Top Aussie Destinations

Guess where?

Our intrepid travelling blogocrat Kevin Rennie has been providing us with some fascinating insights into some of Australia’s least known (at least to me anyway) but stunning locations. 

Another regular blogocrat, has suggested that we have a go at nominating our own favourite little slice of Australia, and why you like it.

It could be off the beaten track, it might not.  It could be a well-known holiday destination or it might be in the middle of nowhere…

With the holiday season rapidly approaching it might be a good idea to reminisce about your favourite Aussie spot or to discuss with others where you have been in the recent past that you’ve really enjoyed.

Anyway, over to youse….

65 Responses

  1. I just can’t go past Kangaroo Island.

    It may not be Australia’s biggest draw card, only because people these days don’t want to step back into the past, and that’s what KI is.

    An English fellow said to me that the Australia he migrated to in the 50s had a certain uniqueness, which is slowly evaporating as we become part of the global village. He recently visited KI and it was like coming to Australia in the 50s again. The people made it feel that way.

    I have seen a lot of our country. I love the country and I love the people. But I found the people on KI just that bit more special.

    And I haven’t even mentioned the beauty of the place. That’s another story.

  2. Thats a nice photo, the glass like surface is amazing and the sea in the backround isn’t breaking. That is an invation for me to go in at that perfect time of afternoon. The rocks form a great barrier like a bay against preditors and for beginners to enjoy the underwater, canoes/boating or a spot of fishing.

    Kevin is a luck man to be seeing this.

  3. Kangaroo island is one of three i havnt visited yet. But i will

  4. On those occasions when it is necessary to remain in Australia for recreation –

    1. Palm Cove
    2. anywhere along the Great Ocean Road
    3. Brunswick Heads or thereabouts

    Note – heat combined with access to water is important, lack of misfits, decent places to eat and drink.

    Not all places that are hot and have access to food, water etc are worth visiting, for example Perth is overwhelmed with misfits, particularly for a city. It should ALWAYS be avoided.

  5. Miglo in S.A’s inland i did a dive in an underground cavern that opened up bigger then i can describe. The water was so clear i had a remarkable 60m visability. Thats the best palce in S.A i have been.

  6. Aquanut, unless you’re partial to lobster, King George whiting and King prawns I’d suggest you stay clear of the place.

  7. I would like to visit that place again but you can keep the seafood i have enough coming out my …
    Wife: I’m sick of lobster, can you get mudcrab again please.
    Me: Im in bed, go cook eggs.

  8. An Aboriginal lecturer at uni was telling the class how the original Indigenous inhabitants of the Melbourne area were duped into giving up the land in exchange for combs and mirrors.

    I quipped “Have you seen Melbourne? I reckon you guys got the better end of the deal”.

    Sorry Tom.

  9. Tom of Melbourne

    ” it is necessary to remain in Australia for recreation”

    Tom you seem to have this preoccupation for leisure and recreation. Has the sense of adventure and discovery been extinguished by residing in Melbourne? Tis a pity. The Unions have much to be accountable for.

    As for ‘Palm Cove’ – north of Cairns. Reasonable. But go a bit further to Wonga Beach. Much better. And the ‘Painted Crays’ are unbelievable. Not to mention the ‘muddies’ slightly further north in the Daintree.

    I have travelled the Great Ocean Road on any number of occasions, and each time I do, more of the scenery disappears. Just drops into the sea. As for the traffic – bloody Japanese tourists!

    Tom, are you one of those tourists who causes traffic jams on the Great Ocean Road?

  10. It isn’t my photo. Where is it?

    I must confess to being part of the Great Ocean Road traffic, going back to 1960.

    Kangaroo Island is on the list of places to visit.

  11. Whitehaven Beach in the Whitsundays

  12. “It isn’t my photo. Where is it?”

    Bay of Fires Tasmania. Just listed as Lonely Planet’s Number One destination for 2009.

