Tuesday by The Tea Trolley…

brett1

Howdy,

I forgot all about Monday’s beginning of the working week Watercooler thread coz it was a public holiday in Tasmania, and I spent most of the day lying about in the garden, looking at all the things that needed to be done and wondering whether or when they will ever get done.

Anyway, joni has kindly offered to man the Tea Trolley for us today instead. Mind you, he’s looking a bit worse for wear after Mardi Gras, but, what can you do…?

So here is our beginning of the week idle chit chat thread…

Would you like a bun with that..?

72 Responses

  1. That’s Bob Dylan in the pic not Joni. You’ve tried to mislead us. 😦

  2. …I spent most of the day lying about in the garden, looking at all the things that needed to be done

    Just how many men do you have working in your garden? 😉

  3. I wish I looked that good on Sunday.

  4. Here’s a list of “Evil Metaphors and Phrases” – best avoided if you can find a fresher way to make your point:

    on steroids
    think outside the box
    longpole in the tent
    stove pipe
    the long and short of it is
    the fact (of the matter) is
    reinvent the wheel
    open a can of worms
    talk off line
    herding cats
    same sheet of music
    at the end of the day
    to be honest with you
    on a weekly basis
    touch base
    building bridges
    teach how to fish
    keep the plates spinning
    run it up the flag pole
    sooner rather than later
    lessons learned
    synergy
    zero tolerance
    self licking ice cream cone
    not ready for prime time
    showstopper
    barking up the wrong tree
    holding feet to the fire
    the cart before the horse
    goat rope
    ground truth
    devil is in the details
    break down barriers
    food fight
    bear fruit
    sense of urgency
    dog in the fight
    with all due respect
    utilize (prefer use)
    low hanging fruit
    slippery slope
    straw man
    work in a vacuum
    grease the skids
    let a thousand flowers bloom
    red herring
    leaning forward in the saddle
    ahead of the curve
    crawl, walk, run
    cookie cutter

  5. Tony

    I am going to see how many I get work into my weekly team meeting this afternoon.

  6. joni,

    I challenge you to use

    “Let a thousand flowers bloom”

    or

    “Leaning forward in the saddle”

    In your meeting..

    Mind you I imagine you’ve already had plenty of practice with the second one…

  7. Heh Joni.

    There are plenty of others you could use; what about one of my personal all-time ‘favourites’: going forward.

  8. 😆 Reb

  9. Have you guys used “longpole in the tent”?

  10. “Have you guys used “longpole in the tent”?”

    Not since I was in the Scouts.

  11. But I have used the “longpole with intent”.

  12. We had ‘shortpole in the tent’ in Cub Scouts.

  13. I have a strong suspician that John McPh thinks it will get a lot worse before it gets better.

  14. Now that I’ve been back a few times, that REALLY is Bob Dylan, ain’t it? Or am I blowin’ in the wind?

  15. Sadly, most are “shortpoles in the tent” but you learn to live with it 😉

  16. Im surprised it’s not on the list, i’m already sick of hearing

    ‘on the same page’

    And I have to admit that at the time of the last election, I was prettyy sick of hearing rudd & gillard’s

    ‘in due season’ – what?

  17. Sadly, most are “shortpoles in the tent”

    After listening to women for years swear that it’s not size but quality that counts, the truth arose, so to speak, in recent serious survey I came across,

    Glad I bat for the other team otherwise I would always feel inadequate.

    Whoops … what am I saying? I always feel that way!

  18. About time – what a difference a couple of elections can make

    In addition to ending a ban on stem cell research funding, President Barack Obama issued a potentially landmark memo Monday declaring a new era of “scientific integrity” across government.
    In no uncertain terms, Obama signaled that the Federal government would be guided by science, not the other way around. In offering a repudiation of the previous administration, he also promised a new era of transparency.

    http://blog.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/03/scintegrity.html

    FOREIGN aid will be able to be spent on abortion services and counselling after the Rudd Government today lifted a ban established 13 years ago by the Howard government.

