Finally Frolyk Friskily for Friday

Well – what a week. We have had some major shenanigans in parliament, the devestation from the fires in Victoria and let’s not forget the floods and descruction in FNQ. And so the week comes to an end.

What’s everyone up to this weekend?

Tonight I am off to the Mardi Gras Film Festival First Night where a 30 second ad I created for Amnesty International will be shown (it will be shown before each film in the festival). I hope I got all the spelling correct. Saturday the boyf and I will be shaking and shimying on the dance floor, and then Sunday is Fair Day and more work for Amnesty. I am gonna need to come to work next week to have a rest.

Play nice, no swearing and no cut-and-pastes of long articles (you two know who I am looking at!).

156 Responses

  1. “Tonight I am off to the Mardi Gras Film Festival First Night”

    Sounds good…wish my wife & I were there. We have some close friends in Sydney who are great to party with…and our fun times up here at The Wickam Hotel stopped once they left for down there. I wish you an enjoyable & stimulating time joni.

    As for us, we’re gonna consume a few beers, make a coconut vege curry, listen for awhile to the new Interpol album & some beaut free cds I got w/ a magazine subscription from a special guy for Xmas…thnx again if yer out there…

    then when we’re lubricated enuff we’re gonna do the Friday the 13th thing…watch two horror flicks

    Here’s a live track from one of the cds I got w/ the mag:

    (Ryan Bingham – Hard Times)

  2. Sneaking off now for a sneaky one with the missus. Have a great weekend all. Pray to whoever your deity may be, even Gaia, actually especially Gaia, that we don’t see a repeat of last weekend. A lot of fire danger still about.

  3. “Sneaking off now for a sneaky one with the missus”

    Better make the most of it as it may well be your last. Married blokes don’t get ‘sneaky ones’ with the missus. 🙂

  4. Huh, I think James meant mistress, not missus.

  5. “Better make the most of it as it may well be your last. Married blokes don’t get ’sneaky ones’ with the missus. ”

    A joke, a light hearted moment from a grumpy accountant!!

    Must be a sock puppet. Grumpy accountants don’t make jokes with James.

  6. “Huh, I think James meant mistress, not missus.”

    Oh, then it probably won’t be his last,. unless the missus finds out, of course.

  7. “Must be a sock puppet. Grumpy accountants don’t make jokes with James.”

    The first barb in Friday Frolyks has been fired by Tom.

  8. Why are we throwing my nextdoor neighbour Barb around? Isn’t that politically incorrect?

  9. Nasking and Migs

    Play nice, no swearing and no cut-and-pastes of long articles (you two know who I am looking at!).

    Don’t take offense by Joni’s comments, I don’t. But do try to keep is short and try to avoid long cut and pastes, I know it’s hard…just try, that’s all anyone can do.

  10. I’m back home and effing exhausted.

    remind me never to transit in Queensland again.

    It’s full of people who look like they’re from (or should that be “on” another planet).

  11. I’m feeling a little impuissant and inutile. I think Stephan’s Jedi-Mind F@%k experiment is starting to work.

  12. Reb throws in an ‘effing’ and shit I still can’t find my dictionary!

  13. “I’m feeling a little impuissant and inutile.”

    LOL “Why didn’t you just say ‘impotent’ or is that too close to home?”

  14. Welcome back Reb, and three cheers for Joni’s excellent solo work holding down the fort.

  15. OI! John! Swearing! No!

  16. Welcome back reb…. joni collapses in exhaustion.

    (and thanks Tony, thanks also to Kevin for his posts too)

  17. reb,

    joni said to place nice and you’ve gone and tried to provoke TB in you’re first post!

    Besides, with you being from Tassie and all, there is that old saying about glasshouses and rocks 😉

  18. Huh, on February 13th, 2009 at 4:12 pm Said:

    “I’m feeling a little impuissant and inutile.”

    LOL “Why didn’t you just say ‘impotent’ or is that too close to home?”

    CLASSIC!

  19. My oh my John. Your first foray into comedy is most impressive. Effing impressive, to be precise.

  20. “three cheers for Joni’s excellent solo work holding down the fort.”

    Hooray! Hooray! Hooray!

  21. joni, on February 13th, 2009 at 4:13 pm Said:

    Welcome back reb…. joni collapses in exhaustion.

    (and thanks Tony, thanks also to Kevin for his posts too)

    U….hum! U…hum did we forget someone Joni?