    Which means I guess now it’s destined to be totally rooned…

  13. Bay of Fires: Top spot for a stroll.

  14. Nature 5 – “Has the sense of adventure and discovery been extinguished by residing in Melbourne? “– You’d be surprised with exactly how exciting and adventurous my recreation is!! While access to a good shiraz, café latte and dining is important so is interest and activity.

    I don’t regard driving a 4×4 along a hot, bumpy, dusty road, 10 hours from anywhere as any form of adventure or discovery. It is boredom from start to finish.

    Give me plenty of water sport, ready access to good food, and yes, a comfortable bed at the end of my gruelling activities.

    By the way, I don’t have a particularly affinity with Melbourne, but the people here are relatively more sane than those in Perth, less inclined to apply fake tan and peroxide than those in Sydney, less heat affected than those in Brisbane. Which leaves Canberra, Hobart and Adelaide – cities which lead directly back to excruciating boredom.

  15. Tom,

    Have you considered recreational drugs?

  16. …I don’t regard driving a 4×4 along a hot, bumpy, dusty road, 10 hours from anywhere as any form of adventure or discovery. It is boredom from start to finish…

    Nor do the 4×4 owners. Luckily most of them are clogging up the city roads and annoying other motorists rather than spoiling the great outdoors!

  17. Humpy Island out of Yeppoon..only accessible by sea and you have to sail to Great Keppel for supplies. At last knowledge only 3 sets of campers are allowed on the island at any one time. Facilities include bush showers.

    Having just come back from Cairns..love it. They have made an effort to retain colonial buildings which compares with Byron where it has been slash and burn for the last decade in spite of Byron having a so-called ‘green’ Council.

    Thank you Tom of Melbourne. The Brunswick Heads Hotel north of Byron has in my opinion the world’s best beer garden. Owned by Delvine Delaney, they have made an outstanding effort to keep it’s ’30’s charm. The food isn’t inexpensive but is of excellent quality. I can highly recommend the Bruns Bun, barra and with capers.

  18. Wonnangatta Station in the Vic High Country, only accessible by 4WD. Refuge Cove on Wilsons Prom, only accessible by boat towed by said 4WD or on foot. Tilpa Pub, because it’s the journey, not the destination, but boy the beer tastes good, after a long drive in the 4WD. Bunga Arm in the Gippsland Lakes, 3 hour drive to Paynesville in the 4WD then a 1 hour sail across in the boat that is towed by the 4WD.My reply to anyone who wants to sanctimoniously criticise my lifestyle choices is to GFY.

  19. Not particularly directed towards you Tony, just all the other “adventurers” driving around the bush for days & weeks on end in a fuel inefficient, 2 ton 4×4. This is hardly communing with nature. The only adventure is whether the radiator will boil.

  20. Yoo hoo Tom. I sailed, as in wind power.

  21. 18. James of North Melbourne
    My reply to anyone who wants to sanctimoniously criticise my lifestyle choices is to GFY.

    What a charmer.
    And how often each year would you get your 4WD off road for the ‘lifestyle’ it was built for?

    Hmm, Who Drives 4WDs?

    …Forget the fit, rugged, 30-something-year-old navigating flood plains and climbing mountains in the snazzy 4WDs as depicted in the commercials.

    The reality is, drivers of the suburban monsters are often obese, aggressive, intolerant and aged in their 40s or 50s.

    A new study has found that city owners of large four-wheel-drive vehicles are less community minded than other drivers, less charitable, more likely to be homophobic and have a low opinion of indigenous culture.

    The Australia Institute study has also found they are more likely to use force to get their way…

  22. Tom of Melbourne

    Obviously anywhere that has not be overcolonised by humans and their buildings is not an ideal holiday destination for you.

    I would rather be away from all the hustle and bustle and stress and pollution and get back to nature and its true beauty in vision and silence, now thats a relaxing holiday.

  23. Kittylitter – it’s amazing how accurate a stereotype can be!! Fat & intolerant – that matches my observations..

    Min – Brunswick Heads is a great town & coast, and when I refer to self indulgent “adventurers” in their petrol guzzling, 2 ton 4x4s, I naturally didn’t mean you. I was thinking of those that kittylitter has identified in her link.

