in the fires.)

  118. James – “As to his idea, I support it entirely in its concept.”

    Are you referring to the Deep Fried Fly Franchise or the solar/wind/geo thermal powered very fast train?

  119. Or the botox and surgical breast augmentation? Now they’re ideas that I also support.

  120. And here we were, all helping scaper to come up with a good logo for his “venture”

    And this is the thanks we get…

  121. Perhaps if we put up threads on “101 uses for silicon” or “Do it yourself Botox”, we’d be able to get him back to this site more often!

    He did make an informative and valuable contribution on both these topics.

  122. Nah, he’s probably too busy turning down stand-in roles for Mickey Rourke.

  123. I think that I fell foul reb when I suggested that maybe ‘the vision’ should take place in a location with existing infrastructure. Anyway..I’ve never been a person to knock back a person’s vision, nor anyone’s recipes nor anyone’s music. If you don’t like it, don’t read, don’t listen and don’t look.

  124. Well done, ToSY, this has turned out to be real fun thread, seems I’m the only whipping boy left to take all the “s**t (apart from poor old Neil of course but he deserves it)…everyone else with differing opinions has been driven away…

    What a bunch of a**h*les…and I always though I was welcome here…

    …you never really know your friends, ether real or imagined…

  125. Tony. Yes that’s right. It was my cousin. I have passed onto friends on this blog his name.

  126. …and another thing! Everytime I post on this site everyone buggers off!

    Talk about being sent to Coventry! (‘scuse the pun again!)

  127. “Bllody hell, N’, what else haven’t you seen…Monty Python, Dad’s Army, Dalzeil and Pascoe, Wire in the Blood, Taggart – the mind boggles…!”

    You forgot Lovejoy TB. One of me faves.

    Seen all above bar the complete series of D&P…I was a busy teen in the 70s…they probably showed ‘Are You Being Served’ but I was mesmerised by high school, road hockey, lasses, P/T work, cycling, books, vinyls, movies & MASH.

    “You’ll never catch up! …and I always thought Canadians were switched on…another blow to my view of the world…”

    Are ya havin’ a laugh?

    Who woulda thunk it…:)

    N’

  128. #Min, on March 17th, 2009 at 5:20 pm Said:
    Tony. Yes that’s right. It was my cousin. I have passed onto friends on this blog his name.

    Tony i got the information from Min. I question nothing about the subject.

  129. Hi TB dont feel that way, thats for me to do.
    I have a 70’s fancy dress party to go to and i was wondering if you hired out your clothes? 😉

  130. and shoes, i need shoes.

  131. Aqua..I would help out re the shoes but I don’t think that my size 51/2 highheels would fit you 🙂

    Suggestion..take the workboots and spray paint them gold.

  132. Gold paint,
    Yes i can see that happening no time soon.

    glad you didnt add glitter in that comment.

  133. nasking, on March 17th, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    That’s me, dad!

    …and don’t forget The Office!

    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    aquanut, on March 17th, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    I have a standard reply to these moronic comments now…

    …@r$#o!e!

  134. Aqua, I was yay close to suggesting that Mrs Aqua could glue sequins to your workboots/flippers.

  135. TB
    so is that a no.

    Thanks Min I like the sound of that one better.
    Just thinking whats a good pose for that look.

  136. aquanut, on March 17th, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    May I assist with your “pose” – …@r$#o!e!

  137. TB:

    “and another thing! Everytime I post on this site everyone buggers off!”

    Not quite. TB. We’re still here. It’s just that when you arrive in your walk shorts, socks n sandals, the rest of us just navigate to another corner of the room.

    A bit like the uncle from NZ who arrives at the wedding…

  138. Time for a pint TB…

    I learnt the art of cool from Del Boy…

    “Play it nice & cool son, ya know what I mean”?

    Only Fools and Horses – Bar

    N’

  139. “May I assist with your “pose” ”

    Here’s a useful alternative aquanut:

    unless Miglo decides to use it first.
    🙂
    N’

  140. ahhh such a shame my pic for aquanut got lost in the bin. Moderator please…
    N’

  141. Nice clip TB

    Nasking that is so far from how i imagined my look to be. thats a toilet pose.

  142. lol…but what a glorious movement.

    this is way cool aqua…you wouldn’t even have to take it off for bed:

    N’

  143. what happened to my comment?
    It vanished.

  144. I must be having computer troubles.

  145. Reb – “It’s just that when you arrive in your walk shorts, socks n sandals, the rest of us just navigate to another corner of the room.”

    It’s a good look, and some can’t carry it off. Fortunately TB does.

    It’s a look that says – “I’m from Queensland, I shop at Lowes and I’m not ashamed of it”

  146. reb, on March 17th, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    …and now your associating me friggin’ Kiwis!
    …@r$#o!e!

    nasking, on March 17th, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    …and your point is…@r$#o!e!

