Murdoch versus blogiath

Uncle Rupert has come out on the attack saying that newspapers will survive and even grow in the coming years despite the attack from new media and blogging.

One of the reasons he gives is because “Readers want what they’ve always wanted: a source they can trust“.

I fell off my chair when I read that. This is coming from a man who  has on his roster:

– Fox News (Fair and Balanced)
– Piers Akerman
– Dennis Shanahan (“we own the polls”)

(To provide some balance to my post I should also point out the the Fairfax stable also employs Miss Devine and Mr Henderson, and I am sure those on the right have their own pet journalists who they perceive as having bias.)

Now – I am not saying that newspapers and journalism will wither and die, but they do not hold the monopoly on news that they used to hold. And that is a big change. Blogs now can provide independent analysis of stories that are published, which has led to exposure of the spin that some journalists put on their stories.

And it seems that some of the interest that News Corp has had with blogs seems to be on the wane (like our former home). And do not forget how the News Corp got into such a tizzy last year over the blogs questioning the analysis of Dennis – and how they said that they were going to “go for” some influential blogs.

I reckon that Murdoch’s assessment maybe slightly off the mark.

We’re here, we blog, get used to it.

joni (forgot to put my name at the end… sorry!)

68 Responses

  1. I just want the unbridled facts so I can form my own opinion and the standard of journalism is waning, just like all other standards in this world where chivalry is no longer appreciated.

    Blogs are the way of the future to draw the people that actually care about events and the MSM knows this…they are incrementally being stripped of their influence that results in a more diverse exchange of ideas and opinion which is healthy in this society, or should I say blogosphere?

    I’m not sure that I would be saying that the print media will survive for ever as the new generations coming through the ranks have embraced the electronic media and through the blogosphere there will be a confluence that will lead to a more informed populace.

  2. Joni,

    I think you mis-understand Rupert’s meaning of ‘trust’.

    By ‘trust’ I suspect he is in fact referring to ‘rely on’.

    In other words, you can ‘rely on’ Murdoch press for:

    – Conservative, right-wing bias on any subject you care to mention
    – A narrow-minded bigoted view on any matter to hand
    – A rascist, homophobic, anglo view on why the conservative capitalists are always right.

    One million taxi drivers can’t be wrong, can they….?

  3. I have a lot of respect for this guy and the way he bowed out with his dignity intact.

    http://www.crikey.com.au/Media-Arts-and-Sports/20080201-A-top-journalist-quits-we-ask-why.html

  4. scaper – I will try and incorporate the journalist into my thread above tonight. Thanks for the link.

  5. Maybe Murdoch should also have a read of this article in the New York Times.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/18/business/media/18voice.html?_r=1&hp

  6. hello… have been watching things here for a few days and I think it looks like a nice bunch of people. will keep reading more and more but so far em happy with what I see… interesting posts and some of the commants I agree with and the ones that I dont.. well they will just work harder to convince me :smiles-hugs:

    hi all anyway…

  7. Hedley Thomas did some useful work but his investigative efforts were was not without blemish. His unstinting praise for Tony Morris both before, during and after the Patel Inquiry revealed a telling example of faulty judgement. He should have admitted that he was in error when the Court decided that Morris had shown ostensible bias in his running of the inquiry.

    As for Murdoch – what he says is not a good guide to what he does.

    Joni, while you are naming and shaming and doing a good job at that, you might consider adding the Bolta to the list. In fact he may even head the list because he plumbs new depths when it comes to misunderstanding science, in particular scientific methodology. And that’s being charitable.

  8. Hi another girl – another planet

    and welcome to Blogocrats.

  9. It’s important to make a clear distinction between reporting, professional journalists and opinion columnists, or the commentariat. When we call them all journalists we’re doing real journalists a big disservice.

    All of the big names, Albrechtson, Bolt, Ackerman, Devine, Adams, are opinion columnists. Without them our newspapers would be full of news, most of it trustworthy. News can be spun and papers have always been partisan, but the introduction of these big name opinion columnists made partisanship much, much worse.