  24. Thank you Tom. I drive an ’89 Nissan. Can’t go over 90km without a severe wheel wobble but it gets me where I want to go.

    OMG..I sound boring!!! Delete above, I drive a black spunky something or another.

  25. I will be booking a winter holiday at the snow and I’m not quite sure which place would be best.

    I’m leaning towards Perisher but have been advised that the Victorian ski fields are a better option.

    Any recommendations?

  26. Scaper i found wearing a wetsuit kept me so warm under a thin layer of clothing no matter where i went or what i did outside.
    Tip: dont pee in it.

    Skiing isnt somthing im good at and after the fall over the yoga positions hurt.

  27. Tip: dont pee in it.

    To be honest, that thought had never really occurred to me…

  28. Kittylitter, not that it’s got anything to do with you, but I would get off road 4-6 times per year. I would tow my 24ft trailer sailer, lovingly and painstakingly restored by myself with nil carpentry skills at least a dozen times a year. I shift furniture for friends and family several times per year. I carry equipment for the football club to away matches 9 times per year. I rescue smaller cars from bog type situations anywhere between 2 and 10 times per year. I use it to work on the farm about 6 times per year. I shift my uncle’s old timber fishing boat 4 times per year. I get abused by other motorists about 200 times per year for having a big car. Go figure. I like going sailing. I like going bush. I like helping people and working in the community. So I equip myself to be able to do those things. And for that I have to put up with all manner of abuse from people like your politically correct self.

  29. Well, I guess you could have two vehicles, one for regular city driving and one for your occasional off road activity. Most of the situations you listed above do not need a 4×4 to get the job done, not sure about towing other vehicles, but I think that is also not exclusive for a 4×4. Most people don’t buy a 4WD with the thought of how many times they can help others in the community on their mind. They don’t buy one to assist family members either, if the family needed one, wouldn’t they get their own? especially farmers.

    You say that you get abused by other motorists about 200 times a year, is that just for having a big car, or is it the way you drive the big car?

    BTW, I’m not aware that I have abused you, I thought it was the other way around, you know the
    “My reply to anyone who wants to sanctimoniously criticise my lifestyle choices is to GFY. comment.

    I do however have an opinion on the over abundance of luxury 4WD’s on city streets and hope that they will be taxed out of existence. As you know, they rarely go off road, they are unsafe and annoying for other motorists and unnecessary when ‘people mover’ type vehicles will serve the purpose just as well, the drivers are often selfishly oblivious to other road users.

    Surely you must realise that others have a problem with these tanks on city streets if, as you say, you get abused by other motorists at least 200 times per year, it’s not at all about being PC.

  30. Falls Creek looks like the go…a week should be long enough.

    I think I’ll take one of my four wheel drives down as the pocket rocket has not enough luggage room.

  31. “I get abused by other motorists about 200 times per year for having a big car”

    And I get abused many more times than that a year for crossing the road legally – mainly by selfish 4WD owners who believe noone else has a right to be on the road and delay them a few seconds while they wait for you to legally cross the road. I’ve been abused 4 times this week alone (the christmas season really brings out the christmas spirit doesn’t it – selfishness, consumerism and everyone for themselves if these drivers are any indicator).

    “So I equip myself to be able to do those things.”

    Get you hand off it James. You don’t own a 4WD because of your ‘community spirit”. That’s like parents who pretend they have kids so they can ‘pay your pension when you get old’ to justify more and more government subsidies. A load of self-justifying BS. You own a 4WD, you use it but don’t pretend you own it because of some sort of ‘community spirit’. That would be like me pretending I walk and catch public transport purely out of ‘community spirit’ – a load of self-congratulatory bunkum.

  32. When I was a regular triathlon competitor (in another life) it was normal to wear a wetsuit during the swim leg. The swim always came before the bike and the run, and the chilly early morning waters of Port Philip Bay required it. (It aided bouyancy as well and was thus a legal “cheat” on the swim leg.)

