No More Free Lunches For No-Hopers: Harvey

Gerry Harvey, the man who wanted the government to introduce a two tier wage system, one for immigrant workers and the other for locals.  Claims it was getting too expensive to hire stable hands.    Pay pittance for immigrant workers and abandon locals, so why doesn’t this surprise me:

Buck pass: Charity is a waste, says Gerry Harvey.

THE retail king Gerry Harvey may have a personal fortune of about $1.6 billion but the Harvey Norman founder thinks donating to charity is “just wasted”.

Asked in a new book about the role he and Harvey Norman play in the community, Mr Harvey said giving money to people who “are not putting anything back into the community” is like “helping a whole heap of no-hopers to survive for no good reason”.

He said he believed in helping “develop people to their potential” because “when they achieve [their potential] they will put a lot more back into the community”.

43 Responses

  1. What a w@nker.

    By the way, the automatically generated link is worth a read too. It suggests that people should boycott Hardly Normal.

    Power to the peoples!

  2. And I now have another company to add to my personal boycott list:

    – Gloria Jeans
    – Harvey Norman
    – Nestle

    And when I was in Singapore last week – relaxing at the free executive club drinks – my ears picked up that bloody annoying jingle for Harvey Norman. Yep – they are in Singapore too.

    And with the decline in consumer spending how will we know if the decline in income for Harvey Norman will be due to his stupid comments or just the GFC.

  3. Joni,
    What have Nestle done to get your boycott?

  4. I was going to point this blog to that article.

    I boycotted Harvey Norman a while ago for other reasons, they are not the cheapest and their service is woeful but this makes the decision even more satisfying.

  5. It was actually a mate years ago that pointed out the way that Nestle work in Africa with their promotion of baby milk substitutes which leads to the death of babies.

    Unicef:

    Marketing practices that undermine breastfeeding are potentially hazardous wherever they are pursued: in the developing world, WHO estimates that some 1.5 million children die each year because they are not adequately breastfed. These facts are not in dispute.

  6. It just goes to show the mindset of some of our so-called wealthy elite. I could barely believe what I was reading.

    Startling fact, too many who find themselves on the street actually suffer from mental health problems and have been abandoned by the mental health system.

  7. Such reprehensible contempt for the less fortunate never ceases to curdle my blood.
    Just 5 minutes alone with that opulent piece of sh!t may not change his mind but it would grant me some satisfaction.
    Strip away the wealth & you are left with a hollow prick, apparently devoid of any social conscience if that above post is to be believed.

    Ar$ehole!

  8. I can’t say I’m that shocked. What would Gerry know about misfortune.

    I guess he gets the Ebeneezer Scrooge award this year?

  9. Nice to see others are finally reading Gerry as just another “robber baron”…as I always say – the truth will out – eventually…

    …these pr!(ks just can’t help themselves, can they?

  10. I like the bit about worrying about going broke…sheesh!

  11. Gerry has a fear about ‘going broke’ and for good reason.

    Morally. I suspect he is already there! As a ‘moralist’ or ‘ethicist” Gerry is a dud. A retard, in need of special assistance. Not that he would ever admit it.

    Can we get away from the notion that there are ‘icons’ out there whose ‘achievements’ transfer from one field of endeavour to others across the spectrum?

    Sports stars are just that ‘sport stars’. Actors are just ‘actors’. Business leaders fall into the same category. FGS, models in one field don’t make them universal models.

    Paris Hilton, for example, has a good ‘set’ apparently. does anyone seriously suggest that her physical attribute makes her a role model when it comes to foreign affairs?

  12. Well said nature5.

    The Cult of celebrity or adulation mocks genuine credibility.

  13. It’s the way the filthy rich in Australia justify to themselves the fact that they do not practice any charitable or philanthropic decency after their own good fortune (and govt. assistance) in life.

    Blame the victims.

    It’s these wealthy, greedy and selfish predators that are the parasites on society IMO.

  14. So he worries about “going broke”. I say he should fear Karma.

    Down and out, and getting the cold shoulder from all quarters. ‘Twould suit him fairly.

    Be nice to people on the way up, cos you’re going to need them on the way down.

  15. …these pr!(ks just can’t help themselves, can they?
    9. TB Queensland | November 21, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    TB while this may be true, don’t you now that personal abuse is not allowed on this blog. You must argue your case.

    On another topic, i also have relatives who have lost their jobs to the world economic conditions. however they do not blame John howard or Costello.

    They actually blame the current govt which is all spin and no substance.

  16. “TB while this may be true, don’t you now that personal abuse is not allowed on this blog. You must argue your case.”ABBA

    Reverse psychology only works on children Neil.

  17. LOL Neil. I’d say your comments are all spin and no substance.

  18. Poor Gerry’s claims to be just misunderstood . Note how he fondly refers to charities as ‘bloody charities’

    “AUSTRALIAN charities have lambasted billionaire Gerry Harvey over his statements in a new book that donating money to charities that help the homeless is wasted, but the retail king says his comments have been misunderstood.

