Midweek Mayhem!

Welcome to Midweek Mayhem!

The thread where it’s on for one and all. People are coming out and saying the weirdest things lately. Last night for example on Insight, Gerry Harvey declared in front of an astonished crowd that “there was no financial crisis and in fact we’re in the middle of an economic boom!”

This from the man who was practically in tears late last year with the prospect of poor Christmas sales.

Meanwhile on the 7.30 report, Malcolm Turnbull was busy blaming the media, and specifically Kerry O’Brien for the Liberal party’s poor polling!

He did also mention that it might be something to do with their ‘unpopular’ decision to oppose the Government’s economic stimulus package, but insisted that the Liberal party is not a party that is interested in making ‘popular’ decisions, which is fair enough I suppose if your objective is to steadfastly remain in opposition. Clearly Malcolm is a man of principles, even if their logic is only be-knownst to him.

There is no shortage of people making ad hoc predictions of where the economy is heading, and no shortage of people willing to believe them.

The reality is (to paraphrase just about every politician) is that no single individual can predict when the market will turnaround, and we will only be able to pinpoint when it did when we look back 12 or 18 months in hindsight.

In the interim, there is no shortage of doomsayers who will continue to get media coverage.

101 Responses

  1. “no single individual can predict when the market will turnaround, and we will only be able to pinpoint when it did when we look back 12 or 18 months in hindsight.”

    December 2012 will be the first time people will feel confidently bullish. Obama will win his 2nd election. The surge in the new share markets will be prompted by internet television stocks; and a new vehicle for transport based on a marvellous discovery that happened in the past…but is still to be revealed to the public. Also a surge in energy stocks due to full bore construction of energy utilities based on a Scandinavian design. The Olympics that year should be fun too…kinda like an athletic-based ‘Great Exhibition’.

    Hey, this is fun.

    N’

  2. Well I’ll be….

    A bear predicting the beginning of the next bull market.

    I think your 2012 timeframe is the same as my thinking also. In the interim we may see some vehicle manufacturers hit the wall. Which might not be such a bad thing. Those that are quick to adapt to creating smaller energy efficient vehicles (electric?) will be the winners.

    Those that continue to produce things like hummers will be the losers in my humble opinion.

  3. Reb I’m not sure if you meant to imply that ‘the economy’ is synonymous with ‘the stock market’ but if so I would beg to differ.

    Share prices have already taken their biggest hit, although they are still not down to long-term historical trend values. The pain in other areas – the ones that affect most people very directly, like incomes and unemployment – is only just beginning.

  4. That was a shocker from Malcolm on the 7.30 report last night, one of the worst interviews I’ve seen from him. Must be terribly stressful to watch his dream failing like this. I have no love for the man, but I don’t see him as an evil prick like some of em either.

    So now I’m wondering where a girl can place a bet on Lib leader at the next election, any idea’s?

  5. Did any of you see Barnaby on Late Line nast night? OMFG – Talk about car crash. In all of the other interviews I’ve seen of BJ, he has come across quite well – not that one though.

  6. TOOs

    That would be a bet on him to lose I’d imagine 😉

  7. Ken,

    Totally agree, the share market feels it first, then the broader economy.

    Some pundits are already saying the bottom of the share market has already passed, but the broader economy may take years to recover…

  8. Ooh, now I’m going to have to go watch that Dave 😉

    I’m trying to work out if the Libs are actually trying to get rid of Mal, or if they’re just forcing him further to the right then he would otherwise go and then let him crash and burn. The Lib hard heads must know in their hearts that the chances of winning next time are minuscule.

    If they are getting rid of him, then who’s going to get the gig? Pete?, I doubt it.

  9. D55

    Yeah – BJ was terrible. He knows that his position is one of denial but cannot provide any evidence to defned himself.

    Did you catch the ecomomist on later in Lateline Business? Very impressive. To paraphrase one of the things he said is that around the world there is a banking crisis, but here in Australia we do not have a banking crisis, just a credit squeeze issue.