    It soon became apparent that the wise thing to do, as you waded into the icy water to line up for the start, was to pee in your wetsuit. You were about to be kicked and elbowed by a huge pack of swimmers as you raced to the first bouy, so it was nice to at least start out with that warm feeling.

  33. *buoy(ancy)*

  34. 4 wheel vehicles are a blight on city and suburban roads. They have no place, I always regard anyone that drives one as a pretentious wanker.

    They damage pedestrians by colliding with their chests rather than lower limbs; visibility is poorer for backing into children.

    Fuel consumption is very poor, but the drivers seem to defend themselves as lovers of the environment. Figure that out!

    I always advocate greater regulation – require a specific application and reason to own one in metro areas, have a hefty surcharge on registration or just ban them from metropolitan registration.

    Get rid of them!!

  35. I’m so jealous scaper. Ah what memories..cross country skiing at Falls. Something that I’ve always loved about the high country is the complete silence, so that all sounds are amplified. I still have my ancient K2 downhillers tucked away in a cupboard.

  36. Kittylitter at 29, if your problem is “luxury 4WDs” then perhaps, according to your link, you need to talk to the “sisters” rather than the overweight, aggressive, racist, homophobic, intolerant, middle aged blokes that you’ve nicely pigeon holed in this thread.

    And don’t verbal me please, Huh. I gave a number of reasons and uses for my 4WD, starting with 2 quite self indulgent ones. Oh, and guess what, I drive my fiance’s VW Golf when just running around town. Except when I pick her up from work, because she likes a fag after work and smoking is permitted in my car but not in hers.

    You complain about people imposing their beliefs on others…. Kittylitter, I didn’t tell you to GFY unless you define yourself as one who “sanctimoniously (that’s better spelling) criticises my lifestyle choices”. In which case you can indeed GFY.

    And Huh, can you imagine the vitriolic accusations of sexism that would come my way if I suggested that you “get your finger out of it”? That’s a hypothetical by the way, I make no such obscene suggestion. But I can assure you that the kind of exchange in the last couple of days with you and Kittylitter in no way encourages or gives rise to any desire to treat my body as an amusement park, quite the opposite, actually.

  37. Oh dear, look what I’ve gone and done. Contradicted myself in one post. How to rescue this one? GFY stands for Go Find Yaweh. It’s a religious thing, and would do people no harm…..:)

  38. Min, I have not been to the snow for twenty eight years so there is nothing to be jealous about.

    Mrs scaper has seen it from a distance and scapette has never seen it so it is well time that they did.

  39. “And Huh, can you imagine the vitriolic accusations of sexism that would come my way if I suggested that you “get your finger out of it”? ”

    I admit that was a very sexist statement. Very like saying a woman is a slut because she accepted payment to pose in a bikini. I included it because I wanted to see 1) if you could identify blatently sexist statements and 2) what your reaction to such sexism would be.

    Isn’t it funny, but you don’t seem to appreciate such sexism but are happy enough to dish it out.

    “And don’t verbal me please, Huh. I gave a number of reasons and uses for my 4WD”

    Verballed you James? By claiming your ‘community spirit’ claim was a load of bunkum? Not verballing mate, pointing out the truth – hurts does it?

    I have no problem with people owning 4WDs if they have a legitimate use for them and, shock horror you’re going to hate this, but I actually think your use of 4WD is pretty reasonable (apart from the spurious ‘community spirit’ bunkum). You didn’t ‘equip yourself’ with a 4WD to serve the community but to serve your own purposes. Any benefit for the community is purely incidental.

  40. Tom.

    I drive a 4X4. How the hell do I get to the outback places I like to visit. I wouldn’t dream of taking it to town, that’s what public transport is for. As for:

    “Fuel consumption is very poor, but the drivers seem to defend themselves as lovers of the environment”

    That may be true if one uses a petrol engine but no self-respecting 4X4 driver has anything but a diesel. In a previous life I drove a V8 Statesman (supplied by the employer) which used about 16 litres a 100. Now I have a 4 cylinder diesel and I use about 10 litres a 100.