    “I’m furious. I haven’t suggested that homeless people shouldn’t get anything. What I said was that I believed in helping people reach their potential,” he told the Herald

    “I’ve done plenty of giving in my time. I’ve given heaps of money to bloody charity. This caused me a lot of pain. It’s bullshit.”

    Mr Harvey’s offices were inundated with calls after the release of a new book, in which he says that giving money to people who “are not putting anything back into the community” is like “helping a whole heap of no-hopers to survive for no good reason”.

    “You could go out and give a million dollars to a charity tomorrow to help the homeless. You could argue that it is just wasted,” Mr Harvey said.

    Charities contacted by the Herald said his comments were misguided. “I think Mr Harvey would have a hard time trying to find an organisation that would waste a million dollars in the way he said it might be,” Anglicare spokesman James Wackett said.

    “Organisations like ours … are about solving problems, not perpetuating them. We’ve all moved … from simple charity to addressing the causes of poverty.”

  19. It just doesn’t get any better for Gerry does it?

    I have zero sympathy for the man.

    When you consider the amount of people who are sucked into his no interest, no deposit, no repayments until 2010 offers – he is intentionally targeting the most vulnerable people in society – those that can’t really afford to buy stuff.

    You might say it’s the purchaser’s fault to enter into these arrangements, but surely the retailer has some moral/ethical responsibility not to lend money to someone that they know will not be able to afford an interest rate of 28% when the interest-free period expires.

    And yet society holds up people like Gerry Harvey as some sort of idol that we should all aspire to be like.

    I for one, wouldn’t give him the time of day if I saw him in public..

    And I imagine he would probably feel the same way, unless I was standing in awe, waxing lyrical about his marvellous achievements.

  20. I suggest we all boycott Hardly Normal this Christmas..!!

  21. Already on my list reb

  22. Nicely put Toiletboss (16)

  23. 19. reb | November 22, 2008 at 8:43 am

    When you consider the amount of people who are sucked into his no interest, no deposit, no repayments until 2010 offers – he is intentionally targeting the most vulnerable people in society – those that can’t really afford to buy stuff.

    Have stick up for Gerry a little on this one.

    Saw an interview with him where this was mentioned. He was dead set against it and basically said he couldn’t understand people who went into this type of financial arrangement. Remember this is not his service but that of a credit company, GE. Harvey Norman just makes it available as one of the methods people can use to buy his products. I admit he doesn’t discourage it and goes to great lengths to advertise it as a great thing, but personally he thinks it’s a bad idea. I guess it can also be argued that it makes him less of an admirable person that he puts profits so far ahead of anything else he utilises a finance instrument that he thinks is bad.

  24. “I guess it can also be argued that it makes him less of an admirable person that he puts profits so far ahead of anything else he utilises a finance instrument that he thinks is bad.”

    OF COURSE!

    He can’t understand why people would enter into such a crap arrangement but happily promotes it.

    It’s like giving a pack of cigarettes to a smoker while at the same time saying I don’t think it’s a good idea to smoke these…

  25. reb… how’s the new sticky post at the top of our main page?

  26. You might say it’s the purchaser’s fault to enter into these arrangements, but surely the retailer has some moral/ethical responsibility not to lend money to someone that they know will not be able to afford an interest rate of 28% when the interest-free period expires.

    Exactly Reb. If Gerry had to rely on cashed up customers he wouldn’t be able to acheive the growth business is constantly striving for.

    Same with banks and their predatory pracitices.

    I think it was Scaper that was talking about how we used to save to buy the things we wanted, most had to – no quick credit 30 years ago. We also had Govts and a society that encouraged a culture of thrift.

    Not so anymore. Spending even when it is not really affordable is encouraged now – gotta have that constant growth it is not good enough just to make a profit any more. The profit has to grow every.

  27. “Harvey Norman just makes it available as one of the methods people can use to buy his products. I admit he doesn’t discourage it and goes to great lengths to advertise it as a great thing, but personally he thinks it’s a bad idea. I guess it can also be argued that it makes him less of an admirable person that he puts profits so far ahead of anything else he utilises a finance instrument that he thinks is bad.”

    Well exactly Adrian. If he doesn’t approve of it why offer it?

    Growth!

    My daughter purchased a computer from Retravison on HP. I made sure she understood what the minimum monthly payment was she had to make to pay it off within the interest free period, and the interest she would have to pay on the FULL amount if she failed to do so.

    I think sales staff using finance products should have to explain this clearly to customers. Often they don’t in the rush to close the sale.

  28. Nice work joni!

    🙂

  29. A copy of my message at LP:

    Following Gerry Harvey’s reprehensible comments about how donating to “bloody charities” is a waste of money, there is growing movement on the intertubes to boycott Hardly Normal during the Christmas season.

    If money is the only thing that Gerry Harvey values, then let’s stick it to him where it hurts.

