Let’s Move Australia Day!

There seems to be a growing movement to change the date of Australia Day.

Ron Barassi suggests a  day, I agree,  may be more appropriate…

RON Barassi has called for Australia Day to be moved to May to commemorate the day Aborigines were given equal citizenship rights.

Poor old Ron also states that moving Australia day to Anzac Day  would be inappropriate because “”The national day couldn’t be Anzac Day, because we were fighting a stupid war and we lost.”   This indicates that Ron obviously doesn’t understand the “concept’ of Anzac Day (or the fact that we actually won)  – but that’s another issue…

It would also be a bit more “practical” – a quick look at my wall planner indicates that only Queensland has a public holiday in May for Labor Day…

More here:

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,24960574-2,00.html

So, do Blogocrats agree with changing the date of Australia Day or not?

95 Responses

  1. I think I might have punched Ron too hard on that Friday night a few weeks ago. Sorry Ron.

  2. I like Ron, but that head-kicking he received may have something to do with his thinking process now.

  3. “The national day couldn’t be Anzac Day, because we were fighting a stupid war and we lost.”

    I find that statement offensive!

  4. I expect objection for my view on this, but I think Barassi has made a good point.

    Many Indigenous Australians consider January 26 as not a day of celebration but a day of sorrow as it marks the anniversary of the day their land was invaded.

    Should not Australia Day be commemorated on a day enjoyed by all Australians?

    We make laws in this country against offending other nationalities or religious groups yet we fail to recognise the offenses we make against our Indigenous friends.

    It bothers me.

  5. Miglo, then what date do you believe should be Australia Day?

  6. Replace the Queens birthday holiday with Australia Day.

    I want this more to see the monarchists jump up and down in a frenetic tizz sprouting “outrageous” than any real reason.

  7. Migs

    “We make laws in this country against offending other nationalities or religious groups yet we fail to recognise the offenses we make against our Indigenous friends.

    It bothers me.”

    The rest of the debate aside, this really needs addressing more seriously.

  8. Adrian of Nowra, on January 25th, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Agree – although they do jump about a bit now!

    Silliness is – the Poms don’t celebrate the Queen’s birthday (and its not her birthday, anyway!)

    What about the idea of change for Australia Day, though, Adrian

  9. John, then what date would you propose?

  10. What’s wrong with May 27 as Barassi suggests – it has significance for ALL Australians…

  11. Ambivalent TB. It’s ingrained and long standing, and though that should not be a sole reason for not changing something I can’t see any real reason to, except to replace the completely redundant and meaningless Queens Birthday holiday.

    I would debate that, but it’s not the topic.

  12. Scaper..we were fighting a stupid war, but the British Imperial Forces won.

    However, I would not want Australia Day to ‘celebrate’ a war. I believe that ANZAC Day is a moment for reflection about war and the cost of war and would not want this mixed up with partying celebrations.

    Currently Australia Day celebrates the arrival of The First Fleet which included 579 male convicts and 193 female convicts and 14 convict children (possibly children of the above). The numbers to arrive compared with those who embarked were somewhat less, with the exception of the children who increased from 14 to 22 somewhere along the way.

    I personally don’t find the above as much of a cause to be celebrated and this is apart from Aboriginal causes.

    And so yes I would like a particular day set aside for celebration of Australia as a national day.

  13. And yes I spotted it straight away. Arrive = embark. I meant disembarked.

  14. Scaper, to be honest old friend I haven’t given it any thought. I will celebrate Australia Day whenever it is held, but on the 26th January I will do so while also recognising that it is a day of angst for Indigenous Australians.

    I agree with Barassi’s comments and in due course I will give it some consideration.

    “The rest of the debate aside, this really needs addressing more seriously.” (John).

    It certainly does John, but by whom?

  15. Jack the Insider reckons February 6th as the all the convicts were landed and had a night of drunken debauchery.

    http://blogs.theaustralian.news.com.au/jacktheinsider/index.php/theaustralian/comments/australia_day_why_not_have_two/

    As Jack states the birth of the nation was January 1st 1901.

    That should be the date but that not eventuate.