  10. Hot on the heels of the I-touch phone, the Liberal party have released the I-turd.

  11. OMG! I just watched that LL with Barnaby, what can you say? 😮

  12. Pleased to see that my all time favorite Liberal is having his say: http://www.watoday.com.au/national/georgiou-attacks-liberal-infighting-20090224-8gwc.html

    What a waste of talent, Petro was such an asset as a liberal (small l) but of course got nowhere with JWH as PM.

  13. And I still love it. Announcer: And here is First Lady Michelle Obama. Amazing, a descendant of slaves now First Lady. Her grandparents and maybe even her parents would have had to ride in the back of bus. Who says that things can’t get better!

  14. TOOs

    I haven’t seen the Turnbull one yet – was Barnaby worse than that because if he wasn’t, I’ll watch the MT interviwe for amusement value – if not, I wont bother because I’ll probably just throw something at the screen and I don’t have my supply of rolled up socks handy …

    (To clarify the socks comment, I save up sorting out my socks for when I watch insiders so I can throw the rolled up ones at Bolt, Blair and Ackerman without doing any damage to the tele.)

  15. “Did any of you see Barnaby on Late Line nast night?”

    Yea, he made about as much sense to me as this:

    More than a few similarities w/ the main character methinks.

    N’

  16. Dave..wonderful visualisation. You sitting folding socks and throwing these at the tellie 🙂

  17. Min,

    Makes doing the Laundry more fun – you just have to make sure the dog doesn’t run off with the ammo!

  18. N’

    He probably made less sense!

  19. So has anyone tracked down Adrian?

  20. Nope – Adrian is still missing.

    I will email him again.

  21. Hello Tom. No I don’t believe that anyone has. Aqua wrote to me, and I replied to Aqua that I didn’t have Adrian’s email address.

    And so if anyone has any information..all gratefully received even if just something along the lines of ‘he’s busy’.

  22. Thank you joni..at least a confirmation that someone has Adrian’s email is good.

  23. And Shit Sticks>> (pardon the expression)

    And Pacific Brands was supporting too many brands – or at least, too many brands that were generating insufficient income: the most astonishing slide in the presentation Morphet gave to analysts this morning showed that the group owns 200 brands that have sales of less than $500,000 a year, and that these brands between them represent only 2% of sales.

    And so we’re a’goin’ to Asia…

  24. Oh Reb, you missed the point about airports:).

    They made me pay few hundred extra for my lugage to make sure its safe and that its there at the other end, sydney. Mind you this is not before i was stripped down to my jeans at the securty check point(only i was singled out from the very large crowd to strip, i then asked the security guard for his phone number.

    Got to Sydney and remembered why i left, the crowds of zombie looking people all doing there own thing and a place i dont stick out, more then one camel in NSW. Anyway my lugage made it, i was so impressed. But i wasnt allowed to check it out due to security problems. He undose the box my mask is in and askes if he can try it on with a giggle(i was furious) i replied, i spit in that all the time, id love you too i also threw a used condom in the bin which im sure you like to fondle with.

    I am now in the interview room being asked if i mind taking all my clothes off with an arm full of swabs. I demanded lube(with an aggressive side on posture) before he come any closer. These guys wanted me gone in one way or another it seemed.

    Finally they rang the Head office and found out i was legitamate.

    F’en same thing on the way home but in reverse.

    I going to need a bigger hypnotic session, tomorrow.

    By the way the job was a ripper in terms of pay, 20 minutes work ( still full pay for the days work or i put it back with him still holding onto it in protest).

    I need a drink, 2 litres of tomato juice and then hook into the alcohol.

  25. For anyone the least bit interested…

    The “new” anti-Akerboltbrechtsen site that Ross linked to here the other day has managed to get under (at least) Bolt’s skin within a week of being born.
    This had lead to much paranoid frothing from Uncle Andrew, manifest as highly selective quotation & misrepresentation.