  22. Thanks Dave, Joni, Tony & John,

    I’ve always had great confidence in joni’s solo efforts.

  23. Oh dear – sorry John!
    Sorry sorry sorry sorry (Cut and paste as appropriate)

  24. Huh, on February 13th, 2009 at 4:15 pm Said:

    “three cheers for Joni’s excellent solo work holding down the fort.”

    Hooray! Hooray! Hooray!

    And you wonder why I’m feeling a little I’m feeling a little impuissant and inutile

    What about me, it isn’t fair

  25. joni, on February 13th, 2009 at 4:17 pm Said:

    Oh dear – sorry John!
    Sorry sorry sorry sorry (Cut and paste as appropriate)

    That’s better

  26. I’m effing exhausted now!

  27. “What about me, it isn’t fair”

    Hooray! Hooray! Hooray!

    and since you asked for it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqyIwZpr5y0

  28. Apologies for what you thought was ‘swearing’ Joni but where I’m from the use of such tame language is considered polite.

  29. Huh

    Exactly what I had in mind (lol)

  30. Remember John that I am a Miller boy originally. 😉

  31. Can we continue with the most hilarious exchange I had with several very entertaining contributors last night on midweek mayhem?

  32. Sorry John and Kevin. I meant three cheers for Joni’s solo moderating work, not solo thread posting, because we all know it was a triumverate team effort (with a sparkling cameo from Tom, if I’m not mistaken).

  33. Yep, joni did a great job…as did you John. I didn’t take any offense at joni’s comment ’cause I thought he was referring to you…:)

    Anyway, lately I’ve also been getting into Moby again (since I picked up his ‘Hotel’ album…belatedly).

    Here’s a nice song:

    (Moby – Dream About Me)

    N’

  34. Welcome back Reb.

    “remind me never to transit in Queensland again.
    It’s full of people who look like they’re from (or should that be “on” another planet).”

    Mebbe some of us are…:)

    N’

  35. thank you Nasking. It’s nice to be back.

    I have an airport tale to tell, however I’ll probably save it for a dedicated post….

  36. “I have an airport tale to tell, however I’ll probably save it for a dedicated post….”

    You’ll probably need material while joni takes a month off to recover from his weekend.

  37. welcome back Reb

    Also i was a little rushed in posting that shark attack at Bondi. It seems to be a normal shark attack in the sence that in the evening you should not be on the surface.

    Now i have to read all the comments above

  38. Min,
    after a lot of thought i have desided to take the less of two evils. That link about the cane toads was good and gives some options.
    All i have to do is collect them walk across the road to the park and dump them there.

    Now there in the house, we got flooded last night really bad. ankle deep down stairs. seeing its all tiled i might keep the new pool.

  39. joni, on February 13th, 2009 at 4:24 pm Said:

    Remember John that I am a Miller boy originally. 😉

    What? And no brain damage! Can’t fool me joni

  40. Tony, on February 13th, 2009 at 4:29 pm Said:

    Sorry John and Kevin. I meant three cheers for Joni’s solo moderating work, not solo thread posting, because we all know it was a triumverate team effort (with a sparkling cameo from Tom, if I’m not mistaken).

    Note to self, No X-Mas card for Tony this year.

  41. “Remember John that I am a Miller boy originally. ”

    What!, not a Bud boy?

    N’

  42. “Can we continue with the most hilarious exchange I had with several very entertaining contributors last night on midweek mayhem?” Tom-tom

    That would be an extreme violation of PC fundaments Tom, not to mention outside of the boundaries of playing nice.

    However, I must say, your last spiel about the Lord Mayor had me wetting my knickers when I got home this morning.

  43. I am a bud boy of sorts, not the putrid American beverage variety though.

  44. “I am a bud boy of sorts”

    LOL. HG or hydro?

  45. “I am a bud boy of sorts, not the putrid American beverage variety though.”

    Glad to hear it…:) I did my teenage years (13-19) in Canada mostly…Primary school years here…& once my mates (buddies) & I started drinkin’ it became pretty obvious that compared to Labatt’s Blue & Molsen Golden & other Canuck beers the American stuff tasted piss weak…it was commonly referred to as “pony piss”.

    N’

  46. I haven’t been able to get this movie…& song from Moby…out of my mind the last coupla mths:

    (Memory Gospel by Moby from the movie ‘Southland Tales’.)