  16. I’d like to think that a new date will eventually be decided . . . on the day we become a republic!

  17. Miglo, on January 25th, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Ah! Yes! Vive la Republique!

  18. Two republics or more might just eventuate, TB.

  19. TB. I have great respect for Queen Lizzy who has been an exceptionally hard worker but cannot tolerate the thought of a democratically elected government of Australia having to cowtow to old Charlie-boy.

  20. Min

    You sound like my dear old Mum during the Referendum – a staunch Monarchist (and Liberal until JWH!) – I asked her if she would be happy with King Charles III (last two weren’t much ggod 😀 ) she said – No!, but I hadn’t thought past Elizabeth (Mum was in the ATS during WWII – in an anti aircraft battalion London – there were a couple of “royals’ serving with her – must have impressed a young, Yorkshire lass!

    scaper

    Not the North and South! I hope! ah! Canada?

  21. I’m likely to get an ear-bashing for this, but I’m going to state it anyway…

    I’m a left-leaning person, but one thing that gets on my goat more than anything else is deferring to the “Indigenous Australians” for things that affect us all. Only ~2% of the population have Indigenous ancestry compared to ~8% Asian ancestry, and over 90% European ancestory. In the 2006 census, only 0.58% of people actually identified themselves of Australian Aboriginal ethnicity.

    When you think of it that way, making “Australia Day” be the day of equal citizenship is about as racist/unbalanced as the current one (where it is a celebration of white colonisation). If you want an “Aboriginal Australia Day”, feel free to choose something that resonates with them, but if you want to include all (or at least a significant percentage of) Australians – pick something a little more inclusive.

    If you ask me, we should simply become a Republic (it’s not like being in the Commonwealth is doing much for us, compared to what it’s doing for England) and mark that day as “Australia Day”.

  22. The English heritage probably rubbed off..one granny from Our Lady in The Castle, Hastings Sussex and the other granny from Kingsthorpe Northamptonshire (family had the Queen Adelaide pub).

    To me the current royals run along similar lines to Paris and Britney with not one earning their keep.

    However, at present it’s How to break an old lady’s heart by tossing Queen Lizzy aside. Once she’s laid to rest then there will be no connection. I don’t think that our Republic will happen prior to this time. I think that it will be a peaceful changeover following Lizzy’s demise.

  23. And that’s a bit of the point isn’t it Tolputt..that we have so decimated the indigenous population that now only 2% of us are indigenous.

  24. And that’s a bit of the point isn’t it Tolputt..that we have so decimated the indigenous population that now only 2% of us are indigenous. (Min).

    Good point Min. Conservatives estimate that since 1788 250,000 Aboriginal people died from murder by white people or diseases introduced by white people.

    I think, in a way, that we’re still lucky to have 2% of the population identify as Indigenous Australians.

    The plan by previous governments was to have zero per cent.

  25. Min,

    That may be [b]your[/b] point, but it is not the point of “Australia Day”. Officially “Australia Day” is the commemoration of the British Fleet’s landing (i.e. the start of colonisation). One can argue that this event was one of the primary events in our history to shape the nation known as “Australia” and the people known as “Australians” (a group including, but by no means dominated by the indigenous).

    I can agree with you that this may be an insult to the indigenous people who also classify themselves as “Australian”, but I don’t believe we should change it to mollify them. There are a larger number of Australian’s that come from Asia & Europe – so should we change the date to correspond to the Snowy Mountain Scheme genesis (which resulted in a huge import of worker immigrants)?

    I am not arguing that we should ignore the Aboriginal members of our society, simply that we should not elevate them to a status greater than any other ethnicity that makes up our country. I would suggest that ALL ethnicities have worked for and died for our country – if we’re going to change the date of “Australia Day”, the new date should reflect ALL of us.

    I believe a larger percentage of all Australians would be offended by such a move (moving date to reflect an Aboriginal-centric event) than the percentage of those with “Indigenous Ancestry” are offended by the current date/event chosen. I’ve only known one (out of around ten) indigenous people who took offence at these kinds of things. The others (that I happened to ask) simply said that things are the way they are, whining about a past that didn’t hurt them directly just didn’t feel right or fair.

    Then again, we’ve got a rule now in our state that has schools acknowledging the “original owners of the land” before giving our kids the end of year academic achievement awards… We’re already in the reconciliation “Twilight Zone” so your ideas/preferences might have alot more weight than mine on the powers that be (i.e. bureaucrats)

  26. It’s a great suggestion from Ron Barassi. His suggestion is much more appropriate than the current arrangement. TB Queensland, do you think that what we did on Anzac Day was a great success. Fighting for absolutely nothing and achieving absolutelty nothing. Your believe that it is a great day explimifies most of you opinions – mostly total rubbish.