    If there’s one thing that the global economic dowturn has proven, it is that we the people, more than ever before, have the power to vote with our feet and our wallets.

    So let’s send a clear message that maligning the most vulnerable and underprivelaged people in society, and those that strive to help them is not just unnaceptable it is grossly morally and ethically bankrupt!

  30. reb, just added a poll to the sticky post (and had a giggle at your edit too!)

  31. Bit of a push poll though joni.

  32. adrian… ya think? LOL

    I enjoyed framing the question to be a neutral as possible.

  33. What’s the bet this fellow votes for THE LIBERAL PARTY.

  34. This is from the link.

    He said he believed in helping “develop people to their potential” because “when they achieve [their potential] they will put a lot more back into the community”.

    I have to admit that I’m somewhat guilty of this too as I only sponsor disadvantaged children through The Smith Family and I’m a gold collar sponsor of the QLD Guide Dogs but I do donate to St Vinnies this time of year.

    I believe this person could do more to give back to society but is not the government that should take a little bit more responsibility?

    I have mentioned the corporate and middle class welfare this week and should not the welfare go to the disadvantaged instead?

    It sounds like a waste in Harvey’s eyes but many great Australians had their origins in a disadvantaged upbringing…I’ve always believe that to gauge society one must take into account the weakest instead of the strongest.

  35. joni @ 5. And it’s not just in countries such as Africa but in countries such as USA, UK and Australia where bottle feeding was promoted as ‘modern’ and ‘healthier’..because you don’t know what’s in breast milk now do you and it’s not ‘modern’. And bottle feeding is of course more efficient, such as getting up at 2am and having to mix up formula and heating it while listening to a babe screaming it’s little lungs out.

    Basically few $s to be made from mother’s milk and lots to be made from supplying breast milk substitutes. This idea of ‘modern’ and ‘healthier’ mother’s milk substitutes has caused so many deaths of so many infants in places such as Africa and South America where they do not have adequate clean water with which to mix the formula that the promoters of these formulas should be hung, drawn and quartered.

    However, back on track. Precisely, if Gerry Harvey doesn’t approve of the no deposit thing, why does he offer it? Because he’s making $$$s for himself of course. I personally find Harvey Norman stores acutely overpriced and so is he reaping in the $s due to the above easy credit offered?

  36. “I personally find Harvey Norman stores acutely overpriced and so is he reaping in the $s due to the above easy credit offered?”

    I agree. I’ve just bought a blu-ray player. I checked HN. Their price – $649. Sony Central – $599, JB Hifi – $579.

    I ended up buying at Sony Central for $569, almost $100 cheaper than Harvey Norman.

    Also the staff at HN are completely useless. When I asked what was the difference between the two Sony models they had on display, the guy didn’t have a clue, and then started to read the specs on the box.

    I told him to forget about it, I can read the box in my own time…

  37. Firstly, I’d like to say that I find Gerry Harvey’s comments totally inappropriate and way off the mark. However, that is not going to stop me buying something from Harvey Norman if i want to. Also, I don’t usually buy from Harvey Norman so there’d be no reason why I’d start now. Finally, I have to abstain from your poll because it is one extreme or the other. I would say neither of those options.

  38. Alistair – I realise that my poll might be slightly biased, but it is to make a point that Gerry Harvey was out of line with his comments. But I do accept your comment.

  39. Alastair the point is given Gerry Harvey’s comments there are many who would not want to. It was suggested to boycott HN, not directed.

    I think Joni was just having a bit of fun. Mind you his poll was no worse than many in online media.

  40. It wasn’t too long ago that Harvey Norman settled it’s court case with the ACCC in regard to their practice of ‘bait and switch advertising’.

    I have an example of Harvey Norman’s ‘under the counter’ sales.

    I am a member of a union which offers Union Shopper discounts. I wanted to buy a camers for my daughter and went through the union shopper process. The camera we wanted could be got through U/Shopper for $150.00 less than any other store that we had researched. I was told my invoice number and details etc and had to go to the store to pay for and pick up the item. The store was Harvey Norman which was a surprise to me, I thought it would be a smaller retailer somehow. So, off we go to Harvey Norman’s and ask for the salesperson we were told to see – he pulls out the camera from under the counter and my daughter and I pay a lot less than the other people buying stock at the very same counter!

    Nice.

  41. Tracie. Absolutely – just a bit of innocent push-polling on my part. hey, if he MSM can do it, then so can I.

  42. I am a member of the Master Builders Association and we get massive discounts from a store called Clive Peters and they dtill nake a profit!

    This kind of relates to a comment of mine concerning new car dealers…the reason that they can sell these goods is it is ordered and delivered to their dispatch depot then straight to me.

    I see this as a possible shift in the future but that involves loss of jobs…oh well, I’m sure there are new industries that will emerge.

  43. Not a nice look for Mr Harvey and it has changed my opinion of the company thats for sure.

Comments are closed.