    Foreign Minister Stephen Smith has effectively followed the lead of US President Barack Obama, who has scrapped the policy preventing non-government organisations using official funds overseas to advise about abortions or provide services.

    http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25165438-5013871,00.html

  19. I’m also tired of hearing…

    “The reality is……”

  20. it’s not size but quality that counts

    It was decided years ago at the “meeting” that this would be our official line. 😉

  21. Sadly, most are “shortpoles in the tent” but you learn to live with it 😉

    and the quality ain’t too good either, nor is the ‘it’s not how big it is but what you do with it’ (men say that just to make themselves feel good about their inadequacies 🙂

    but let’s not dwell on their ‘shortcomings’ today.

  22. 😀 @ KL

  23. My all time (arrrrrg!) moronic business/political phrases:

    “…at the end of the day…”
    (Which bloody day!)

    “…looking or moving forward…”
    (do you mean sometime in the future? Or your bloody crystal ball tells you?)

    Give me a specific! Talk about cop out!

    …and if I see that bloody Bernie Fraser “singing” on my TV again…

  24. Tony, you forgot shit storm.

  25. A few I hate are:

    Let’s look at this holistically
    Let’s be proactive
    Let’s walk up to the plate together
    I’ll get my people to phone your people

  26. “Tony, you forgot shit storm.”

    Lol.

    Let’s not forget: “Look, we’re (not) in the business of (insert issue of the day)” and “Can I tell you (insert talking-point of the day)” .

  27. Tony, as a football fan you must be sick of this one:

    The atmosphere is so thick you could cut it with a knife.

  28. Miglo, see how you go with these sporting metaphors.

    http://www.uefap.com/vocab/exercise/matching/sptmet.htm

  29. (an aside for Kitty, Jane, RN et al.. close your eyes blokes)..Note how when there is a challenge such as Kitty’s: but let’s not dwell on their ’shortcomings’ today, that the males immediate Resort-to-Sport.

  30. Look can we take this entire discussion off line?

  31. In that case we better not talk about any self licking ice cream cones 🙄

  32. I have a fun idea.

    Why not play carry on the sentence. We have to take Tony’s list, and one by one, make up a sentence which has one of those sayings in it, but it still has to carry on with the theme of the story and make sense.

    I’ll start if you like, I could fit quite a few of those into one sentence but I’ll restrain myself.

    Today is our friend reb’s birthday, but with all due respect, do you think he should be drinking quite so much wine?

    who’s next?

  33. Today is our friend reb’s birthday, but with all due respect, do you think he should be drinking quite so much wine?

    The fact of the matter is, KL, he just can’t think outside of the box and I think if this continues you will just open a can of worms taliking about sreb’s drinking.

  34. hehe TB, no fair you did two in one go!

  35. oh make that three!

  36. ooh, ooh can i go again? (sorry john couldn’t help myself)

    Today is our friend reb’s birthday, but with all due respect, do you think he should be drinking quite so much wine?

    The fact of the matter is,/b>, KL, he just can’t think outside of the box and I think if this continues you will just open a can of worms taliking about sreb’s drinking.

    It will get a lot worse, says john mcphilbin!, as he has not heeded the lessons learned.

  37. kittylitter, on March 10th, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Now why did I know you’d post something like that…you little controller you… 😆

    Good fun though…

  38. Today is our friend reb’s birthday, but with all due respect, do you think he should be drinking quite so much wine?

    The fact of the matter is, KL, he just can’t think outside of the box and I think if this continues you will just open a can of worms taliking about sreb’s drinking.

    It will get a lot worse, says john mcphilbin!, as he has not heeded the lessons learned.

    At the end of the day, it’s not how much wine that reb drinks, but the proof will be in the pudding in terms of quality, you get what you pay for, and as far as I’m concerned, reb and his blogocrat friends, can drink until the cows come home.

  39. Sans Blog:

    “That’s Bob Dylan in the pic not Joni. You’ve tried to mislead us”

    Apologies Sansy, you are partially correct.