  27. TB,

    I’m sorry that personal attack was totally baseless. I would like to apologise for that most strongly. I ought to read what you write properly before posting such comments.

    Again, strong and sincere apologies.

  28. I’m starting to believe that the government is putting something in our water lately…LOL!

    To me Anzac Day is when the lives of all Australians lost in war time are remembered.

  29. Well done Alastair. Saying sorry takes a lot of courage.

    Many lack it.

  30. LOL Scaper good comment.

    I’ve been drinking too much Jesus-tampered water this afternoon.

    I agree with your comment on Anzac Day. Therefore it’s not the most appropriate day for Australia Day, We’re more of a country that a place that loses citizens in a war.

  31. Yes, that’s it Tolputt. Australia Day is the celebration of the 1st load of convicts brought to Australia on the 1st Fleet.

    Of course the first event that shaped our history were the Gold Rushes from the 1850’s on – Vic, NSW and WA which first brought to Australia people from not only all over the British Isles, Free Irishmen but Europeans including Italians, Swiss, Scandanavians and Americans (hence California Gully in Vic) and Chinese.

    I am certain that many indigenous people have various feelings about the subject of Australia Day. I am certain then many descendants of convicts have similar feelings.

    And we are in complete agreeance Tolputt re: I would suggest that ALL ethnicities have worked for and died for our country – if we’re going to change the date of “Australia Day”, the new date should reflect ALL of us.

    Yes..to me it’s shouldn’t be the date where the Poms offloaded the 1st convicts but nor should it be a date dedicated exclusively to the original inhabitants.

    Maybe the time has come to swap say the Queens Birthday (umm, Queen Camilla’s birthday???) for something more to do with Australia and move Australia Day to something more to do with Australia and less to do with the Poms.

  32. Thanks Miglo. Shouldn’t have given that unwarrented spray in the first place though.

  33. Quick, scatter…Min will be here demanding squishes and I all sweaty…LOL!

  34. Well you blokes had better make a quick run to the shower. And no a quick spray of Brut 32 isn’t good enough.

  35. Just saw your posts, Alastair, apology accepted.

    Handy to know you think most of my opinions are rubbish though 😆 seems there is a growing club out there 😆

    joni, don’t be thilly, we all luv it here!

    See, even Alastair apologised! Thanks, again, A.

  36. Min, “old fashined” I know but I have always(!) and still do use Old Spice.

    The Minister and I always think its funny when people “rubbish” OS – because of the number of “…woo, you smell nice…” I get – especially from the younger set (in my case that’s about 95% of the population now!) 😀

  37. Ahh Old Spice. I agree with The Minister, sexy yet mellow, much like your own self I am certain.

  38. Another one for the calendar sweepstakes…3rd of March.

  39. 😳 Min! People are watching!

  40. Auf to a BBQ wis my Teutonic friend, Wolfgang.

    Hava a nice evening all.

  41. Have a lovely evening TB. Hubby and I are having barra on the barbie. Eldest is off with b/f on a camping weekend, middly is on baby duties and youngest has a Morris Dancing stint at an oldies club.

  42. Min,

    Good to see we’re thinking on the same page then 🙂 We’ve changed the “meaning” of Australia Day (as it is now a celebration of the Australian Nation rather than the “initial landing”), and so a new date to reflect that would be a good thing. I suppose I’m just getting tired of the indigenous issue. The fact we had to “acknowledge them” before my son got an award for academic achievement was the last straw for me (they had absolutely nothing to do with the achievements of the kids, mine or otherwise!); so I tend to be touchy on the subject now.

    TB,

    Watching and taking notes *evil grin* I have to disagree on the “Old Spice” being sexy though – it was my Dad’s scent and putting sexy & him into the same mental image does my head in!

  43. Tolputt. Given that indigenous peoples for eons received no recognition whatsoever, I think that anything would be good. No worries about being touchy as I, myself am a little this way as our 1st grandchild is 1/4 Torres Straight Islander. What denegration will this little girl have to cope with because of her heritage?