    I luv cult movies. Can remember when so many reviewers & audiences criticised Blade Runner & I thought WOW!

    N’…over & out

  47. Reb old mate. Glad you’re back safe’n’sound. I was a bit concerned about all those aquas in your last port of call.

  48. “LOL. HG or hydro?”huh

    Preferably from outside, fed by the sunshine.

    Not too fussy though.

  49. Welcome back to Australia reb.

    Our cricketers are really shit here.

  50. Hi Toiletboss,

    A certain green-thumbed friend will be visiting on Tuesday night – let’s call him Phelpsie. He takes great pride in his hobby, including the way he presents his handiwork, tightly wrapped in special brown paper.

    I restrict my samplings of such treats to his fortnightly visits, along with a pizza, a fine wine or beer, and a game of Scrabble.

  51. Tony are you from Reedy Creek?

  52. Is that near Scrubby Creek?

  53. Wrong Tony. Very inutile of me.

  54. Don’t do that Miglo. Now I’ll have to scroll back and see what that means.

  55. By the way – and I don’t know if you South Australians watch Victorian teams – I’m watching Essendon v Bulldogs. Good skills for this time of year.

  56. Phelpsie drops in at the Buffalo Lodge most days, always after I finish work. His soothing tones often help with my ingrained shiftworkers’ insomnia.

    He doesn’t indulge me as he used to in my halcyon days when I was veritably gluttonous.
    To many visits from him in 24 hrs can make me impuissant & inutile in extremis; no good if I’ve gotta be productive or public.

    I’ve never seen you at Reedy Creek Tony. It’s kinda like Deadman’s Creek without a deadman or a creek.

  57. OK. You guys have got me on reedy creek. Is it a croweater thing?

  58. “Don’t do that Miglo. Now I’ll have to scroll back and see what that means.” (Tony).

    You mean to say that you don’t know what it means!!!! Don’t they speak the Queen’s English in Victoria?

    I’ll teach you some phrases. This is how you greet a friend: “How for art thou?”

  59. There is more than one Tony here? WTF?

    I just assumed that the card carrying member of the VRWC is from South Yarra. If I’m wrong about that then I’m very confused.

    Forgot about the footy tonight, haven’t watched any for a while so am keen to have a look…although the regional TV station is delaying the telecast so I’ll be heading out the door to work & the game won’t be over yet which is frustrating.
    Don’t mind some of the Vic teams. For me it’s usually a case of barracking for the one I dislike the least.
    Hope the Bulldogs win & then fail during the season proper.
    Essendon will fail whether I wish them ill will or not.
    Port will probably fail but I’ll burn effiges of the team just to make sure. Sydney will pound them into dust next weekend…fingers crossed.
    The Crows will pound Geelong into dust the following weekend…gulp, fingers & toes crossed.

    Looking forward to RD1 & seeing Cats V Hawks in a Grandfinal rematch.

  60. “OK. You guys have got me on reedy creek. Is it a croweater thing?”

    No it’s a rural backwater thing. Some of us crawled out of the primordial slime near there.

  61. And I’ll be there to watch them TB. Me and about 450 curious others.

    Jedda is the big footy watcher in this house. She loves her footy. She’s fanatical Port but doesn’t mind 14 of the other teams.

  62. Just the one Tony (me). Have dropped the News Ltd suburb identification.

    Cannot get over the speed of the game tonight. Very close at quarter time.

  63. Tony, what Tboss is trying to tell you is that he and I were both born in the same little hamlet, backwater SA.

  64. Damn, & here I was thinking that Jedda was a normal planetary citizen.
    Hope you both aren’t too disconsolate after Sydney pounds your lot into dust.

    Better have a look at the game now.

  65. inutile – so that’s how I feel, well f***k me!

    (Note: Reply not needed – metaphoric only – htsxl – absolutely!)

    That ‘elps enormously – not! “inutile”! FFS! Who’s been running this site since sreb went o’seas, and, joni’s been playing protestor – Gawd struth! Talk about letting the bloody academics loose!

    …and now their burbling about aerial ping pong as if its real football (oh! when does it start?)

  66. I don’t mind some of the other teams. Except Collingwood and Carlton. Oh, and the interstate teams. Plus the other Victorian teams, besides Richmond. Did I tell you guys I’m a Tigers supporter?