    Tom. Another myth bites the dust. And I thought there were no flies on you.

  41. Well nature 5 , you own an additional car, just so you can have a BIG 4×4? You waste all that steel, greenhouse gas created by furnaces? How about all the dangers that these lumps of iron with wheels pose to pedestrians, children, other drivers?

    4 wheel drive vehicles are a blight. And stop using your 4×4 to bother the flies in the bush!! Leave them to feed off the misfits that inhabit hot, dusty, boring roadhouses and pubs that are a 2 day drive from a decent restuarant, where the only attraction is some big rock.

    Get a ride with the Leyland Brothers if you want to behave like them.

  42. Just to get back to the topic:

    Koolpin Gorge in Kakadu is one of my favorites. Dry season only, Limited numbers by permit only. Sorry but 4WD required or a hike in otherwise.

    Magic.

    Now back to the slanging match.

  43. Zebedee Springs in El Questro is magic as is Emma Gorge. And while you are in the Kimberleys, walk the length of Tunnel Creek. As the name suggests it is a creek that tunnels under a mountain.

    Take a torch as it is very dark, the water in places is chest high, and if you are quiet, you can hear the freshies run along the sand and enter the water as you approach. It was a favourite hideout of Jandamarra, an Aboriginal warrior (outlaw) in the 1890s.

    Sorry, 4X4 required, particularly if you want to traverse the length of the Gibb River Road.

  44. Kittylitter at 29, if your problem is “luxury 4WDs” then perhaps, according to your link, you need to talk to the “sisters” rather than the overweight, aggressive, racist, homophobic, intolerant, middle aged blokes that you’ve nicely pigeon holed in this thread.

    sisters?
    No, you’re not sexist at all! What a tosser.
    BTW, it wasn’t my research that pigeon-holed the 4WD ‘brothers’ I just pointed it out and

    My problem is all 4WD’s
    So blokes don’t drive luxury 4WD’s – they only have practical, utilitarian ones – do the ‘sisters’ have a luxury 4WD and their husbands /partners or the ‘brothers’ drive yet another?
    I assume that the ‘sisters’ dropping off school kids and terrorising the shopping centres aren’t all single parents. How many 4WD’s do one couple/family need?
    Funny thing is, most luxury 4WD’s that I see, have a big, fat, middle-aged man sitting behind the wheel – usually driving faster than the speed limit, aggressively tail gating or trying to queue jump the traffic. I must go out at the wrong times.

    I didn’t tell you to GFY unless you define yourself as one who “sanctimoniously (that’s better spelling) criticises my lifestyle choices”. In which case you can indeed GFY.

    Mine was the only straight out anti 4WD comment, before your post appeared, so…going by your logic….should I assume that you were referring to krennie,ToSY or IATW?

    Go find yaweh? Do you mean go find yahweh? Yeah everyone uses that terminilogy for god! Do yourself a favour and stop digging.

  45. Umm, I drive an ’89 Nissan and pop $20.00’s worth every 10 days or so.

  46. kittylitter | December 18, 2008 at 5:01 pm re your comment:

    “My problem is all 4WD’s”

    Really? Clearly you haven’t seen much of remote Australia which is only possible if you have a 4X4 or at least pay some tour operator a small fortune to travel in his/her 4X4.

    Personally, I dread buses, fire engines, trucks, semi-trailers but I would never call for their banning.

    And Tom, to some extent at least, it is the operator that’s the problem – not the vehicle. For me, the young, inexperienced, ‘bullet-proof’ operator (both male and female) that are much more risky than old people like me, regardless of their weight. Lol.