    Tom of Melbourne, on March 17th, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    …@r$#o!e! (I think..?)…any way its, Tom, …@r$#o!e!

  147. I might growm more hair so everyone can pick me from the other ar*eholes.

    This hole needs a drink, wheres my scotch.

  148. aquaman

    I have a nice coonawarra shiraz beside me.

    work, gym, red… perfect.

  149. I bought some black range red wine for my wife today or was it yesterday because its her birthday,(min i remembered, forgot the card)
    as she hardly drinks. she said it tasted nice and feel asleep after half a glass.

    wife asleep, ciggar, scotch …… a dream

  150. TB – “…@r$#o!e! (I think..?)…any way its, Tom, …@r$#o!e!”

    TB, this isn’t very friendly. I’d paid you a generous compliment, I certainly did not expect THIS response.

    I think walk socks, sandals, tartan shorts would suit you. A very “classy” Queensland look!

    Is this you?

    http://fashioncops.tribe.net/photos/e3aea3ac-2692-4be8-b78a-d1f27723b152

  151. It’s been a bottle of red and a two cigar night. A damn fine evening woz had, even though the wine was crap. I can’t help it if the best wine the golf club has on offer is a Taylors cab sav. The best they used to have was something I don’t care to remember so I kept dropping notes in the suggestion box that they should offer some premiums reds on the wine list.

    So they get Taylors cab sav. Can I ever win?

    I return home to see that some clown has dressed up in a duck’s suit (now why would you want to do that?) and Aqua has found his camel.

    The world is now a better place. Until tomorrow. Unless of course, the boss doesn’t get out of her ‘pick on Miglo’ frame of mind.

    I’m thinking of putting some Shakespeare on the front door, from Midsummer Night’s Dream. A sign will hang declaring “Weaving spiders come not here”.

    That’s silly. Maybe I’m a bit pissed.

  152. Miglo, on March 17th, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Just a bit?

    At least your not an @r$#o!e! like the rest of ’em here!

  153. “At least your not an @r$#o!e! like the rest of ‘em here!”

    Sir, you are a cad, bounder & scallywag of the highest order.

    That should fix him.
    8)
    N’

  154. Who is?

  155. Miglo i wish i was still up last night,i would of joined you for sure. i was smashed by 9pm.

    Then the bloke next door tried to beat his wife up out the front. wife woke me up to go look after her, i got there and he was on the ground with both arms around his head and she was kicking him. i turned around and went back to bed.

  156. Aqua, the company would have been good, although Nasking was keeping me company, as was that turkey from Sydney on the Legislation thread. He made me realise that I and most others on this site are intelligent human beings.

  157. lol i saw that.

    This site wouldnt be the same without Neil dropping.

    it kind of brings the room together

    by the way, im sharpening the tips. sitting here with the spear gun wiping rust off and lubing it up, fancy you popping up Miglo.

  158. This site wouldnt be the same without Neil dropping.

    Aqua, did you mean Neil’s droppings? After all, he does talk a load of shite.

  159. room fertilizer, we can only flourish from here.

  160. “lubing it up..?”

    Please aqua, this is a family show (well PG with occasional strong language, viloence and sex scenes)

  161. you should cum with an R rating Reb 😉

  162. “Who is?”

    An attempt to keep up the humorous flavor…and using archaic language instead of swearing. I thought you’d get the joke. Yer obviously not in the mood.
    cheers
    N’

  163. i just read it Nasking, nothing wrong with that as it was very tame.
    TB’s smart enough not to take offence to that.

    —-
    i bet Miglo’s asleep at work considering how drunk and how late he stayed up.

  164. aquanut, on March 18th, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Bullshit! I will take offence at anything I like, @r$#o!e!

    N’, I don’t have to be in the mood to get pissed off with anyone you archaic, @r$#o!e!

    I’m starting, to understand how Neil feels… 😀

  165. TB, its ok i take great humour in that and these days like any attention i get.
    I also look up to you so your going to find it hard to offend me. Plus, youll have to tell me one day just what it was like to watch the pyramids get built. 🙂

  166. been watching that “cloverfield” and the camera work is making me dizzy. still its a good movie.

    TB, im disturbed that your imagining how Neil feels.

    (i couldnt stop laughing while typing that) 😉

  167. shit im going to cop it.

    (runs)

  168. Pyramids, f****ng, pyramids!

    You f****ng, @r$#o!e!

    MODERATOR

    Next sixteen lines deleted, ’cause my ears are still burning after reading it – jeese, you’re lucky, aqua, you f****ng @r$#o!e!

  169. I’m about 70klms away from TB.
    .
    I think i can hear him swearing.

    —–

    Im deffenetly not diving tonight, i have not sobbered up enough and just may open another can drink it and fall into a coma.

Comments are closed.