  67. A few weeks away yet TB.

    When do the guys with dismembered ears & no-necks come out to play?

  68. Heh TB. What’s that team you like? The Macaroons?

  69. oops! “They’re…” Beware the spellcheckers!

  70. GO! THE MAROONS!

    Bloody Mexicans wouldn’t know how to spell football let alone play it!

  71. TB.

    ROTFLMAO.

  72. What’s thet thing they yell, your state-of-origin players?

    QUEENSCOUNCILLOR!

  73. Did I tell you guys I’m a Tigers supporter?

    No. But you’ll be sorry I did.

    TB Queensland, hello old bean. You’ll have to check out the DD – X marks the spot blog for a lesson in real English. Tip: have a thick dictionary handy.

  74. Yeah Tony I HATE Collingwood & Carlton.

    Strangely I was a Tigers fan growing up until the WCE entered the AFL/VFL, & of course after the advent of AFC. Rank underdogs week in week out but look to be on the up.
    What’s your take on Cousins Tony?
    I’d be pretty f@cken happy to have him if I supported Richmond, the guy is a gun; still a gun too by the looks of him. Always had a poise & maturity on field that few can match & has years left in him. Brownlow material?
    I could care less what he gets up to off field. Lots of stupid clubs around that wouldn’t pick him up IMHO.

  75. When do the guys with dismembered ears & no-necks come out to play? LOL.

    Do you mean that game where one bloke tries to push two blokes up three bloke’s bums.

  76. Bloody hell! more dramas!

    Catch yer!

  77. Hey TBQ, do you remember a few years back when a ship with a cargo of red paint collided with a ship with a cargo of brown paint up in Newcastle?

    All the survivors were marooned.

  78. Seriously, Cousins is just the tip of the iceberg as far as the off-field behaviour of AFL (and NRL and Australian Cricket) players is concerned.

    If the AFL was more concerned about stopping players’ after-hours recreational – and I use that word advisedly – pursuits, than it is about its own reputation and bottom line, than it would scrap the three strikes drug policy tomorrow.

  79. Dramas? where?

    In the real world I guess. Good luck with that TB.
    When you’ve fixed the dramas be sure & have a WT for me.

  80. Miglo, what happened to that Stephanie girl? She sure speaks purty.

    *thumbs through dictionary. WTF does inutile mean?*

  81. Does that mean that you’re glad to have him on the list or not Tony?

    You’re right re tip of the iceberg. Too much digging around in their lives is gonna turn up some messy & very human behaviour.

    Luckily most sporting “champions” settle down to peaceful, well adjusted lives of serenity when their careers are over…much like Wayne Carey.

  82. Cousins? Yes, very happy to have him – for on-field reasons of course, but memberships have flourished as well.

    Wayne Carey, much to his more deluded fans’ chagrin, has proved himself to be extremely human.

  83. I always thought that Carey was a Tosser, even when he was playing well.
    Arrogant, deified & not particularly bright. I was really hoping that the US cops he assaulted would see him thrown into the bighouse over there for a while; unfortunately he’s made of the kind of money that gets people out of such jams.

    Recruiting him was one of the dumbest things the Crows ever did.

  84. Chalks just posted on DD – X marks the spot. Has changed his name to Davo.

    What an intelligent sounding name: Davo.

  85. That’s not chalks. Even Chalks made more sense than Davo.

  86. Davo reminds me of Piers A.
    seems i going to have to work hard to get my dumbest comment title back.

  87. Yes, the Crows could have done better than Carey at the time, but I took some perverse pleasure from that particular decision (as revenge for some Richmond-Crows games I attended at the MCG).

  88. Miglo
    # Reb old mate. Glad you’re back safe’n’sound. I was a bit concerned about all those aquas in your last port of call.

    I was in QLD, stop spreading rumours.
    I had a hot outfit on and i was stalking someone else.

  89. Aqua,

    I would love your thoughts on this:

    After the Bondi shark attack, the NSW primary Industries Minister said this:

    “We had a period of overfishing of sharks in NSW, particularly after the Second World War through to about 1980,” he said.

    “That led to significant reductions in numbers of sharks and threatened a number of species.

    “The build-up of numbers has been an objective of the Government. Of course, with that comes enhanced risk.”

    http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/02/13/2490858.htm

  90. G’night all.

    Off to work now.