    Along with criticism of opinion columnists, should bloggers consider providing some balance by recognising real journalists who do a good job? How many of their names do we know? If we want their good work, shouldn’t we support it, and them?

  10. Lyn

    Absolutely correct! Most day-to-day journalists are ethical and do a great job in reporting the news.

    And I completely accept that the ones who perform most of the spin are columnists and opinion writers.

  11. “How many of their names do we know?”

    Good question Lyn. The answer is not many I suspect…

    Kerry O’Brien? Laurie Oakes?

  12. oh and welcome another girl – another planet.

    One of my favourite songs! can’t remember the name of the band though…

  13. I think most go without names as we do not get angry by their reporting – and so they do not get highlighted.

  14. If newspapers are under threat from the internet and, I believe, particularly blogs, I wonder what will be the next development?

    Doubt that it would be voice blogs…sreb, wouldn’t let us get a word in! 😀

    Although its always struck me as ironical that one of the early internet successes was Amazon.com – cutting edge, internet store, selling the world’s oldest mass communication device – books…

    …and welcome agap…

  15. Hey I resemble that remark!!

  16. Yer, awake then!

  17. Matt Price was good at what he did.

    This morning i was reading how a lady was bitten by an eel twice, would of hurt. The story said she was savaged by an eel no wonder they leave there names of some reports.

  18. Trust Rupert’s Rampant Regressive Rags, you’ve got to be kidding. This guy is living in fairyland. The general media in recent years have lost their ability to report the facts, they lean one way or the other politically, mainly Liberal, and their reporting is heavily weighted towards their political biases. Rupert has been behind Bush and Howard all the way, two of the biggers tyrants in living memory, and his rags have helped them with each of their election successes. The truth is that people have woken up to him and they don’t trust his rags, thats why the distribution is down. That and the unbiased reporting and forum that most blogs provide. On what basis can he justify his statment, when every newspaper in the Western world has a deminishing market share, resulting in massive lay offs.

  19. Some of us think stories like those about people being bitten by eels are rubbish and shouldn’t count as news, but they’re often the stories that get the most hits at news sites.

    If you’re going to be democratic about news, or market savvy, you have to acknowledge that people are interested in such things. I think so anyway. Many would disagree.

    And it’s not such a bad conversation starter. What’s the most exotic thing you’ve been bitten by?

    Also, cadet journos have to start somewhere. Did they do a good job on the story even if it wasn’t newsworthy?

    Bloggers can’t do on the ground news investigation and reporting, so I’d argue that it’s in the blogosphere’s own best interests to support those who can, and probably more important to support cadets who haven’t yet had their idealism beaten out of them.

    In that light it makes sense to me to remember that it’s our future reporters currently doing the dog of the week and eel bitings when we’re questioning the relevance of the story.

  20. And it’s not such a bad conversation starter. What’s the most exotic thing you’ve been bitten by?

    Sounds reasonable to me Lyn as dose the rest of your post.

    A one meter eel can do so much damage and looking at the photos it was just a bite and it would of hurt but when they say her leg was savaged, its just so dramatic it turns me off the story.

  21. Maybe it was just the puncuation in the story that was wrong. It might have originally been:

    Woman, was savage, by an eel.

  22. Murdoch was right. Papers will always sell because most of them are full of crap, and Murdoch, more than anyone else on our little planet, knows that the truth doesn’t sell newspapers. Hence you can always rely on a Murdoch rag to print rubbish. It brings in the pennies.

    Blogs will continue to grow however. But will they change the world to the extent that the popular media has? I doubt it. Most blog sites are simply mere interest groups, agreeing with each other and feeling happy that we can share our views and get a nod of approval. People who don’t share the same views generally find their way to a blog site where their views can be appreciated.

    There are exceptions. I recall that Sherlock used to hijack Tim’s site on a daily basis and fill the columns with his personal agenda. We listened, but did he influence even one of us?

    On a personal note I prefer blog sites, simply because I’m not interested in the crap that fills newspapers. On sites like this I am privelaged to read some very insightful comments and my knoweldge grows. When certain outsiders try to impose their will and their way upon us I switch off. Why should I get into an argument with someone whose opinions will never change me, or viceversa.

