The race that stops the nation

So – what are the blogocrats up to for the Melbourne Cup?

For me, I wanted to get money on a trifecta – Lewis Hamilton (in F1), Profound Beauty (wearing black silks in the Melb Cup) and Obama. Can you see the theme?

And anyone that wants to have a guess on how many electoral college votes that Obama and/or McCain get can post it here… reb and myself will decide offline what the prize will be for the closest guess (good suggestion min – on having a guess-the-electoral-votes competition).

27 Responses

  1. Usually, I’d be having a flutter, but can’t seem to get into the vibe this year…

  2. As a vegan and an animal rights activist, I find horse-racing abhorrent.

    http://www.horseracingkills.org/1.htm

  3. I’m with you Sans. My cuz is a greyhound breeder and it’s a cruel cruel sport. You win or you die.

  4. Hello to all..it looks as if I’m being blocked. I’ll have another try.

    My post is: I’m with you Sans. My cuz is a greyhound breeder and it’s a cruel cruel sport. You win or you die.

  5. “As a vegan and an animal rights activist, I find horse-racing abhorrent”sans

    I don’t particularly like horses (too flighty) but I like beating horses to make ’em go faster even less.
    I think betting is pretty stoopid too & just can’t get into it; I’d rather have something to show for my hard earned…even if it gets pissed against the wall not long after I’ve seen it. hehe.

    Each to their own though.

  6. My wife has just choofed off to the shopping centre. To spend money.

    The race might stop the rest of the nation, but it doesn’t stop my wife. She sees it as a time to shop without the annoying hordes to contend with. They’ve done it just for her.

  7. PS- she wasn’t out the garage door and I’d cracked a coldie a lit a cigar. Rare opportunities don’t come that easy.

  8. Luv your style Miglo, a half corona?

  9. Oddly this horse race contains only vegetarian horses. No greyhounds and no carnivorous horses!

  10. Half a corona Reb. But I only smoked half of it, so it must have been a quarter corona.

  11. a quarter will do the trick…!

  12. Tom@2:35pm

    ROFLMAO.

    What do the midgets eat?

  13. a quarter will do the trick…!

    Naturally I had to crack another coldie to help hide the evidence. A beer breathe always kills a cigar breathe.

    I’ll now practice the look of innocence in time for my wife’s arrival home.

  14. HD @ 12

    Mini-hot dogs

  15. joni@14

    Bwahahahahahaha!

    Is that why they sound like they’ve had their nuts clipped?

  16. Joni @ 14

    Mini-hot dogs or Min’s hot dogs?

  17. Honestly HD, try and keep it civil..

    🙄

  18. And I won the big sweep in the office. WOOHOO!!!!

  19. soz reb

  20. Honestly HD, try and keep it civil..

    I’ll let you in on a secret about Crow’s supporters Reb: They are foul-mouthed.

  21. Apologies to all, no offence intended.

  22. Apologies to all, no offence intended.

    Does that include me?

  23. Yes, even you.
    I would note that Alberton is hardly a pillar of good manners though.

  24. I would note that Alberton is hardly a pillar of good manners though.

    Never lived there. I’m Kingston born like your good self.

    Many years ago I went to a Port v Sturt game at Alberton. That was my last trip there! The place was packed with mongrels. I have been to a few Power games though and the supporters are a much better breed.

  25. So there was a horse race today, I wondered why the roads are quiet and it will be messy later when the pissed mug punters head home.

  26. Bloody horse races! I went to order a new guitar from a Melbourne shop yesterday and they are closed until tomorrow.

    Don’t want to hear any Melbourne retailers complain about poor retail sales.

  27. Just dropped in to gloat!

    The Minister and I bet on one horse race a year…(any horse can win!)…I would bet no-one here had ever heard of bloody, Viewed, until today!

    The Minister asked me what horses I wanted for an each way bet (she puts the bets on at the TAB – I wouldn’t have a clue “…in many ways”, I hear you say…)

    …not knowing anything racial (dontcha luv puns?) I gave her our g/kids ages – 5, 7, 10, 14, 17…

    … “Viewed” – No 10 – paid $47+…

    …The Minister had picked it too! – our son was born on Melbourne Cup Day, 1971 – she always bets on his age…
    (eg he just turned 37 therefore 3+7 = 10, so horse ten and barrier ten…

    So for a $20 outlay (place and win, ten horses) we picked up over $90 – whoo! hoo!

    Da, da, daa, da, da, daa, da, da daa….

Comments are closed.