  91. Later HD.

  92. Tony,
    The attack in bondi was just an accident. this silly man was not warned or did not care of the extra senses used and inhanced during the evening.

    The attack on the Navy diver however(and i have to be carefull how i put my words) was deliberate due to the devise being used to collect data. Carefull what the navy says, they need public support to go after this shark(kill it and retreive the device) and are doing it through the injuries of the diver.

    Attacks will increase and that i will bet on, the behavior is similar the that of a speices we have not discovered and are learning its habbits.

    Place that have been overfished and died off, underwater life knows there is nothing there and aviods it like a radioactive zone. when a shark runs out of food it moves on, it dosnt start chewing rock. so lack off food is unlikely to be the problem but is a seperate problem all together.

    I do have an answer but Tony i Have no proof. None. Not even personal experience on the answer. just word of mouth

  93. And be equally carefull of the new breed of killer gold fish.

  94. Apologies for the later intervention. I’d only add that the Crown Prince of Crapperville has to be unimpuissant and disinutile.

  95. By the way aquanut, I’m spending some time in the water. My wife, who has the most amazing surgically enhanced breasts, thinks I should wear a complete dead and bloodied rabbit around my neck. She says this is better luck than just the foot.

    Makes sense to me, but then I’m impuissant and inutile.

  96. bath in aniseed oil for a far better out come of meeting company out in the open sea. you’ll have them in a frenzy with the oiled up extensions you have to offer.

  97. “the behavior is similar the that of a speices we have not discovered and are learning its habbits.”

    Aquanut, are you saying this is a creature spawned from experiments?

    N’

  98. no, not at all Nasking

    what im saying is that some sharks are learning a new behaviour which is confusing if you use to know what to look for when diving. this is the beginning of a long road. You will hear different things from individuals but overall we can all agree that attacks are increasing but reasons vary a lot.

    some equipment attracts and some equipment deters.
    Ive seen a barracuda attack a torch and severe the hand.

    But this is in its early stages this includes vegetation.
    Im banging off a little but only cause i dont often know anything about the other subjects we discuss.

  99. Tony and Toiletboss: I was almost going to mention that Ben Cousins would have been the only Brownlow winner to be drafted in most unusual circumstances until Toiletboss mentioned Wayne Carey. Hmmm. Thats two.
    Nevertheless, unlike Carey, Ben has the charisma that attracts people to him. More to the point, I applaud Richmond on having the courage and foresight in recruiting a champion footballer and a fine if not somewhat wayward person.
    Ben leaves no part of his, stomach, courage and skill in the locker room. On the football field Ben is the real deal.
    Lets not forget, Ben has only hurt himself financially, and his family emotionally. All can be fixed and forgiven.
    Kudos to Richmond, all the best to Tigers for 2009.

  100. Tony, on February 13th, 2009 at 9:25 pm Said:

    What’s thet thing they yell, your state-of-origin players?
    QUEENSCOUNCILLOR!

    LOL. But as you point out with Carey and Cousins, I don’t think it is only the NRL boys that have been calling for QCs in the recent past 😉

  101. re Carey as a footballer,

    My best memory of him was in a game (Nth Melb) against the Swans at the SCG (2001 or 2). I was sitting directly behind the goals about 5 rows back. It was pretty empty there but the Swans cheersquad was in the next bay.

    At Qtr time the Swans led by 25pts and looked brilliant – I made the call at the time that the swans would win by a 100, not on the fact that 4 x 25 + 100 but just based on how well they were playing, the Roos weren’t evven in the game.

    Anyway, in the 3rd Qtr the Roos started playing (a little) better and looked like clawing back some of the 50 odd pt deficit. Carey took a mark at the top of the square – lined up and put it wide for a behind (from dead in front) – the crowd went silent, none of us could believe it and even Carey was staring in disbelief at the space between the two centre posts he had just missed from Pt blank. Seizing my opportunity I yelled out – “you’ve got nothing Carey”. He heard it and so did the Swan’s supporters. Carey’s head dropped to some of the loudest laughter I have ever heard at a sporting event.

    I was wrong about the 100 pt margin, it was slightly more 😉 It was probably the best football I have ever seen played by the Swans (and some of the worst football I’ve ever seen from a AFL tems by the Roos but that shouldn’t take anything away from how well the swans played that day).