  23. Miglo

    I suppose the benefit of a blog like our is that because of having usual posters you actually get to know a little bit about them, and when they do have a contrary position – you actually do take notice. And that is what makes this blog (IMHO) beneficial – we allow each other to have different opinions and we prod and probe (stop giggling reb) each other to get to find out why we have our opinions.

    Do I think that my opinions have changed? Maybe – but I know that I do need to have sound reasons for having an opinion and I better be prepared to back up those opinions.

    But as they say – logic is the method of coming to the wrong conclusion with confidence.

  24. Blogs will continue to grow however. But will they change the world to the extent that the popular media has? I doubt it. Most blog sites are simply mere interest groups, agreeing with each other and feeling happy that we can share our views and get a nod of approval. People who don’t share the same views generally find their way to a blog site where their views can be appreciated.

    But doesn’t that happen just as much in other media (people patronising sources that mostly mirror their views?).

    Blogging is only in it’s embryonic stages. I think they will gain in popularity as the kids get older. Our 23yr old only reads newspapers when thinking of changing jobs the rest of the time it is all the internet.

  25. Yesterday I was going through scapette’s stuff on the computer to check up what she is up to and she is a little blogger on a couple of kids sites!

    i believe that blogging will be big in the future as a swapping of ideas and to discuss the issues of the time.

  26. i think thats a terrible thing to do scarper unless you had a reason to distrust your daughter in the first place. perhaps she’s been defying you in someway latley and your concerned? but if it’s a general scanning of your kids activity’s I think that’s deplorable

    have some respect for her

  27. “What’s the most exotic thing you’ve been bitten by?”lyn

    Growing up on the farm I was bitten by a brownsnake.
    We immediately blew it in half with a shotgun & the front half got away…I’m sure it didn’t live past sundown but we couldn’t find the, still mobile, head & about a foot & half of snake attached to it. Tough bastard!

    While half of my attacker got away I got carted 45 mins to Kingston S.M.H..
    It felt like a good punch in the leg.

    Oh yeah, Rupert is King of Manufacturing Consent. He has no scruples about furthering either his ideological or financial agenda.

  28. It is my responsibility to monitor my childs use of the internet to ensure that there is no creeps stalking her and she is not viewing material that I deem to be unfit!

    I suppose you suggest that the government do my job and introduce ISP filtering???

    And by the way…get my name right!!!

    joni: scaper – be nice to our new poster.

  29. sorry scaper, I did know your name but I typed it wrong. It is your job to look after your daughter and to teach her the skills and values you deem fit to function in a modern world. You seem to believe she should be free to operate under (I assuming ) certain guidelines set down by you – this seems reasonable to me also

    Yet your actions demonstrate = I don’t trust you to do as I say, which in the end comes down to (I don’t trust you)

  30. Apology humbly accepted…my nine year old is an independent thinker and the only values that I instill in her are the basics…and of course to clean up her room.

    She checks up on what I do and reads her dad’s comments here, Meganomics and Jack the Insider…distrust does not come into the equation.

  31. then why are you spying on her?… and if , as you say, she get’s to read your contributions here then I can only surmise that this is intended to let her know your :checking her out”

  32. I agree with AGAP.

    Are you saying you can trust your daughter’s independent thinking scaper?

  33. And be nice to AGAP scraper!!

    🙂

  34. Sorry but I agree with scaper on this one, there are too many creeps posing as children in childrens chat rooms. I see nothing wrong in instilling values in your children and then inspecting their actions to ensure the values are upheld. To me that is not a matter of trust but rather an inspection to ensure the parents expectations are upheld when the child is on the internet. In addition what his child may read as innocent communication, scaper may be able to read between the lines and prevent something more sinister eventuating.

  35. No problems…reba!

  36. Well that’s true Shane…

    I guess if it was my daughter I’d want to make sure that she wasn’t talking to some creep masquerading as a child of the same age…

    Tricky issue, this one…

  37. reb

    Like me you see both sides of the argument. I happen to believe that the safety issue outweighs the trust issue.