  44. “What denegration will this little girl have to cope with because of her heritage?”

    Min, let’s hope that in due course the heritage of this little girl will be both respected and appreciated. Let us hope that his is only a generation away.

  45. One other thing:

    Indigenous occupation of Australia is given at 40,000 years by most commentators, bloggers, and people on the street.

    While studying Aboriginal archaelogy at uni 10 years ago, it was announced that the oldest reliable age is 63,000 from archaeological evidence at a Queensland rock shelter. The actual time of occupation would have been well before this.

  46. And the winner is . . . Mick Dodson.

  47. Miglo, you’ve just beat me to it. I’ve posted from the SMH to Friday Frolyks. And Congratulations to Professor Dodson.

  48. Australia federated on 1 January 1901, that’s the day we became a nation. We should celebrate Federation of Australia Day.

    The additional benefit is that there would be an extra holiday during Christmas/New Year.

  49. Tom, let’s have both so we can have two public holidays. How come you didn’t think of that?

  50. TB @ 12.07 I reckon 27 May is a jolly good date. It’s #1 son’s birthday.

  51. Move Australia Day? I say forget it. Every day ought to be Australia Day.

    In similar vein, while I am glad Obama was elected to be President of the USA, I found the inauguration and surrounding BS to be jingoistic in the extreme.

    Tomorrow, I expect that we will be confronted by X number of yobbos driving cars with Australian Flags protruding from windows while they engage in very un-Australian activities.

  52. Tomorrow, I expect that we will be confronted by X number of yobbos driving cars with Australian Flags protruding from windows…

    Have to say that I find it annoying, all those flags on display, I prefer our national pride to be quietly understated. Whenever I see the flags displayed on cars and houses I tend to think that the owners are bigots and racists.

    A measure of a good democracy in action is how the minorities of the nation are treated. I mean no personal attack at all, but I tend to think it’s petty and selfish to resent an indigenous acknowledgement as an intrusion on other people’s achievements. That’s the kind of ill feeling and downward envy which divides this nation and is so reminiscent of the evil John Howard’s mean politics of spite.

  53. Kitty, i see that too, and have felt guilty over the attitude i had(more like kept it to myself )

    but separately,the flag being flown these days reminds me of an aggressive stand( in your face) then a peaceful display of pride.( im sure it dosnt apply to everyone just where i have observed).

    i do have pride for this land.

  54. I see that the PM has dismissed the idea point blank!

    It kind of reminds me of the CC issue…nuclear is off the table and alternatives to an ETS.

    As Mick Dodson said on SKY this morning, “lets talk about it”.

  55. Some very interesting points. Nature 5, I think that a more subdued patriotism is more the Australian character. Aussies are generally not into ostentatious forms of nationalism..unless it’s the cricket or the soccer or the rugby or if the Aussie is wearing a cossie :-).

  56. Yes scaper, Mick Dodson was also very magnanimous on ABC Breakfast where he also said “let’s talk about it”, and stated that in all likelihood Jan 26 will remain as the favoured date, even by many Aboriginals, but at least discuss it.

    For a man who loves big and grand discussions on just about everything I don’t see how Rudd can be against that.

  57. Whenever I see the flags displayed on cars and houses I tend to think that the owners are bigots and racists. kittylitter, on January 26th, 2009 at 1:39 am

    My flag is flying proudly above my deck – as it does every year – and will as long as I’m around…racist? Bigot? Pretty long bow to draw – fly the flag and it brands you as negative? Nah… just another Australian.

    Parochial Queenslander? Guilty! Go The Maroons!

  58. I don’t fly the flag TB but am currently looking at pics of my crew, especially the latest addition.

    A quiet one for us, prawns and avo for lunch and roast chicken with wild rice stuffing for dinner.

    And in the time honored Aussie tradition, hubby is out in the garden. The previous owners were into no plants and layers of white stones set on plastic. While J was taking a break (I let him have one every now and then) I discovered that by pulling on the plastic that it dislodged all the white stones. Where are you scaper!!

  59. Just off next door to the daughter’s – all the family and a couple of friends – enjoy all!

    Happy Aussie Day!

  60. TB, you would not be counted in the comment i made above.
    Even if you didnt mention me i hope you know that.

  61. I can well understand why it may be viewed as “Invasion Day”. Personally I’m an anti-patriot so I am not disturbed by the idea of moving it; get rid of it in its entirety for all I care.