  102. Dave,

    That was the drunk spelling. It should have been Queens Counsel. 😳

  103. Dave,

    Carey comes across as an arrogant personality, but that’s part of the reason he was so good. He could literally win games off his own boot. Apart from maybe Gary Abblett, I’ve never seen a player who could take control of a game like Carey did.

  104. Tony

    Actually adding the ‘er’ at the end was what made the joke work 😉

    (I’ll ignore the incorrect spelling of counsel but Stephan might pick you up on it)

  105. Tony

    Carey comes across as an arrogant personality, but that’s part of the reason he was so good. He could literally win games off his own boot.

    Not that day he didn’t 😉 but I know what you mean – had he made that goal, everyone in the SCG knew that he had the skill to make a game of it even from so far behind.

  106. Some here will remember that intelligence assessment that said Iran was not seeking to build nuclear weapons, and that when the bush administration had said they were, they lied.

    Well it appears the Obama administration is now saying the same thing:

    U.S. now sees Iran as pursuing nuclear bomb

    In a reversal since a 2007 report, U.S. officials expect the Islamic Republic to reach development milestones this year.

    Reporting from Washington — Little more than a year after U.S. spy agencies concluded that Iran had halted work on a nuclear weapon, the Obama administration has made it clear that it believes there is no question that Tehran is seeking the bomb.

  107. NY Times report from Dec 07:

    An administration that had cited Iran’s pursuit of nuclear weapons as the rationale for an aggressive foreign policy — as an attempt to head off World War III, as President Bush himself put it only weeks ago — now has in its hands a classified document that undercuts much of the foundation for that approach.

    The impact of the National Intelligence Estimate’s conclusion — that Iran had halted a military program in 2003, though it continues to enrich uranium, ostensibly for peaceful uses — will be felt in endless ways at home and abroad.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/12/04/washington/04assess.html?_r=2&ex=1354510800&en=7425e187f2c24496&ei=5088&partner=rssnyt&emc=rss

    (The blogocracy article I linked to above refers to Iraq, not Iran. My bad.)

  108. Aqua am just catching up as eldest and bf arrived on their way up to the Brisbane airport. Small problem about dumping cane toads at the park is that if there are frogs, lizards, small birds etc then they are likely to do quite a bit of damage there. Far better to follow recommended disposal methods.

    Oh no not floods. Have been flooded before when we were living at New Brighton, had to be rescued by the SES who did an absolutely wonderful job of saving all of B’s uni books, bedding. And a 2nd time when we were at Billinudgel. That was the scary one with all creeks overflowing and surrounding the house. The clean ups are a real bugger especially the sludge and the smell from overflowing sewerage systems.

  109. And for Aqua again. My eldest has a science degree in coastal management. I think that the academics should be listening to people such as yourself.

  110. “what im saying is that some sharks are learning a new behaviour which is confusing if you use to know what to look for when diving. this is the beginning of a long road.”

    Aquanut, that would certainly make the job of navy divers far more & unpredictable. Would you say that any chemicals released into the sea might have anything to do w/ it?…perhaps combined w/ changes in water temperature this is altering their brain chemistry, affecting hormones…?

    N’

  111. Yes nasking the chemicals are a complete seperate problem again, with the many possiblities and the damage they have on humans can only be a smart suggestion.

    Water temperature seems to be along side of every problem.
    In any case i would like to borrow your question and put to another. You raised something i should of thought off.
    ———
    Min
    the flood was bad, we tried for ages to stop it coming in at the end when we were ankle deep we just held hands sat in it and started laughing. thats life.

  112. Aqua. Can relate to that, grabbed the doonas off the beds and old blankets and stuffed them around the perimeters but being a timber house it just came through the walls. I have this wonderful visualisation of you and P holding hands and laughing. You are a treasure!!!

  113. At one stage I had all the boats lined up rear end to the door and using all the bilge and bait pumps to suck the water out off the house but i had nowhere to store it so it just came back in the house.

  114. John Howard awarded a honourary doctorate. The awards just keep on coming.
    http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,25053575-1702,00.html

  115. Migs..re the reminder about Valentine’s Day. Guess whose husband forgot.

  116. Min,

    I half forgot, but Jedda fully forgot. I let her off though.

  117. PS – go easy on hubby. Remember that you’re his Valentine all year round.

  118. As we are heading rapidly towards 34 years of wedded bliss shall let him off the hook. However I do expect lunch out tomorrow.