  38. I’m with scaper and Shane…

    …I could just imagine the posts if something happened to scapette because scaper hadn’t monitored her posts…

    …and the reaction to scaper’s post is one of the problems we have within the younger members of our society today…

    …rights without understanding responsibility…or other people’s rights!

    …parents should monitor and discipline their children – it is their role – parents cannot be a child’s best friend – until they become adults…

    …my kids are nearly 40 and I will still advise them on issues…(they get to advise me these days too…) 😀

  39. Scaper
    Tell em all to get nicked!!. As a parent you are responsible for scapette, just as i am for mine. There is a duty to know where your kids are, & what they are up to. End of story. My son reckoned he got yelled at most when i didn’t know where he was.
    Same deal with what he was hearing ,& seeing.
    Now he is older & i don’t want to know!!. When i ask he says ” i can’t tell you eeverythiing!!’ . To which i now reply ‘” But i need to LEARN!!!!!”. LOL.

  40. winediamond, glad you finally made your way over here and being a parent it is one of the most difficult stations in life in my opinion.

    As a parent I do my best as that is what I expect of myself…nothing less.

  41. Welcome winediamond… our friend scaper is gathering posters from all over (and well done scaper!)

  42. ‘hets with kids’

    may the rest of us bask in awe at their wordly experience and profound knowledge.

    🙄

  43. Do I detect a tad of animosity from one of the hosts of this site…I hope not.

  44. I apologise. I’ve had a bad day.

  45. That’s cool reb, I notice this time of year everyone goes a bit troppo, including myself.

    I can never put my finger quite on it but will put it down to the transition into the silly season.

  46. Actually scaper, I was posting as a commenter, not the host, so I’m hoping that I can maintain the distinction..

    Otherwise I’m going to end up feeling a bit ‘constrained’ which doesn’t sit well with a REBel’s consitution…!

  47. I think, reb and scaper, that when reb and I are in “host” mode in comments we post an addendum to a comment with our name in bold – and when we post a normal comment we are fair game.

    whadyathink reb?

  48. I received a communication from the QLD government in concern to this MDS water thing…it is not good.

    It was from a Craig Wallace MP…this is a good one and I’ll be sending it to the members this weekend and eventually to the media when the time is right.

    A warning…do not read this correspondence whilst imbibing liquids.

  49. As a parent I agree with Scaper, Shane, TB & Winediamond. We do trust our kids, but we also realise that they are kids.

    Internet predators take advantage of a child’s trusting nature. As parents it is up to us to ensure our children are safe when using the net.

    We supervise our kids when they are cooking too, because they are still learning.

  50. * Shane, I happen to believe that the safety issue outweighs the trust issue.
    I dont have to be a parent to agree with that. Spot on
    —-
    Welcome Winediamond. 🙂

  51. Welcome Winediamond !!!!!

  52. Hexx

    I have no children of my own either, however I have 7 nieces and nephews who I have helped raise and support over many years.

    I think common sense is one the things that seems to be lacking these days. Also acceptance by parents that their children are not angels ( we should all know because we were not angels) and hold them responsible for their actions rather than rushing to defend their child and abuse Teachers, Police, Nurses etc. We need to get back to basics and accept children are not angels and make them accountable for their actions.

    My parents sided with the authorities and I tell you what lookinjg back on it they were 99% correct. It seems that parents no longer have the capacity to accept their child did something wrong without becoming defensive, in denial and abusive.

    All species on this planet discipline their children in some form and also set expectations while teaching their offspring the necessitites of life.

  53. My daughter is only now, at 8yo, just starting to show a bit of (innocent) interest in the web. Obviously she approaches this from a very naive, 8yo, position & although I trust her implicitly I will certainly be keeping an eye on her in a guiding way.
    My horizons are broad & I’m not easily offended or pro-censorship but we are talking about a child here, not an adult with an adult’s requisite judgement. It seems fair to say that there are many things on the net that a kid just doesn’t need to be exposed to. For this reason I believe that discrete monitoring is not only OK it is quite necessary.
    It need not be heavy handed or patronising & shouldn’t be misinterpreted as an invasion of privacy.