  47. So Nature 5, you seem to enjoy digging yourself in to a deeper hole.

    First you own up that you get a Statesman from your employer (tax dodge), then you confess that you have a 4 wheel lump of iron that guzzles fossil fuel, then you admit to the fact that you have also been complicit in destruction of the environment by owning more motor vehicles than is necessary, then you acknowledge that you obviously don’t support small business (and don’t like mixing with other “adventures” by suggesting “or at least pay some tour operator a small fortune to travel in his/her 4X4.”

    Now your defence of 4×4 drivers is to blame “the young, inexperienced, ‘bullet-proof’ operator (both male and female) that are much more risky”…

    No doubt you’d agree with the gun lobby mantra that runs along similar lines – “guns don’t kill people, people kill people”.

    Admit your failings – anti social, anti environment, anti small business, tax dodging petrol head, a gun loving annoyer of flies and ally of outback social misfits.

    Come clean and own up!!!

  48. …only possible if you have a 4X4 or at least pay some tour operator a small fortune to travel in his/her 4X4.

    Why buy a 4WD with all of it’s liabilities, then spend most of the time driving it on city roads, whilst dreaming of the big ‘getaway’ adventure (which according to research, doesn’t seem to happen). The trips that do get taken, mostly don’t require a 4×4.

    The tour operators have an intimate knowledge of the local areas that you wish to see and more. Just from a safety aspect, I would want to be with someone who knows the local bush, it’s dangers and how to survive if we get into trouble.

    A small fortune to tour operators? How much does the maintenance and running of the 4WD cost per year?, add the initial purchase price of the vehicle and it all makes for a lot of tours.

    Really? Clearly you haven’t seen much of remote Australia

    Would 20 years living in the NT be enough? I’ve seen a lot of outback Australia – I’ve even been to remote Aboriginal communities. I left the NT in 1995, even then it was commonly known that there weren’t too many places that you couldn’t get to in a 2WD. My older brother has lived in Katherine for 30 years and he is a uteman. A 2WD vehicle doesn’t stop him from remote working, fishing and bushbashing. We proudly support the local tourism industries.

    I have to laugh and shake my head when I’m driving behind a 4WD and I have to come to a stop as the 4×4 driver carefully, slowly and painstakingly negotiates a driveway entrance or a slightly bumpy, rough road! Off roader indeed!

  49. “seem to enjoy digging yourself in to a deeper hole”

    Don’t dig holes either literally or metaphorically. But if I was in one, I could get myself out. That’s the advantage of a 4X4. Lol.

    BTW I did say:

    “to some extent at least, it is the operator that’s the problem – not the vehicle”

    Note the words “to some extent”. It is a qualifier which provides a ‘back-door’ or an ‘escape route’ if the intellectual debate gets too rough. Not into guns of any type. Never owned one and never will.

    As for “, tax dodging petrol head”, I have already said I prefer a diesel.

    kittylitter

    there weren’t too many places that you couldn’t get to in a 2WD.”

    Very true! But, by your own admission, there are a number. Moreton and Frazer would be off-limits The Cape would be out of the question, As for the Canning and the Tanami. Haven’t seen too many 2WDs at Rabbit Flat.

    BTW, most of the residents of NT, don’t get off the beaten track either.

  50. nature 5 – Very well, then you’re a tax dodging diesel head.

  51. “tax dodging diesel head”

    Tom that’s an oxymoron. Haven’t you seen the price of diesel these days. More than 30 cents above the cost of super.

    The interesting aspect is that the price of diesel is out of whack across the world. US truck drivers are really upset.

    How can we save the environment if we can’t afford to drive there? Time we were paid for our efforts or subsidised at least. Come on Bob Brown, there’s a few votes to be had.

  52. Very true! But, by your own admission, there are a number. Moreton and Frazer would be off-limits The Cape would be out of the question, As for the Canning and the Tanami.

    Pretty sure that there are tours operating for all those places.

    Note the words “to some extent”. It is a qualifier which provides a ‘back-door’ or an ‘escape route’ if the intellectual debate gets too rough

    Well, to just what extent would it be then? Could you elaborate further?

    The interesting aspect is that the price of diesel is out of whack across the world. US truck drivers are really upset.