    Hilarious. To think that he even responds. The nature of his predictably manipulative response is what makes it interesting.

    http://blogs.crikey.com.au/purepoison/2009/02/24/compare-and-contrast/#comments

  26. Aqua..was missing you..

    Have to choof as eldest B and bf P are about to lob on their way back from Tassie via Brissy airport..to pick up their budgie. Loud cheers from Min!!

    However, can’t resist..Mind you this is not before i was stripped down to my jeans at the securty check point

    So how come we weren’t invited??

  27. Toiletboss…. the Poison Pen site is just too much fun.

  28. Thanks Min

  29. Yes it’s good spectator sport, especially if viewed simultaneously with Bolt’s blog to click back & forth as the updates & retorts pile up. Once the gargoyles pick up the scent of Bolt’s indignation they quickly fall into yapping & chest-thumping at evil leftists everywhere.

    I reckon Bolt will come to his senses when he simmers down & play it with a straight bat in the future by ignoring the site altogether.
    He sure did get worked up about it yesterday evening though.
    They also do hatchetjobs on Akerman, Clive Hamilton & others.

    The first time I posted there a lurker from here got a little upset.

  30. Aqua..if it’s any consolation hubby is ALWAYS

  31. Eek..computer glitch.

    I was about to say. Aqua..if it’s any consolation hubby is ALWAYS asked to take off his shoes and these are always thoroughly examined due to his built up shoe.

  32. Next time im going to glue fake hair to my chest, back , wear socks with holes and ask very gently to be gang touched by all the staff. I’ll just say i had a can of red bull and im willing.

  33. me too, i wear steal caps so i have to remove them

  34. The first time I posted there a lurker from here got a little upset

    lol I saw that TB, was going to step in when the jerker had his little piss-fit but I figured you had him by the balls anyway so why bother. Creep that he is.

  35. guess you had to be there.

  36. December 2012 eh nasking?

    I reckon you could well be right.

    The market’s gonna be up to its chitlins in Bears for some time yet, that’s for sure. The US is yet to finance its rescue plan and the EU is drowning in dicey loans to the former Soviet Republics.

    If Eastern Eurpoe defaults, we’re in for another round of share market free-fall and a wild ride.

    Interesting times, indeed.

  37. Toiletboss,
    I reckon Bolt will come to his senses when he simmers down & play it with a straight bat in the future by ignoring the site altogether.
    He sure did get worked up about it yesterday evening though.

    I’ve been having a look at pure poison too and saw your little spat over there. Is really weird how Bolt got all narky and threatened, I think he must have tried to kill it off before it got a hold, but he just gave lefty & co. ammo.

    re the Bolta, I remember before he even had his blog, he made a slur about the greens and the nazi’s. Can’t now recall what it was but I emailed him, not expecting a reply, but he did, again and again, he couldn’t let it go. In the end I had to ignore him! The man has to have the last word and he just keeps going on and on, talking nonsense – just like on the Insiders program. He’s obsessed with himself and his ‘opinion’.

    Aqualung (I like that name, thanks to N’ and jethro tull)
    Very annoying time at the airport, can’t a camel go anywhere these days without arousing suspicion?

  38. Kittylitter

    Sometimes you just want to share stuff and make people laugh a little.

    Min, Kittylitter thank you for the reply 🙂

  39. Quick note. Hubby has had a small reprieve and has been asked to stay on for another 4 weeks. Somethin’ always being better than nothing.

  40. Great news Min.

    N’

  41. Good news, maybe they’ll give him an extension after the 4 weeks too, with any luck…

  42. Thank you N’ and reb. Was hoping that the job might last until Easter as no one is going to put anyone on to have to pay for the holiday break. However, this does mean 2 weeks in lieu..so every little bit helps. Hubby is at the desal plant at Tugun.

  43. And I did hear from Adrian last night, I will update when I get a chance.

    But just quickly, one of the reasons is because of the personal attacks on him has left him reluctant to post again.

    (and I hope that this is a fair assessment Adrian if you are reading).