    It’s actually a shot of John McPhilbin taken at the Rooty Hill branch of the Australian Working Women’s Association Annual General Meeting.

  40. Wondered if you’d find us.

    Where’s those words? I think you’re making up your own list (just ‘cos it’s your b’day 🙂 ).

  41. Oh, I didn’t realise that we were limited to words in the list…Let me have another go…

  42. How timely 😀

    Men who wore a penile extender every day for six months were able to increase the flaccid length of their penis by up to 32% and their erectile function by up to 36%,

    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2009/03/090305080516.htm

  43. Today is our friend reb’s birthday, but with all due respect, do you think he should be drinking quite so much wine?

    The fact of the matter is, KL, he just can’t think outside of the box and I think if this continues you will just open a can of worms taliking about sreb’s drinking.

    It will get a lot worse, says john mcphilbin!, as he has not heeded the lessons learned.

    The fact of the matter is, when you consider the long and the short of it, should we have zero tolerance for Reb’s wine consumption, or grease the skids and leave him on steroids? Sooner rather than later, we might keep the plates spinning and open up a can of worms that will be harder than herding cats.

  44. haha, that’s funny, I love it, you’re quite the wordsmith reb!

  45. The Only Ones, are you saying that those gourds worn by the men in some Papua New Guinea tribes have found scientific support?

    Well I never!!! What a fetching thought…

    There I was thinking they were the PNG equivalent of Hummers…

  46. Today is our friend reb’s birthday, but with all due respect, do you think he should be drinking quite so much wine?
    The fact of the matter is, KL, he just can’t think outside of the box and I think if this continues you will just open a can of worms taliking about sreb’s drinking.
    It will get a lot worse, says john mcphilbin!, as he has not heeded the lessons learned.
    The fact of the matter is, when you consider the long and the short of it, should we have zero tolerance for Reb’s wine consumption, or grease the skids and leave him on steroids? Sooner rather than later, we might keep the plates spinning and open up a can of worms that will be harder than herding cats.

    Forget the wine He’s been drinking the Koolaid

  47. There I was thinking they were the PNG equivalent of Hummers

    rofl

  48. I once told an amour that humming made a task more pleasurable.
    She didn’t swallow it.. ..

  49. Just testing again, another computer.

    Is this one also “awaiting moderation”?

  50. “it’s not how big it is but what you do with it”

    In Canada they used to say:

    “It’s not how long the wand is but how the magician waves it”

    HEY PRESTO!

    N’

  51. Thought it was only sporting of us males here to make a token gesture in response to the Ladies bringing bawdy tokens of affection to us men, and that’s drawing a long bow.
    Seems to have started at about 11.35 am and the Ladies, grasped the nettle, so to speak.
    Mind you, they were very timid on my choice of music ‘So Frenchy, so Cute’, was played on RN however being a gentleman I swiftly fiddled and found JJJ,bad error..

  52. Tom

    Your comments seem to be held up for moderation. I’m not sure why, I’m sure Joni or reb will correct it when they get a chance.

  53. “Men who wore a penile extender every day for six months were able to increase the flaccid length of their penis by up to 32% and their erectile function by up to 36%,” – The Only Ones.

    I’ve got a brick tied to mine.

  54. Well, I see to have found a computer that isn’t being moderated.

    I posted a comment in reply to what I considered to be a somewhat belittling comment.

    Personally, I don’t worry about this too much. I always try to allow others to set any tone of personal exchange, I just harangue, annoy, discuss…

    And I always try not to be pedantic about the spelling of others, I do often contribute via a palm pilot and spelling is difficult to scratch out.

    Anyway, interesting that after annoying everyone so much yesterday, my comments are being moderated on 3 or 4 other computers.

  55. Hi Nasking, I understand you like all types of music. Here’s a song by a Scottish underground band called Mash. The song is weird, spooky even.