    Adrian’s idea to rid us of the Queen’s Birthday seems fair, hopefully the new holiday would then also involve burning of Windsorian effiges & burning of Union Jacks. I might even feel inclined to participate in that.

    BTW, it was certainly a stupid war…not so sure that “we” lost though.

    Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t live anywhere else & having been abroad I know exactly how lucky I am to be here, we have much to appreciate. I love my little corner of SE SA because I was born & raised here.
    Flags are icons IMHO, perhaps useful for identification but not worthy of worship.
    I reject patriotism because it is too easily, & too often, used opportunistically to corrupt morality.

  62. I should add that if anyone else wants to fly the flag for truly altruistic reasons, ala TB, then that’s their prerogative & I support it.
    My above comment reflects only my own musings & I would be betraying my own beliefs were I to try & falsely bolster my non-existent sense of nationalism.

  63. Not wishing to generalise but this kinda serves to illustrate a point…

    http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,24966106-421,00.html

  64. Here come those who rely on nationalism as a form of marginalisation & cannot fathom dissent towards established dogma.

    I wonder if Albrechtsen will be defending the “Aussie PrideTM” lynchmob by the morrow?

    http://blogs.theaustralian.news.com.au/janetalbrechtsen/index.php/theaustralian/comments/dodson_proves_an_ungracious_winner/

  65. Toiletboss,

    “kinda serves to illustrate a point”

    Indeed it does! Very un-Australian! Depending on what one thinks being ‘Australian’ means of course. Lol.

    Perhaps we should have a citizenship test? You know, important things like what was the Don’s average?

  66. Toiletboss,

    I tend to agree with Albrechtsen re Dodson, in particular this paragraph:

    To accept an award, even begrudgingly, to mark a day he does not recognise suggests that personal aggrandisement triumphed over principle. In other words, hypocrisy explains Dodson’s decision to accept the award. He is of course free to campaign to move Australia Day to a different date. But his commitment to that cause would have been better served had he refused to accept the Australian of the Year title given on a date he opposes.

  67. Tony, Mick Dodson was awarded Australian of the Year, not Australia Day Australian of the Year.

    I tend to disagree with anything Albrechtsen says.

  68. Miglo,

    You draw a fine distinction. I was lumping his honour in with all those other Australia Day honours: AC, AO, AM and OAM. But you might be right: Australian of the Year may not be issued to mark the day, but merely issued on the day, and have no comparison to the other – aforementioned – awards.

  69. ToSY, in my eyes Dodson gets kudos for receiving the award (tokenism by the Labor gov in these new “sympathetic times”?) & then going on to still say the unsavoury (to nationalists) things which he obviously believes in very strongly.
    It would have been a far greater blemish upon his character if he’d obediently & reverently “shut up” in awe of the reward so as not to appear ungracious.

    I agree that he’s exploiting the award as a platform to get his message out, but his message is valid & worth consideration IMHO.
    In essence, he has been able to stir far more of the pot by accepting the award than the quickly forgotten ambivalence his “ingratitude” would have elicited by not accepting it at all.
    I hope he uses it for a dartboard with John Howard’s visage taped to it & posts the vid on youtube to really work the likes of Albrechtsen into a lather.

  70. I hope he uses it for a dartboard with John Howard’s visage taped to it & posts the vid on youtube to really work the likes of Albrechtsen into a lather.

    😆

    If it’s been mentioned here already I must have missed it, but apparently this is something of a back-flip by Labor:

    An unprecedented number of indigenous people have been nominated for the Australian of the Year awards to mark the occasion. But a trenchant editorial in the National Indigenous Times has criticised the Labor Government for failing to honour a promise made in the ALP’s national platform before the 2007 election, a promise to implement recommendations made in a 2000 Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation report that included “changing the date of Australia Day to a date that includes all Australians”.

    The newspaper’s editor, Chris Graham, said it was only after he contacted Mr Rudd’s office two weeks ago to remind him of the promise that the Prime Minister began hastily promoting Australia Day 2009 as having “special significance” to indigenous people.

    On Friday the Minister for Indigenous Affairs, Jenny Macklin, issued a statement negating the promise.

    “The Australian Government does not support a policy of changing the date of Australia Day,” she said.