  44. Joni please tell Adrian that I miss him lots. Who else can I say And Aye to Matelots and who else except for Adrian would know what this means.

  45. This business of personal attacks is disturbing.

    I like to think that most of our exchanges are spirited, pointed, sometimes difficult (in my case very annoying), but I trust that they’re not ugly and hurtful.

    I don’t use the little “smiley faces” things, but from here on please always presume that all my comments are accompanied by one that has a wink.

  46. Hello Tom..I thought so…(am I game to say it) but hugs MinXXX

  47. “from here on please always presume that all my comments are accompanied by one that has a wink.”

    You did say “wink” right?

  48. “But just quickly, one of the reasons is because of the personal attacks on him has left him reluctant to post again.”

    That’s a shame. I enjoyed reading most of his posts.

    And yes, in the spirit of good gamesmanship I’ll apologise to James for having a knee-jerk go at it him a while back.

    Politics can bring out the worst in people. And defending your patch. And fatigue. And poptarts. And fast food ads. And cancellation of your fave sci-fi shows. And trapped gas.

    N’

  49. I’m not from New Zealand. Though people from that part of the world have called me a “winker”.

  50. Poptarts? Kylie? You should be so lucky.

  51. Tom of Melbourne

    I don’t use the little “smiley faces” things, but from here on please always presume that all my comments are accompanied by one that has a wink.

    I always have. 😉

    And yes, the personal attacks is of concern. I generally tune out for a day or go onto a different thread if this occurs.

  52. At least Lord Tom and I have impeccable dress standards….

    from here on, please always assume that our comments are accompanied by a freshly pressed gold embossed stamp.

  53. “Poptarts? Kylie? You should be so lucky.”

    Ok joni, that got me riding the porcelain bus…I need a refreshment:

    Tom Waits – Do The Hokey Pokey

    Bliss.
    🙂
    N’

  54. “I need a refreshment:”

    Me too. I hear there’s a cocktail party going on next door…

  55. And I did hear from Adrian last night, I will update when I get a chance.

    But just quickly, one of the reasons is because of the personal attacks on him has left him reluctant to post again.

    I’m now a bit concerned that it might have been something I said. I was involved in one of the last conversations I saw Adrian have on this blog – a robust exchange – although I don’t recall anything of a particularly personal nature being said.

    Actually, I always thought Adrian could give as good as he got, and am quite surprised that he would have taken offence enough to stop commenting. He actually seemed to enjoy it when things got a bit willing.

    Oh well, such is life in blogworld, although I will miss our regular stoushes, and the copious amounts of information he used to dig up. 😉

    If you’re listening, Adrian, and it was something I said, you should know by now that personal attacks are not usually my style, and there was never any offence meant. If it wasn’t me, then it’s a pity that someone else has pissed you off so much, because I know – you’ve told me – how much you like doing this stuff.

  56. Thanks reb, my comments are in fact accompanied by a wax seal, blue normally, sometimes red, similar to the Great Seal of the Realm.

    I wear my Seal on a gold embroidered ribbon around my ample, multiple necks. The molten wax is held in a brass cradle, over a traditional candle produced by some virgins in Normandy.

    Just letting everyone know how I submit my comments!

  57. Lovely Tom.

    I trust those virgins were on individual employment contracts and not part of some scurrilous objectionable pre-pubecsent Union!

  58. I can’t wink either, but the sentiment is the same as per Tom’s winkless antagonisms.

    That’s a shame about Adrian, hope the situation changes.
    Apologies for objectifying your contribution Adrian but you are one of the great resources here; that’s meant to be a term of endearment in case you’re wondering (I doubt that you’re wondering, I don’t recall you missing nuance ever). I’d put a wink here if I could.

    I’m used to people taking me the wrong way, you should see me in the flesh…I’m a walking stereotype; frankly I don’t particularly care, this is the internet. However, that shouldn’t be mistaken for me setting out to be deliberately nasty or vindictive.
    If I feel slighted or “attacked” it will come through loud & clear, without my usual bullshit & with blunt delivery; then again I may just (more likely) laugh that somebody I’ll never meet is trying to get under my skin.