    I was laying in bed listening to a podcast on alien abductions, Bigfoot, ghosts etc and they played a bit of this song after and it gave me the creeps.

  56. Tom of M @ 9:45.

    Tom, was that a teeny weeny dummy spit?

  57. Not at all Miglo.

    I’ve posted a few comments here that were awaiting moderation, it seemed to relate to all the ip addresses I normally use, but the comments I posted from an old wired versions appeared immediately.

    I’m interested to know why ALL the devices I use awaited moderation, but not this one that I vary rarely use. I simply found this odd. Particularly when John McP had to go to the trouble of posting for me.

  58. “Not at all Miglo.”

    Pity. I prefer you when you dummy spit. I get this warm a fuzzy feeling that you’re vulnerable and I get this urge to annoy you.

  59. Interesting Miglo, DJ Mash from Glasgow eh? And someone digs imagery of the all-seeing eye. I bet it was pretty mood evoking during that excurion into spooky. eerie territory.

    Try this w/ your book Miglo:

    Cranes: Adoration

    ‘Cranes’ have some superb albums.

    N’

  60. Tom has “dangerous” ideas…lol.

    He is from Melbourne also.

  61. “And I always try not to be pedantic”

    And I always try not to be a pedant.

  62. Tom

    Your comments seem to be held up for moderation. I’m not sure why, I’m sure Joni or reb will correct it when they get a chance.
    Sorry, forgot to add great post! Can’t wait to see your next post!

  63. Miglo – “I get this warm a fuzzy feeling that you’re vulnerable and I get this urge to annoy you.”

    Please don’t hold back. I’m always quite happy for any exchange. Though it does seem to me that there some egos here that are even more precious than my own! Can you imagine that?

    Though I must admit, this old version is rather slow, and I’ll be glad when my various other devices aren’t “awaiting moderation”

  64. Tom, whilst I’m usually happy to expose you as the paradox you really are, I must crawl myself into bed at this time. I’m a public servant and I need to be fresh tomorrow so that I may better serve the taxpayers of this country.

    As I check my diary I see that I have a busy schedule as it is. Check emails 9 am; read Blogocrtas until 9:30. Coffee with John at 10 am; Coffee with Anne at 11 am; lunch with Robbo and 12 pm; need to be back by 3 for afternoon tea with the team. Leave work early for a quiet drink at the golf club to wind down after such a hectic day.

    Nasking, are we trying to scare each other? I liked it though. Must sound awesome with a belly full of grog and heightened senses.

    Toiletboss, hope you were reading last week when Sparta went into a chronic complain mode about Australia and our Indigenous people. He was rabid. Such entertainment, and it’s all free.

  65. Pity. I prefer you when you dummy spit. I get this warm a fuzzy feeling that you’re vulnerable and I get this urge to annoy you.

    Me too, I like it when he’s sulking, shows he’s human after all.

    Though it does seem to me that there some egos here that are even more precious than my own! Can you imagine that?

    No. Just get over yourself tom, it must have been a mistake, you’re just being pawanoid and pwecious, who would even bother moderating your posts, they are great for a laugh!

  66. Are you a member of the Bloggers Union? You should have your Union rep take it up with Management!

  67. (Union rep) Your complaint is important to us. Due to an unprecedented level of whinging, the bloggers union is extremely busy right now. Please stay on the line for the next available representative or call back at another time.

  68. I probably am kittylitter, though the “awaiting moderation” message was on work lap top, palm pilot, home computer with the internet via wire and the wireless internet, but not on the old computer that I very rarely use.. Odd that’s all.

  69. Don’t say anymore Tom, I’ll take it from here.

    ….Now listen, N’ Kitty et al, our member has explained that he thinks there’s a problem that is strange and under section 3 para 16 of the Online Bloggers is free to air his concerns without consequence…

    Carry on Tom

  70. ….can you believe that Tom? Now they’re blocking your rep…This is war!

  71. That’s better.

  72. OBU rep, OBE
    Is your member paid up?

Comments are closed.