  54. “It…shouldn’t be misinterpreted as an invasion of privacy.”

    How would you feel if you had a teenage kid who secretly peered at your internet history…?

  55. “Also acceptance by parents that their children are not angels ( we should all know because we were not angels) and hold them responsible for their actions rather than rushing to defend their child and abuse Teachers, Police, Nurses etc.”shane

    This is an important point!
    For some reason many parents see the fruit of their loins as impregnably virtuous & incapable of misdeed…meanwhile back on planet Earth!
    In my experience many rush to blame their child’s friend(s) for negative influence without stopping to rightly consider their own offsprings responsibility.
    Perfection doesn’t exist in human form.

  56. “Perfection doesn’t exist in human form.”

    I think Tom of Melbourne would beg to differ…..

  57. reb@10:00am

    I’d probably feel a little sheepish I guess!
    However, in my case, my daughter isn’t yet a teenager & thus still requires more supervision than a teenager.
    I guess the line gets a bit murkier the older she gets & a little balance of privacy v’s safety is necessary. There are a lot of grey areas in parenting & no two children are identical so it seems folly to speak in absolutes or hard & fast rules.
    To me consistency, fairness & respect are important when trying to deduce the tougher parental decisions that I am sometimes faced with.

  58. That sounds like a very mature approach to take HD..

    I was just playing devil’s advocate with that question (as I’m prone to do now and then)…

  59. “I think Tom of Melbourne would beg to differ…..”reb

    LOL, yes, but do you have proof that Tom is human?!

  60. LOL!!!

  61. “That sounds like a very mature approach to take HD..”

    I am VERY lucky to have had exceptionally realistic parents who were/are always moderate, even-handed & strive to be objective.
    I suppose I take my lead from them as much as I can when considering my own role as a parent…it is easily the biggest responsibility I will ever face & f@cking up has never been an option.
    Seems to be working well so far, my kid is a lovelly balanced person. Many years ahead though & I’ve no doubt that it won’t all be smooth sailing. As most of us would remember from our own childhood/teen years it is all a part of the human journey, warts & all.

  62. Maybe the Human Journey will pay a Human Dividend!

    🙂

  63. reb@10:26

    No my friend, we both know that my journey will end in the fiery pits below!

  64. “To me consistency, fairness & respect are important when trying to deduce the tougher parental decisions that I am sometimes faced with.”

    Spot on HD – I think the trick is to discuss what the child is seeing and doing on the net – open lines of communication when they are young. That way, when they get to be teens and are faced with the more dangerous social networking sites, they are forewarned and capable of making discerning decisions.

    My daughter (who’s now 20) used to play the deviates at their own game – she’d pretend to be an 18 yr old (when she was 13 or 14), and would give them the short shift if they started talking rubbish. By then, she could recognise the less than nice characters due to years of discussing things with me (and an older brother). There was no need for her to hide what she was doing when I walked in – we’d discuss what was happening, and I could advise her of how to be careful.

    The biggest problem she ever had were with people she knew in real life – from school etc. Girls especially can be very nasty.

    Even now, I have the administrator password to all the computers in the house – the “kids” know I can check up on them, but they also know I won’t – trust developed over many years.

    Sorry about the ramble – bottom line = communication.

  65. *Shane, I think common sense is one the things that seems to be lacking these days.
    You are so right. Without this more and more rules/cautions have to be created.

    Some reporters bashed while reporting on the father and two sons drowning (so bloody sad for that loss). Guess they overstepped the mark.

  66. HD you raise many good points. Some children are lucky to be raised by the parents they have.

  67. Hexx/Shane

    I have never been an advocate of “commonsense” (commonsense ain’t so common).

    To demonstrate that it does not exist I invite you to try my little test.

    What is the right way to spell?

    Commonsense

    Common sense; or

    Common-sense

  68. TB This is a hook line and sinker thing is it?:) (i’ll dive in)

    Well considering you used it twice in a sentence above i would pick 1.

    Respectfully i do believe in commonsense. Often it stands out in saftey issues.

Comments are closed.