    I am only marginally surprised that Tom’s comments are accompanied by a wank.

  59. Hi Toiletboss,

    Great excitement here for the big match. Thanks for your wishes of good luck the other night (sorry not to respond – didn’t read till much later). I’m not going to the game and unfortunately we have a delayed telecast here in Vic, so I’m going to have to use all my willpower not to check on the scores.

    Go Tigers!

  60. Nice balanced comments. This calls for a song:

    The Reconcilliation Song

    N’

  61. He is a guide to adding smilies and winks folks.

    http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Smilies

  62. Bloody hell my typing is hopeless today. 😡

    He = here

  63. “He is a guide to adding smilies and winks folk”.

    Cool. Thnx Dave55

    8)

    N’

  64. ISP filtering scrapped?

    http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2009/02/26/1235237810486.html

    Let’s hope so.

  65. I’d like to say , but don’t expect it again.

  66. Test

    :irre:

  67. failed! 😦

  68. Mine didn’t work either Dave:>/

  69. Sorry min but I hope the Richmond Ben Cousins’ belt the hell out of Collingwood.
    I think the Crows play Collingwood in RD1 Home & Away so they’ll get another belting then too…cough.

    Tony, how does it sit with you that the entire focus on Richmond now (by the media chiefly) is on one man?
    Seems a bit of overkill to me.
    I hope he plays like the champ he is so everything can quickly settle down again.

  70. Yes Tb,

    I hope he gets a kick and even partly lives up to the hype. Some of the other players might be enjoying the lack of attention for a change.

    The upside of the hype is apparently strong memberships – thse dollars never go astray in those of our Victorian clubs who struggle to break-even. (Unlike your wealthy silver-spoon clubs in SA 😉 )

  71. But it was an interesting effect that you did acheive Tom.

    I wqas trying far a different type of green smiley.

  72. Thanx for the lead on improving articulation dave55.

    Much appreciated.

  73. Definitely right re membership for vicscum teams. You’d reckon that some time a few will end up culled, it seems to be a commercial inevitability.
    I don’t think Collingwood (or the Crows for that matter, Portscum are a different story- but they’ll never die while the subspecies prevails) has that problem.

    I’ll be very surprised if Ben doesn’t slot straight back in to being the talented player that he is/was; he has poise in spades. Have you seen his Archibald protrait? he is cut up like Schwarzenegger, lol.
    Based on last year I’d say that Richmond was on the up, even without him. Quite a few good young turks coming through.

    I must say, I think Richo is an overrated, off & on, inaccurate, dummyspitting tosser.
    Now Kane Johnson, 2 times Crows Premiership player, there is a player; & the guy that broke his leg in half, FMD! tough recovery!

  74. This really bites.

    It’s an improv vid of the RHCP song “pea”.
    I favourited it on utoob many aeons ago & now they’ve disabled the audio coz of some legal spat.

    A shame, anyone familiar with the song (definitely NOT my usual death fare) would have enjoyed the humourous vid.

  75. Just for you Toiletb…

  76. I can understand you saying that about Richo, and he does have trouble hiding his displeasure if he thinks a teammate has let him – or the team – down.

    But.

    He always gives everything he’s got, and he is as yellow-and-black as anyone who’s ever graced the Punt road oval. And the supporters love him for it. It wouldn’t surprise me if he’s still going around when he’s 40.

  77. I had to knock that clip on the head VERY quickly min!

    Not a bad player for a state traitor though. Gotta say, I would have loathed him more if he’d gone back & played for the portscum.

  78. Don’t click Min’s link Tb. I haven’t, but I just know it’s a trick. One of those Collingwood subliminal things for sure. Evil.

  79. “He always gives everything he’s got, and he is as yellow-and-black as anyone who’s ever graced the Punt road oval”TOSY

    Good points. He was the only “star” for a long time too & he hasn’t jumped ship, kudos for that.