  71. I honestly can’t see either Labor or the ‘tards (if they can miraculously get into government in the next decade) changing the date.
    There would be too many crocodile tears from the “real Australian” anglosphere & afterall native Australians are a minority which, thus far, are easily ignored by the majority unless they’re causing trouble or (GASP!) speaking up.

    If Labor has backflipped I’m unsurprised, it won’t be the last time. Just a shiny new version of populism without so much of the divisive rhetoric of the Howard Years; populist & striving for political “safety” nonetheless, just not as overtly xenophobic.

  72. populist & striving for political “safety” nonetheless, just not as overtly xenophobic.

    Yes, Howard was about as subtle as a sledgehammer, but I can’t help thinking what the reaction would have been like – here, and other places – if it had been he, and not Rudd, who had knocked the idea on the head so swifty.

  73. You are correct! He, mainly due to despicable form, was a definite reflex scorn magnet.

    I must admit, even if he saved my cat from a tree I’d still yell at him, shake my fist & pressure clean the dirty, dirty Howardgerms off of my cat.
    There is a certain element of hypocrisy involved, many of Pious Rudd’s actions are not so far removed from those of the Lying Rodent, it’s just that the language which drives them is a little more saccharine.
    Populism by another party is still but populism.

    Rudd ahead of Howard in the decency stakes by a country mile though, for the time being.

  74. And just because I feel like a feel-good moment. Leo Sayer becomes an Australian citizen. http://www.theage.com.au/national/pop-icon-sayer-feels-like-dancing-20090126-7q0o.html

  75. I agree with Jack and Scaper.

    Australia Day ought to be moved to 1st January, the anniversary of Federation, as that’s when Australia as a political union came into being. OK, so that’s New Years’ day, but you can just move the public holiday to the next working day as we do now.

    Staying with 26th January, “invasion day” to the Aborigines, is unnecessarily confrontational in my view. It’s a date that gives them little occasion to celebrate and given that it recalls a drunken orgy by a bunch of convicts anyway, what’s worth recalling?

    If we keep the 26th January and really want to get into the spirit of things, perhaps (instead of the traditional BBQ) we should all get pissed and screw each other’s wives while a bunch of silvertail nogs in powdered-wigs toast the Queen’s health? That’d certainly be celebrating the day in more accordance with the spirit of the original event.

    So how about we just pick an historically meaningful date that we can all celebrate?

    Like 1st January.

  76. Evan..nooo..that means that we get one less public holiday, and precious few that most people don’t have to work anyway.

    January 2 = Federation Day – most people take the week off anyway.

    January 26th..just a note on the calendar much on a par with Ned Kelly’s birthday…and anyway most of the shops are open and so the workers have to keep on working.

    Scrap the Queen’s birthday as it hasn’t been her birthday since Queen Victoria (or some other royal) was a wee slip of a lass.

    The only holiday that means much to me is ANZAC Day.

    And so, my friends what is it that Australians have that is well worth celebrating? We haven’t had major civil wars, we haven’t had major changes to our democracy.. Mind you, Chook Raffle Day as a public holiday doesn’t sound half bad.

  77. I agree that we should move Australia Day to a less confrontational day, but think that January 1st would not go down well with the traditionalists.

    Some could not bear to ‘share’ NYD as they can only comprehend a one day, one holiday concept. It would give the racists another reason to hate Aborigines, for ‘stealing’ NYD from them and making it Australia Day.

    I say have it on another meaningful day if possible.

  78. And from the SMH. http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,24966106-421,00.html Racist violence mars Australia Day celebrations

    Just me, but other nations see their national day as a celebration of unity and yet here we are, our Australia Day being utilized as a tool of divisiveness (might I add..by ‘tools’).

    Maybe more parades and less grog.

  79. Got pulled over by a booze blitz on Bribie yesterday.

    A young cop asked how many drinks I had that day and I answered five.

    Then he asked me how many drinks I had in the last hour and I answered two schooners with my lunch.

    He then made me blow into the tube then consulted his partner…then made me blow again, then produced another machine and made me blow yet again.

    Then he asked me what I had been drinking and I said that I had a coffee, orange juice, can of coke and two lemon squashes.