  119. Miglo. I just checked the link. Choke, choke an honorary doctorate from a private university for services to privately run universities. Who would have thunk it..thanks for the money honey.

  120. I’m still in recovery mode. Last night I fell asleep on the couch at 6.00pm, then woke up wide awake at midnight. Watched some french movie on TV and then went back to bed.

    I dreamt that I was in some bar somewhere enjoy several brandies and cigarettes.

    I woke up at 11.00am feeling like I had been to a nightclub all night.

    And then it struck me.

    I don’t actually smoke, which was a pleasant surprise as it reminded me that that’s one less thing I have to worry about giving up.

    Now, I’m tired again. Maybe I’ll be a junkie tonight.

  121. Min @ 5:52.

    Ironic isn’t it Min. The bloke who did his best to dumb down this country receives a doctorate for his services to private universities. WTF!

  122. Miglo, on February 14th, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    …but what an appropriate university?

  123. I could get a complex here – every time I post just lately – everbody buggers off…

    …ah! well as HD suggested last night – another WT!

    …”clink” if anybody comes back!

  124. I’ll drink with ya TB. *clink*

  125. and there’s still lurkers here to have a drink with you too TB. *clink*

  126. Ok, as the rain 🙂 has forced me to have a few brews and loiter around some nostalgia , a quiz;
    CN No. 6525 … Tim Fischer and Gerry Garcia have a connection,lots of Old VL plus other refreshments. Very scenic and unlikely to have embraced JWH although GWB may have lasted for as long as the first stop,then removed.
    Points given for you young folk.
    Young? Naskin gets severe demerits if he a} Don’t know,or b}lets it be know too soon.
    Old Lang…..

  127. hi Lang,

    “Tim Fischer and Gerry Garcia have a connection”

    No idea, but can I take a guess: They were both on smack?

  128. Good try, and closer than you think…but no.

  129. Damn. I knew Tim Fischer was – just wasn’t sure about Garcia.

    😀

  130. (Does anybody know if Gerry Garcia was Ambassador to The Holy See?)

  131. Yes, I do.

  132. “John Howard awarded a honourary doctorate”

    Don’t tell me, a Doctorate in Recession Creating…RIGHT?

    N’

  133. Will Hugo get his way?

    http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25056970-5005961,00.html

    Apparently he needs another 10 years to properly implement his “socialist reforms”.
    I think if he gets the amendments passed he’ll be lucky to make it 10years without the CIA getting someone to assasinate him or staging another coup.

    Adopting ways of wealth distribution contrary to the Trickle Down submission systems favoured by Teh Empire often lead to decades of clandestine interference in the affairs of poorer South American agitators. Demonstrating alternatives that might benefit the entire population, rather than the bloated corporatocracy, isn’t allowed as it may cause the cattle at home to scratch their heads & wonder if we’re all not just being royally f@cked when we’re ensured that free markets are our god.

  134. I think if he gets the amendments passed he’ll be lucky to make it 10years without the CIA getting someone to assasinate him or staging another coup.

    Toiletboss,

    Surely you’re not suggesting such things could occur under a hopenchange regime?

    /sarcasm

  135. Definitely I’m suggesting that the US didn’t suddenly stop being the US just because it changed its hoodornament recently.

  136. That’s what I thought you meant.

  137. “…a hopenchange regime…”

    The only ones who actually believe that are a majority of the desperate US voting public.

    I am not one of them.

    I know Clinton was no Saint & if you want to know how the US is gonna behave (under any government) you only need to look back at the last 50years & their self interested behaviour in South America; they’ve been fairly consistently predictable throughout.
    Yes We Can switch off our global awareness because we don’t want to think about the reasons we may have given other global citizens to question our motives.

  138. Regardless, it will be interesting to see the will of the Venezuelan people in regard to whether or not they want Commandante in perpetuity.
    I secretly hope he gets up, but I’m not sure that having the same “leader” for so long is healthy in any country or society.

  139. Better retire to my coffin now, my eyes are bleeding.

    enjoy the daylight peoples

  140. Motion in the Ocean: The six secrets of squid sex.

    http://www.slate.com/id/2211343/pagenum/all/#p2

  141. TBoss with all the bleeding you do im sure you have ties to the bloodbank or should either way youd be good for bait. 😉

  142. Nature 5, on February 15th, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Is this a special post for sreb, N5?