    My cousin married someone who was on the Richmond list for a year or so but never “made it” so I have a little insight into him (Richo).

    I’d forgotten about the game tonight, cheers for the reminder.

  80. You were dead right about the Collingwood trick.

    It’s a horrible picture of Travis Cloke after he got beat up over the summer & I nearly shed a tear for him.

  81. Well that sh!ts me!

    I just had a look & neither of the regional stations are showing the game, delayed or otherwise.
    It’s times like these I remember the convenience of living in a putrefying capital city.

  82. “It wouldn’t surprise me if he’s still going around when he’s 40.” (Tony).

    If Richmond discard him at 40 that fruit-tingle team in Adelaide will probably pick him up. They have a history of securing has beens. It’s the only history they’ve got.

  83. Don’t knock Min for admiring Buckley. He did, afterall, come from Port Adelaide.

    At least she has the good judgement to admire a real star. Not like that team of self-besotted winkers in Adelaide who drool over anyone who gels their hair.

  84. Hey reb, this is a photo of you and me when I visited you in Tassie.

  85. Blonde hair that is…

    Not blonde permed hair like Chad though.

  86. My new motto:

  87. Tony, I know who won the footy.

  88. LOL Miglo. So do I. Why do you think I’ve been discussing tarrifs and underpants for the last hour or so?

  89. Tony, that’s a good diversion.

    My team plays Geelong on Saturday and at least it will be live on Fox. We might even win as that spoilt little snot Ablett won’t be playing, and neither will that bloke with the permanent sunburn (Ling).

  90. Yeah Miglo,

    That’ll be a good test of where you guys are. as for my team: we’re nowhere, as usual. 😦

  91. Not true TOSY.

    They would have made a fist of it if they’d kicked straight.

  92. Not fair! Why no Ablett?

  93. Anyway guys, I’m retiring for the evening. (Tboss, I wish it was my Phelpsie night.) Ah well. See yas.

  94. yep, bedtime here in SA too.

    More likely due to Phelpsie having been around for most of the evening than actually being tired.

    It would be good to see Geelong get beaten on Saturday, but don’t tell miglo I said that.

    Take it easy, catchyaz.

  95. But just quickly, one of the reasons is because of the personal attacks on him has left him reluctant to post again.

    (and I hope that this is a fair assessment Adrian if you are reading).

    Hope to see you here again Adrian, I miss you. Your posts were always the ones that I sought, always a compass to guide me to the right place, it’s just not the same without you.

    When you’re ready, but don’t be too long away. There’s a noisy rabble having a cocktail party and some over at midweek mayhem talking sh*t, but I’m having a quiet drink here. To you Adrian *clink* and salut!

  96. oops, I thought I was on another thread – anyway, it’s safe they’ve gone now :cheers:

    PS – Meant to be ‘when you’re ready, but don’t be away too long’, not what I actually wrote.

  97. “There’s a noisy rabble having a cocktail party”

    It was a goodie kittylitter. The Lioness in the mirror was missed…or was it a lion? Good pic anyway.
    🙂

    Long road to real CHANGE…but we’re getting there.

    Off to bed.
    N’

  98. Cheers N’, glad you had a good time.

    [sniff] some of us are shiftworkers you know and have to work instead of this vile frolyking! */martyr act*

    I just wanted to say vile in a sentence, to know the power of Andy Bolt! (I blame pure poison).

  99. “Not fair! Why no Ablett?” (Tboss).

    Too scared. Josh Carr plays for us now.

  100. lol, true.

    I’d forgotten that he had come back!

    Why do you think that anyone would want to leave such a champion team as Freo?

  101. Toiletboss, on February 27th, 2009 at 10:32 am Said:

    lol, true.

    I’d forgotten that he had come back!

    Why do you think that anyone would want to leave such a champion team as Freo?

    ‘Spose he’d had enough of living the dream. Lol.

Comments are closed.