  80. If not 1 January as Federation of Australia Day, how about 11 November? Ned Kelly hung, Armistice Day, and the day in 1975 that will be remembered for the actions of John Kerr and Malcolm Fraser which precipitated us (eventually) becoming a republic.

    There must be something for everyone to celebrate in that lot.

  81. Thank you Tom, the day that Ned was hung. When one is hang, the past tense is hanged. I am certain that a male person would much rather be hung rather than hanged.

    I have no idea about our Ned being hung, but I certainly know that he was hanged.

    And once again, thank you to high school English teacher Miss Klemm.

  82. Tom, I certainly didn’t celebrate the actions of John Kerr. Didn’t then, and never will.

    But I’m sure it’s a day perpetually marked on your calendar.

  83. Last say on this (no promises). I think that there are too many leftovers from the colonial days – we celebrate The Arrival of the First Fleet, The Queen’s Birthday (even tho it’s not). Where are our own celebrations?

  84. Min, we have NAIDOC week, but I agree that we’ve got to cut a few strings to colonial England.

  85. Miglo – “But I’m sure it’s a day perpetually marked on your calendar.”

    Yes Miglo, those were the days. Radical youth, rocking Malcolm’s car whenever he made a public appearance. Heckling Kerr whenever he stepped out to make a speech.

    I put it down to youth exuberance, today I’d regard it as completely irresponsible.

    And thankyou Min, correction appreciated.

  86. Thanks scaper. Even the author of the story said this: “Others incorrectly plumped for January 26 as the date in 1770 when Captain James Cook discovered Australia.”

    I hope the author doesn’t think that Cook discovered Australia.

  87. Sounds about right scaper. Sadly most Australians know more about American history such as George Washington and Davy Crocket than they know about their own people.

  88. June 3rd

    The Mabo decision which recognised native title for the first time in Australia. This ground-breaking decision, which changed the fundamental law of the land by discarding the 200-year-old terra nullius mindset, was the cause of much public debate a decade ago. Now it is simply accepted as part of the nation’s legal landscape. (Father Frank Brennan)

    16th or 18th June 1962? when the law came into effect which allowed Aboriginals to vote.

    Federation

    “Race’ was a key factor in the ambition for Federation, with the dream of a ‘white nation’ uppermost in the minds of the federalists. Critics have pointed out that on Federation, Indigenous people were excluded from voting, as were most women, the poor and people of Chinese or Indian descent. Of those who could vote, very few bothered. Peter Botsman has gone so far as to refer to Federation as a ‘great constitutional swindle’ and a ‘pact with the devil’…”

  89. I am open to any date but I think one of the major things we can do for our country is buy Australian.

    Give the big icon Colgate/Palmolive the flick.

    Buy Macleans Toothpaste instead of Colgate. Macleans is made in Australia. Colgate is made in either Thailand or Fiji.

    Buy Lux or Radox or other liquid soaps. Palmolive is made in Thailand.

    Just 2 small ways to help our country. And by the way Macleans is chaper than Colgate and Radox is cheaper than Palmolive.

    I have also noticed that the origin of where a product is manufactured is becoming so small that I need a magnifying glass to read it.

  90. Actually, I prefer the Aust owned Close Up brand of toothpaste.

  91. kitty

    Is it made in Australiua as well ?

  92. Yep, according to Ethical Consumer Guide, it’s made by Pental Products Pty Ltd. Wholly Australian owned, they also make:

    * Aim Toothpaste
    * Close Up Toothpaste
    * Country Life Soap
    * Country Life Bodywash/Shower Gel
    * Hi Speed Specialty Cleaners
    * Huggie Fabric Softener
    * Knights Castile Soap
    * Lux Laundry Detergent
    * Martha Gardener Wool Wash
    * Medi-Bact Soap
    * Natural Essence of Australia Soap
    * Natural Selections Soap
    * Naturale Soap
    * Softly Wool Wash
    * Sorbolene Soap
    * Sunlight Dishwashing Detergent
    * Sunlight Soap
    * Sunlight Laundry Detergent
    * Sureguard Pest Control
    * Velvet Laundry Detergent
    * Velvet Soap

    I didn’t know but am pleased to see that the soap I use, Sorbolene, is on the list!

  93. kitty

    thanks for the web link have printed it out to assist with my shopping as so many things have quietly changed to being made overseas.

Comments are closed.

