Meet me at the Watercooler..

winebloggersweb

Or should that be “the keg?”

Welcome to our beginning of the working week thread. It’s usually the “watercooler,” but stuff it. I thought we’d have a glass of the red stuff instead.

Actually, I’m back on the chamomile tea. Which is bloody tragic when you think about it.

Well yesterday, was, apparantly, a national day of mourning.

It managed to elude me until I caught a snapshot of John Brumby bopping to a rousing rendition of “Reach out and touch somebody.” “Exactly where” was left to the imagination and what the entire fanfare had to do with the Victorian fire disaster escaped me, but I guess it meant something to somebody.

Certainly Kevin Rudd was in fine mournful form; all pursued lips semi-sedated delivery, however he was narrowly outdone by Malcolm Turnbull, who managed to deliver his monologue with much more heavy-hearted and sombre gravitas. The Milky Bar kid was no match for Turnbull’s Hamlet.

All we needed was Julie Bishop to throw herself upon the alter in tears wailing “why hast thou forsaken me?” And we would’ve had all the makings of a Shakespearean tragedy.

Tony Abbott had obviously been side-stepped altogether, no doubt with his demand to descend from the ceiling of the Rod Laver arena in glowing white robes and neon halo being considered ‘not in keeping’ with the current economic climate.

Joe Hockey was no where to be seen either, although rumour has it, he was touting the crowds outside the arena in a crown of thorns, dragging a life size crucifix and scalping tickets to his next appearance on Sunrise.

Anyway, this is the stuff of nonsense….

Over to youse…

54 Responses

  1. Who then has the 30 pieces of silver?

  2. “Tony Abbott had obviously been side-stepped altogether, no doubt with his demand to descend from the ceiling of the Rod Laver arena in glowing white robes and neon halo being considered ‘not in keeping’ with the current economic climate.”

    Hahaha…probably got the hem of his robe caught up in his bicycle chain.

    N’

  3. Certainly Kevin Rudd was in fine mournful form; all pursued lips semi-sedated delivery

    Do not let it be said he wasn’t doing his bit at the bushfire sites, though. Picture here:

  4. Last night I watched a movie called “Australian Rules”, which about a football team in a small town on the West Coast of SA. Half the team are Aboriginal boys, and the movie is about the racial divisions within the team and the club.

    Not bad for a South Aussie movie. It is certainly very watchable, and at times very powerful. While not the greatest movie I’ve seen, I recommend it to all.

  5. You HAVE to watch this film clip just to see the amazing drummer. He really comes into his own late in the song. Absolutely brilliant.

  6. Good stuff Miglo.

    Takes me back…the vinyl of Wings Over America was excellent. And heaps of their original albums.

    How’s this for drumming?:

    Billy Cobham, Herbie Hancock, and Ron Carter
    N’

  7. Well yesterday, was, apparantly, a national day of mourning.

    …and, although some Blogocrats have voiced their “distaste”, I was proud to fly the Aussie flag at half mast all day at my place yesterday…it will fly every year on the 7th Feb…the number of deaths is staggering, especially children…

  8. After a family conference, it was decided that my cousin Robert and his wife Janet should go. My father was the 5th of 8 children and we are an extensive family and there were only a certain number of seats.

  9. Good on you TB.

    Please be assured I wasn’t making light of the disaster and those affected. It is a truly horrific episode in our history.

    If anything, if there was any “distaste” expressed it was directed at our pollies who seem to hog the limelight at these memorials. Personally, I’d rather we had non-political people doing the speeches, but that’s just me…

    No offence or belittling of the gravity of the event or the crisis intended..

  10. I’m w/ Lord reb.

    But the loss of life is tragic.

    And as TB said…

    “the number of deaths is staggering, especially children…”

    Wish they’d come up w/ a new flag.

    N’

  11. Cool stuff of nonsense Lord.

  12. And aye to TB. This is Australia’s worst disaster and we do need to follow TB’s lead and be respectful.

    The color of the flag can come later N’..at least we have one hey.

  13. “The color of the flag can come later N’..”

    They keep telling us that Min…but the Aborigines, Chinese workers in the gold mines/on railways…and many others don’t seem to be represented.

    Just my view of it. Things do need to move on. Don’t get me wrong, I respect the brave efforts & sacrifices of those who served under that flag in WW2…but plenty more are now serving under it. Going by the way our politicians and corporate war machines come up w/ conflicts we’ll be waiting centuries to do the right thing by those parts of our society that deserve better.