    I thought he was into octopussies – although pretty much of a muchness I suppose…I even read the link! (Confession, speed read, some of it, well, a bit of it, OK enough to get the gist of it…) sreb will “love” it…

    ==========================
    BTB thanks Tony and bacchus for the “clink” – as you probably figured I got another phone call – I always thought bad luck came in threes – mines 333 at the moment!

  143. well peoples, i have offically stopped my meds.

    If there is a change in behavior which is out of line i want to say sorry now. A friend will let me know if i have overstepped anything.
    If im drunk well im naturally silly.
    But dont worry i still have my sh8t together.
    —–
    i just figured it out, the dolphins build the pyramids?

  144. I have so much extra energy. unless my wife put cocaine into my meal.
    something else has come to life too, now i can get rid off that surface rust.

  145. Aqua..have written a note to your email account.

    My theory too, humans are far too unimaginative to have constructed the pyramids. And then dolphins, being the intelligent beings that they are went back to the water.

  146. Well done Aqua..can we expect a little Aqua in about 9 months time?

  147. Get ready for a whopper of an email.

    Oh Min i so hope for it, little aquanuts.

  148. Received aqua plus I think that I should start knitting.

  149. I found Sean Penn’s travelogue & insights on Chavez & the Castro brothers interesting & enlightening:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sean-penn/mountain-of-snakes_b_146765.html

    recommend reading both parts.

    N’

  150. also the manager is the middle man, so when the boss and the employees disagree its one off the hardest positions to be in, only if you care about the people working under your lead. often it dosnt end well, you either take more money and do what the boss says or you get replaced with someone more managable by the boss.

  151. posted that in the wrong room. oh well

  152. Solitaire Unraveling…

  153. Phelpsie drops in at the Buffalo Lodge most days, always after I finish work. His soothing tones often help with my ingrained shiftworkers’ insomnia

    Just finished N/S myself HD. I like red wine and veging out in front of the TV with the latest DVD, falling asleep whenever. I find that I need to have very little physical activity on the first day off, just rest and quickly try to get back into day mode (bit hard when I do one N/S per week).

    Love being on days off when everyone else is at work though, and performing errands during the day, avoiding the never ending service queue’s.

    Even if i have to up at 6am for a day shift I still won’t go to bed ’til about 2 or 3 am, it’s a waste of time as I can’t sleep.

    Do you only work night shifts? You seem to have been on nights all week.

  154. Cool someone’s awake! Hi kitty.

    Yeah, ain’t shiftwork a drag.

    I’m actually 5 N/S into the end of a 6day, 3 week rotation. I’m supposed to be there now, I’m a naughty cattlesheep. Only the 2nd shift I’ve ever taken off with this Co. so I don’t feel too guilty, I’m sure the place will run without me.
    My normal shifts are a permanently rotating roster. ie. 6 D/S (7am-3pm) one day off then 6 A/S followed by one day off then 6 N/S followed by (usually) 10 days off. It pays well but gobbles up your weekends, public holidays & any semblance of what the daywalkers think of as a “normal life”.

    Prior to this job I had only ever done N/S (12 years) & 6 months of slave labour on a dairy. No wonder I’m a disturbed individual, I haven’t known a normal sleeping pattern since my late teens.
    In my head the jury is still out on whether the 5shift (permanently rotating) roster is better than straight up, unadulterated N/S…I’m probably leaning towards prefering the former.

    Sure is hard to own the day after you come off of last N/S. Takes a couple to do the 180 turnaround & readjust circadian rythms IMHO.

    “Love being on days off when everyone else is at work though, and performing errands during the day, avoiding the never ending service queue’s. ”

    A double edged sword.
    I was often looked at as a dolebludging vagrant when I lived in Adelaide & was in public during “work hrs”; not that I was overly bothered by what random judgemental oxygenthieves thought of me.
    Agree about queue’s though & the day can be yours to pillage if you plan your time/sleep well.

  155. Sure is hard to own the day after you come off of last N/S. Takes a couple to do the 180 turnaround & readjust circadian rythms IMHO.

    Yeah, which is why they can’t keep nurses in the system. Too hard on the body, can do three shifts in three days then I’ve seen then roster only one day off and expect people to front up! Funny how people that never do shift work themselves, find it so easy to design a roster that causes ill health and enormous stress to the worker.

Comments are closed.