    Out of whack to what? Out of whack to it’s contribution in sickness and deaths?
    Since diesel emissions are 20% more harmful to our health then petrol, I hope the price just keeps going up, hope that diesel vehicles are taxed right out of existence.
    In the govt’s green vehicle guide, not one diesel vehicle makes it in to the top 50 (of low polluters) there is just one in the top 150 and only 5 in the top 200 vehicles. A person who owns and drives a diesel vehicle is contributing the most to a higher death rate than the national road toll.

    How can we save the environment if we can’t afford to drive there?

    You save it, by not driving there.
    Maybe you could be subsidised to not drive your diesel 4×4 – I might even vote for that!

  53. BTW, most of the residents of NT, don’t get off the beaten track either.

    Well that’s an argument to behold! I could say the same for ‘most’ residents of every town and city in the country.

    ‘Most’ of the time your 4×4 vehicle doesn’t get off the beaten track either.

  54. jeez, some folks on this thread need to lose their holier-than-thou attitude.
    Cape Leveque and Middle Lagoon on the dampier peninsula are close to idyllic – though this may change if Colin Barnett gets his way.
    A 4wd is preferred to travel there – you could probably get away with a 2wd but you’d have to be fairly stupid and prepared to purchase a replacement car upon your return. The dusty track isn’t too kind to vehicles.

  55. oh, and I like those spots, particularly Middle Lagoon because you more or less have the beach to yourself all day long. If it was more accessible I guess that would change.

  56. “Pretty sure that there are tours operating for all those places.”

    Certainly true! And they do a good job catering for the aged and infirm. They also do a good job with those who have trouble making decisions, evaluating risks and who enjoy being ‘led’.

    rf, Cape Leveque is a great place, particularly for muddies.

  57. I love how the one person on this blog most vocal in her complaints about being lectured on how to live, is also the most vocal in lecturing others on how to live. I don’t want to go on a tour. How’s that? I want to discover things for myself. How’s that? I am an individual with my own individual tastes and wants. For that reason, much as I personally can’t see any practical sense in owning a V8 or even a V6 sedan or ute, or a sports car, or a motorcycle, and I object to the manner in which many of these types of vehicles are driven, I tend to shut my trap about the vehicles themselves, because I’m smart enough to realise that people are different, with different wants and tastes, and they can have them.

  58. “I am an individual with my own individual tastes and wants.”

    That is to say the taste of an individual fuel guzzling, diesel head.

  59. 57. James of North Melbourne

    Just my luck…whatever happened to:

    …Kittylitter, you sniped at me three or four times before I got sucked into replying to you, I won’t get sucked in again.

    Well…come in spinner!

    Good party was it James? – you seem to be having alcohol induced incontinence, you just pis*ed yourself on the Shoe-orrism thread!

  60. Changed my mind, apparently in these days of equal opportunity, blokes are allowed to do that.

  61. Fuel guzzling……diesel…….

    Is that like a right wing communist?

  62. That is to say the taste of an individual fuel guzzling, diesel head.
    well, Tom of Melbourne, we can guess that you’re probably wind powered .

  63. “Is that like a right wing communist?”

    More like a status seeking, self indulgent, annoyer of pedestrians. 4x4s are more likely to kill pedestrians and children, other road users cannot see around them at intersections. And probably only about 5% of their usage off road.

    They’re designed for image not for leisure.

  64. Middle Lagoon should definitely be on the list of top destinations. It’s also an aboriginal enterprise, like a number of others on the Dampier peninsula.

  65. Tom of Melbourne – I’m getting a sense that you are not a big fan of 4wds.
    How about you stay on topic and talk about top destinations instead?
    I’d give Augusta and the Blackwood river in WA’s south-west a big thumbs up too. It’s like Margaret River used to be before cr*p like the Margaret River Chocolate factory and other crap tourist traps moved in. How I loathe it, not a bit like a chocolate factory ought to be, no connection to Mgt River and full of choc guzzling fatties.

Comments are closed.