    “at least we have one hey.”

    Not sure many Aborigines would feel that way.

    Not arguing. Just making apoint many thousands of others have in the past.

    Not having a go at TB either.

    Each has the right to fly their flag, or lower it (a decent mark of respect by TB)…as others have to express their opinion. A fight that goes on sometimes thru violent conflict & brave resistance…& also thru internet communication

    N’

  14. I am very proud of our flag, but I do think that we need a better version.

    I also love the aboriginal flag, and its meaning.

    If we could combine the colours of the aboriginal flag with the southern cross maybe we could have a flag we could all be proud of.

  15. Here’s one of me carrying our preferred flag.

  16. nasking, on February 23rd, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    N’ I also fly the Eureka Flag – particularly on the Queen’s Birthday (you thought I didn’t know sreb 😉 )

    I used to fly it on Anzac Day too but thought it was distasteful to some (my son also served for 121/2 years – had no problem)

    I hope I will live to see the day that Australia grows up into the Republic we should be and flies a new flag to celebrate that maturity…under a united flag, no Aboriginal or Islander flags…

    Something like the Canadian flag would suit me fine – simple, symbolic and unique…

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I also have a “family” flag – black backround with three stone mural crowns placed in a triangular pattern – one of my Norman ancestors controlled three cities…in England in the 11 Century.

  17. lol Miglo…I think I just coughed up my spleen w/ laughter.

    N’

  18. Miglo – most excellent again.

  19. As far as disasters go in Australia, there’s been a few. Some with a greater number of deaths.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_disasters_in_Australia_by_death_toll

    Try the cyclone that killed 400+ at Bathurst Bay in 1889 or the shipwrech that killed 406 at King Island in 1845. Perhaps the 645 who died with the sinking of the HMAS Sydney might rate a mention as well.

  20. Agree, joni

    BTW the colours of the Aboriginal flag are considered to be “South Pacific” but actually come from the German flag, when New Guinea (not Papua) was a German Territory (before WWI) as an Australian Protectorate, Papua New Guinea kept the colours and changed the design to incorporate the Southern Cross and the lyrebird.

    The Aboriginal flags colours are the same as the PNG flag..I think they represent sun, earth and the people? Not sure.

  21. Nature 5, on February 23rd, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    You may have been around then, N5, bit early for me 😀

  22. “I also fly the Eureka Flag – particularly on the Queen’s Birthday”

    Very cool TB.

    “I also have a “family” flag – black backround with three stone mural crowns placed in a triangular pattern – one of my Norman ancestors controlled three cities…in England in the 11 Century.”

    Interesting. My family on Dad’s side uses the crown too.

    I’ve changed to this:

    N’

  23. nasking, on February 23rd, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    LOL!

    Which one is you, N’

  24. TB, let’s just say I’m not big on hats…:) And I’m tall.

    A self-portrait that’s coming along well…tho I’m not sure I’ve captured my smile properly:

    Now I’m really off…have a goodie all.
    N’

  25. bit of work to do on your self portrait nas the smile’s not coming out, looking like more of a wombat I thought 🙂

    here’s mine

  26. The hilarity continues!

    The mad monk was just on TV blabbing on about how the Howard Government “was the best Government in Australia” and that Peter Costello was “the world’s best treasure”.

    Earth calling Tony Abbott…. “Is there anyone in there..?”

  27. Lord reb, on February 23rd, 2009 at 6:45

    Ah, we wondered who was going to come out in support of lazy Tip ‘the greatest treasurer’ after Hewson’s attack.

    Now we know, it’s the christian fellowship of the singers on the hill and opus dei. Why are those two (Abbott & Costello) in politics? Seems to me they should be in a church ministry.

    Anyway, we can’t have an Abbott without a Costello!

  28. LOL Kittylitter!

    So that’s why Tip’s become all religious lately.

    Maybe he’s made a back of the coaster deal (mind you Abbott probably doesn’t drink) to annoint Abbott as the Minister for Religous Affairs on the proviso that the Mad Monk keeps lavishing Custard with abundant praise!

    Can I get an amen!

  29. I like the “Lord” title here. It is so elite & exclusive. It gives this blog a little more quality; it’s becoming an up market site.

    Perhaps get a registration system, and vet the applicants.

    Best we off load some of the riff raff (oh, we have already Toilet Boss?)

  30. Why thank you Tom.

    Should I reinstate my self-bestowed Lordship title based on your good counsel…?

    Perhaps this can become a bit of a “Lordship for Cash” site?

    A bit like wot Tony Blair had going on when he was PM….

    Maybe commentators ought to be “nominated” first by other esteemed members before they right to have a say – particularly during the wine n cheese evenings – is bestowed?

  31. “bit of work to do on your self portrait nas the smile’s not coming out”

    Yer quite right kittylitter, scrubbed it…here’s the new one:

    N’

  32. hey reb,

    Are you watching Top gear? They’re in Vietnam, and have just got tailor made suits (Jeremy’s is purple) and are riding Vespas along a spectacular coast road.

  33. Hammond’s suit is akind of orange smoking jacket number with yellow lapels. James has some kind of oriental dragon pajamas number.

  34. My bad for saying number twice.

    / Once was too much.

  35. At the risk of being accused of bias by Neil, does anyone else think that Andrew Robb’s performance (?) on Lateline was appalling.

    He is completely out of his depth. Just repeating his key-points with no understanding of the topic.

  36. Hi Tony,

    Yes, by sheer happenstance I caught Top Gear. The guys got their tailor made suits in the same place where I got mine – Hoi An. I loved Hammond’s orange number…!!

    And that scene where all the lanterns were floating down the river was exactly what I witnessed while there – quite spectacular.

    There were shops selling those bloody model ships that Jeremy ended up having to cart on the back of his motorbike. It ended up in a hell of a state.

    Very funny program. Although I bet they were on the brink of killing each other a few times!

  37. joni, absoutely! I ended up turning Robb’s waffle OFF!

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    sreb, you missed Tony’s point (correct me if I’m wrongToSY) – what nice, bright, flourescent colours are your suits?

    Do you match or contrast the shoes? 😆

  38. Reb,

    That program was a fine advertisement for the country. Vietnam wasn’t on my list of places to go. It is now.

    Hi TB,

    That wasn’t really my point, but I’d love to know. 😉

  39. “Best we off load some of the riff raff (oh, we have already Toilet Boss?)”Tom

    Hmmm, I’m not sure if you’re talking about me or the Lt. Col.(Hi there!) Tom.

    I’m not so easy to displace.

  40. Try this out.

    Go online to White Pages – business.

    Type Magic Shop in the business name and select Qld as the state.

    Then hit search.

  41. joni, on February 25th, 2009 at 9:52 am

    + 😯 +

  42. Joni,

    You’re gonna rot in hell for such blasphemy!

  43. Nothing up my sleeves, hey presto!

    Cool, I am going to my bar called “rot in hell” – woohoo.

  44. joni, how did you know that?

  45. Got an email from a mate. IT people have way too much time.

  46. “Type Magic Shop in the business name and select Qld as the state.”

    Wanna see me pull a religion out of my hat?

    Hey presto!…

    🙂 Nice one joni
    N’

  47. Must show it to the nuns across the road. My catholic friends are due any second (off to look at houseboats at Hope Island) must show them – let you know what the reaction is.

  48. TB:

    “sreb, you missed Tony’s point (correct me if I’m wrongToSY) – what nice, bright, flourescent colours are your suits?”

    And you call me a cheeky bugger!

    I’ll have you know that my suits are handcrafted from the finest cashmere wool in either dark, charcoal grey with an ever so subtle pinstripe, or nice earthy Autumn colours.

    As opposed to sky blue polyester safari suits with stitched in matching belts and gold buckles!!

  49. “I’ll have you know that my suits are handcrafted from the finest cashmere wool in either dark, charcoal grey with an ever so subtle pinstripe, or nice earthy Autumn colours.”

    reb, like this?:

    🙂
    N’

  50. Yep, that’s me Nasking! Ain’t I cute….?

  51. No nasking, reb is more like this.

  52. “Yep, that’s me Nasking! Ain’t I cute….?”

    Ginger Meggs ain’t got nuthin’ on you.

    reb, I’ve heard that after watching Top Gear you transform into this:

    🙂
    N’

  53. “reb is more like this.”

    Miglo, I think you’re mixing that up w/ Tony Abbott at the St Patrick’s Seminary ‘Intelligent Design” party.
    N’

  54. “reb, I’ve heard that after watching Top Gear you transform into this:”

    Now that’s something I’d like to fall into after a hard day at the office…!

Comments are closed.

